The Big Lie: Brussels Spouts

It is a huge conspiracy theory…just a giant lie. All my life I have been told how nasty brussls sprouts are.

I avoided them all my life. But then I saw it, a huge bag of the the little green balls for dirt cheap… Me being as stingy as I am, I thought I would give it a try.

Ignore the lies: brussels spouts make good food

Roasted brussels sprouts with a extra virgin olive oil and some seasonings… I never thought I would actually want to eat brussels sprouts, but this was very good. Definitely something I would make again. Plus eating a “sophisticated vegetable” like this makes me feel all grown up… Now if I can just stop watching cartoons every morning.

The nutty flavor of the sprouts is amazing once they get a little crispy and roasted. Yes, the flavor is strong, but strong flavors alone are not a bad thing. The flavor of the sprouts just needs to be paired correctly with complimentary ingredients, like the right cheese (pecorino romano) or a good amount of thyme. Also, brussels sporuts like so many other amazing foods, like garlic and squid, can be a real pain in the ass to cook the right way. Cooked not enough, and you get a disgusting bitter taste. Cooked too much and the burnt spouts can leave you thinking you just ate a mouthful of charcoal. But if you can roast them, so the are cooked all the way through, and have a slight char on the exterior…jackpot. I steam them in the microwave a bit then roast them on high heat to accomplish this perfect balance. Oh, and besides tasting amazing, they are heathy.

Anyway, I just may have to reconsider fruitcake and maybe even that uniquely British food: Marmite….

So stop listening to what the eveyone else says, it could just be lies and coverups. I am fed up with all that nonsense. Instead realize that we are all gifted with our own little Yoda, deep down inside of us, pointing in the direction that of all that is good (and tasty). Listen to your most trustworthy guide, your stomach.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “The Big Lie: Brussels Spouts”

  1. April 4, 2012 at 12:13 am #

    Love that your stingy and enjoyed your blog! Keep up the good work.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Keep Sponge Bob out of my edamame | Fed Up Food - March 17, 2012

    […] love my morning cartoons…but I really don’t want to open my fridge and see a package of brussels sprouts with some giant Disney-type character staring out at me each day. Plus, I feel like a freaking […]

  2. The Best Kitchen Appliance…PERIOD. | Fed Up Food - April 3, 2012

    […] get a toaster oven if you do not already have one.  Make some melty-cheesy dishes, broil some brussels sprouts and try not to get burned. Now all you need is a spork or two and your kitchen is ready for pretty […]

  3. Concurring Daemons: Beets Revisited | Fed Up Food - May 9, 2012

    […] Then they were added on a flatbread that was also had cubes of cream cheese, some beet greens, brussels sprouts, feta cheese, grilled chicken, and roasted garlic along with some rosemary and PLENTY sweet/spicy […]

  4. Eat Your Fungus | Fed Up Food - May 24, 2012

    […] They go in sitrfrys and salads. They get roasted, barbecued, steamed, and eaten fresh. Much like brussels sprouts and pudding, mushrooms really are an underrated food, that so many people seem to ignore. BUT they […]

  5. Pizza ‘Posers’ | Fed Up Food - August 8, 2012

    […] right out of the oven. A bag of chips labeled as   ‘pizza flavored,’ is simply a lie used to tap into our positive associations we have with the stereotypical Italian dish. It is […]

  6. BBBBest Bite | Fed Up Food - December 9, 2012

    […] is better with bacon, but in this mixture, it went especially well. So ignore the lies about brussels sprouts, be prepared for the beet side effects, and give this combo a […]

  7. Maniac Mike’s Magical Medicinal Meals: EVOO | Fed Up Food - December 11, 2012

    […] on this site. But hey…we did ‘discover’ that Italians love cream cheese,  brussels spouts are tasty, the Swiss have some weird drinks and we have introduced the world to some wonderful tasty […]

Leave a Reply

