Garlic Farts

Garlic, a thing of beauty if used intelligently.  Raw, it can overpower a dish, burnt is get hard and bitter. Cooking it just right requires plenty of TLC and just the right balance of heat…..but roasted garlic is AMAZING. The intense taste of raw garlic  become far more mild and an almost sweet flavor become dominant.  Well, Mr. Fed Up and Mrs. Fed Up love garlic, especially once its roasted.

We started off with just a few cloves…but now a good garlic based dish has more garlic than you can imagine. But this has led us to a scary truth: garlic creates the worst farts imaginable. Even our sweet roasted garlic has created such noxious gases that leak from our rears a few hours after consumption, that we are considering cutting it our of our diets (or at least limiting the quantity we to a normal amount).  Why does  one  of the best tasting foods  around have such horrible, unexpected, side effects?

Tags: , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “Garlic Farts”

  1. pharmtechgurl
    March 25, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    prior to eating, take gas-x or something with simethicone it really helps

    • March 25, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      Yes thats a good idea…its just that I never seem to remember…But more importantly: I am hoping my body gets immune to the side effects…ha.

  2. May 8, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    Hahahahhahahaha oh god this is hilarious

    • May 8, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      and…VERY true.

      I have had to cut my garlic intake by half since we realized this terrible side effect.

      • May 8, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

        Noted! Lololool

  3. Tricia
    November 29, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    I ate a whole bulb of roasted garlic yesterday and my emissions have the same sweet fragrant smell as my kitchen yesterday. Not a hint of other offending aromas. I think I’d like to eat roasted garlic every day now.

    • November 30, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      It is amazing how addictive roasted garlic can get. I love the stuff, but I keep on having to back off a little bit so that I do not smell so badly.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Captain Obvious | Fed Up Food - March 23, 2012

    […] needs to be some sort of t-shirt or random culinary gizmo that mentions the intense side effects of garlic consumption. I would love to see a chef’s knife with “Damn this is sharp”, […]

  2. Office Offences: Part One; WHAT THE HELL IS THAT? | Fed Up Food - April 19, 2012

    […] turn into unidentifiable piles of mold. But fine, I eat stinky cheese and plenty of garlic, so I can deal with the smells of other people’s food…well at least before the rot sets […]

  3. Seeing Red | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2012

    […] to normal. But I am fed up with foods I had already eaten, just unexpectedly showing up with crazy side effects. I wish we could just enjoy a good meal and not get any stupid surprises  that scare the […]

  4. Fiber Feast | Fed Up Food - July 22, 2012

    […] mix around some red pepper, black pepper, chives, and a bunch of Cajun seasoning  (or any other garlic/onion based stuff that is sure to leave your breath stinking). Add some sharp cheddar  cheese to […]

  5. Best Bite of the Week | Fed Up Food - October 12, 2012

    […] thin layer of garlic/herb […]

  6. Vote With Your Stomach | Fed Up Food - November 6, 2012

    […] *Mandatory warning labels cautioning certain food’s side-effects; Innocent Americans are being caught off-guard by the dangerous side-effects of foods like beets and garlic. […]

  7. Make This: Gruley | Fed Up Food - January 8, 2013

    […] and interesting, by providing a contrasting taste to this mainly vegetable-based dish. The onion, garlic, and seasonings all add complexity and flavors that compliment each other. And topping it off with […]

  8. Dining Danger | Fed Up Food - April 30, 2013

    […] can also pose some serious pitfalls to the unprepared or ignorant. I am well versed in many of the side  effects of certain edible delicacies, yet often times I decide to just accept the consequences involved in […]

Leave a Reply

