Actually Fed Well When Flying

It is no secret, airplane food sucks. It seems that the typical inflight food is exempt from all FDA requirements; The friendly skies are truly friendly to the major airlines own interpreptation of what is considered edible and safe to eat.

I fly, a LOT…enough to give me a very good idea of what to expect when it comes to the free snacks and full meals served on most plane flights.

But flying to New York from New Orleans, we decided to ditch our loyalty to Continental/United in favor of Jet Blue’s dirt cheap seats. I had not really flown Jet Blue much, and any memories of previous flights with them had been tossed in my mind’s trash can along with all the other long plane rides I have tried hard to forget.

Either way I was not expecting much from the “discount airline,” in terms of anything decent being served to eat while on board.

Name brand food on a plane...that is crazy talk

But WOW, was I wrong. First everything was name brand….not some generic bag of nuts or pretzels…I actually noticed the exact snacks found on my local grocery store shelves. Even the coffee was Dunken Doughnuts. And while “Quaker” may not mean much on the ground, up in the air this humble brand is a sense of hope: proving a credible source of much desired nourishment and at the very least a decent taste.

Ok...wait, that's NOT generic coffee?!?

Then there was the options. Jet Blue actually gave you more than just the standard “pretzels or peanuts” menu, and instead offered an almost limitless range of options. This included item like gourment chips typically served alongside fancy cheese plates, to nuts and cookies that looked like something you would eat at home under normal circumstances.

And just to make me extra suprised…I was offered as many items from their magical basket of goodies as I wantted. True, the flight was half empty, but still, being offreed an unlimited supply of travel sized goodness was completely unexpected.

Mini bottels of Dasani...and notice I was given more than one.

And even if I was still fed up because their food options did not include sushi or lobster; they managed to quench my thirst and any potential flying frustrations with “Dasani” brand water…Now this may seem irrelveant to many readers. But after only being served tiny plastic shot glasses of tap water on evey other plane I flew, being handed a mini bottle of name brand H2O was truly refreshing.

Holy crap…Jet Blue has managed to upend all previous flying theories of mine…the crazy airline even managed to get us to our destination 30 minutes EARLY. What the hell is going on here…either way I am happy.

and NO. Jet Blue did not pay me for this….although a free ticket would be happily accepted.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Recommendations, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Actually Fed Well When Flying”

  1. February 7, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    I recently took a flight from LA to Lihue Airport in Hawaii. I sat first class for the six hour flight and let me tell you, I was less than impressed with my eating options. Of course, I decide while in LA, “Naw, I don’t need to grab a bite to eat. I’ll eat the free meal on the plane, and since I’m first class, it’ll be yummy!” BIG MISTAKE! I ended up with something partially resembling a turkey sandwich on stale chiabatta bread with some over melted burned onto my plate. I hosed her down with two paper pepper packets and polished it off, hoping to quell my hunger. Worst.Meal.Ever… The best part of my meal was a tiny block of generic cheddar cheese and some saltine crackers! I forgot to mention, I asked for a bottle of water, as to avoid caffeine, and was presented a generic bottle of “great value” water. Needless to say, I was expecting Fiji water after spending hundreds of dollars on my plane ticket.

    So moral of the story, Mr. Fed Up, you are correct to be surprised by Jet Blue and their selection of quality products. Name brand water!?!?!? Get outta’ town! I strongly encourage you to give Virgin Airlines a try for us. Allegedly, they have a better selection, free on-board wifi, and tv monitors in the back of each seat. One is to order food and drink via said TV monitor. AMAZING!

    I will be flying jet-blue if the opportunity arises, seeing as how I can save money and leave without feeling ripped off.

    • February 7, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Hi Yuesor!
      Your comment made me laugh.

      Yep, I am flying to Germany tomorrow for work and will likely get upgraded for free…and I am well accustomed to the disappointing meals served even in business class. But there have been times when I was happily impressed, such as getting sushi served as an appetizer when flying up front on Continental’s “BusinessFirst” section to Japan. This is most likely to happen on routes to/from Asia where the Asian airlines really have risen the bar in terms of in-flight service. So to compete all airlines (even US ones) must also try a little harder on these routs to/from Asia. (This is the same reason why airlines oldest planes fly between the US and Europe, while the newest planes are always reserved for flights between the US and Asia)
      Other times (more often the case) I am amazingly shocked at the trash that is supposed to be passed off as a quality first-class meal. It always scares me when you can’t tell if you are eating a vegetable or meat and when even the flight attendants are embarrassed to serve the “food.”
      Anyway I have heard great things about Virgin, hopefully on a future trip I will get to check them out….but for now I am going to continue relying on bringing food from home or grabbing a salad to-go from the terminal. I simply won’t let myself ever rely on the airline for providing me something I want to eat.

      Remember: Stay fed up, stay fed well!

  2. May 3, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    Nice! The best meals I ever had was on a South African Airways flight from Mumbai to Johannesburg. Very good! It’s good to see Jet Blue has some good options. I’ll definitely take a look at their rates for my next domestic flight. =)

    • May 4, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      Ya. I was really surprised with the airline. I wish they flew internationally.

      I have never flow African Airways, but I do find that many MANY non-USA airlines serve far better food.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Buy This Bar | Fed Up Food - March 16, 2012

    […]  Because of my nomadic lifestyle, I have learned that while occasionally I am gifted with a surprisingly tasty meal, many times the lack of control over what is served during my trips can be an […]

  2. Food Creativity At 25,000 Feet | Fed Up Food - June 2, 2012

    […] airlines sometimes do provide decent food onboard, this is a rare occasion. Even in the “luxurious” first class cabin, the multi course […]

  3. So That Explains It…Why ALL Inflight Food Is Crappy | Fed Up Food - June 20, 2012

    […] am always traveling, and I very VERY rarely find decent food on an airplane. Is there a legitimate, respectable reason for why air plane food is just plain […]

  4. Love the Lounge, Submit to Snobbery | Fed Up Food - January 3, 2013

    […] creative ways to ‘upgrade’ in-flight food using simple ingredients, I have found an airline that actually serves decent snacks, and I have even managed to discover a surprisingly awesome […]

Leave a Reply

