Its Crack For Breakfast

Honey Bunches of Oats…this stuff is amazingly addictive. No normal human has the ability to stop one bowl from turning into 5 when sitting down at the breakfast table with a box of this stuff sitting in front of them.

"Pecan Bunches," Mr Fed Up's breakfast addiction

There are more flavors than you can possibly imagine…its kind of ridiculous. Some flavors must have been invented by the Gods, for they truly are wonderful gifts that mankind has been blessed with. I personally am a fan of the Pecan flavor (but I really am disappointed with their multi-grain vanilla flavor).

One of the happiest moments for an addict like me is to find one of those beautiful “bunches” of granola and pecans that is abnormally large. Its like finding a huge diamond…actually its far better than finding a diamond because I hear diamonds taste like crap. But even just the typical flake found filling most boxes of this brand of cereal is still crazy tasty, despite how quickly they get saturated from the milk and turn into soggy cereal mush (no cereal can be perfect, but this one is pretty close). Oh, and to make things even better, its kind of a healthy choice when compared to many of the other options down the aisle. Ok, so its no all-natureal, kosher, vegan, super-food…but it does have a better nutritional label then Reese’s Puffs Cereal; that counts for something…right?

It is kind of insane how many flavors of Honey Bunches of Oates are available.

HBOO (yep, thats what the cool kids call it) is a great line of cereal, but they already offer more than enough options. I mean have you seen the shelf at Walmart? Its crazy. Well recently two new flavors were added to the lineup, these two “duo-flavors” are kind of overkill. They are called “Fruit Blends and combine two fruit flavors into on box of cereal. I tried the banana/blueberry one and was unimpressed, and slightly  pissed off.  I am all for variety, but there has to be a little sense to the options they offer…don’t just start combining various flavors to create whole new options when there are still plenty of ingredients that can be added to make new HBOO flavors all on their own. What about a Honey Bunches of Oats Peanut, or even just PLAIN  blueberry….

The new "duo-flavors" are really nothing special when compared to the legendary goodness of the other varieties. Plus, the whole idea of combining these two flavors just is annoying.

 

 

These new “Fruit Blends” options are just the team at Post playing some sort of sick joke on us; they are making cereal selection a truly confusing part of my weekly grocery run. Either way I recommend you get in the habit of grabbing a box of Honey Bunches Of Oates and tossing it in your cart…but just be willing to accept the addiction that is sure to form.

 

WalMart's shrine to the holy cereal and its many varieties.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Rants, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

28 Comments on “Its Crack For Breakfast”

  1. Julie
    February 21, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    I saw a link to this post at Serious Eats. When I saw “crack” and “cereal” in the same post, I *immediately* thought of Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds. Didn’t know about the pecan kind….hmmm.

    • February 21, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      Hi Julie, Yep Honey Bunches of Oates is freaking AMAZING. I am actually staring at a box right now. I have not tired the almonds one yet, cause I am a big pecan fan…BUT I am sure it tastes amazing. I Know my wife loves almonds so I may need to get her a box and we can then both have the same addiction problem. Oh….and a little tip to use the last remaining crumbs found at the bottom of an empty box: top vanilla ice cream with it. Seriously, it is the best topping you can imagine.

  2. April 19, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    OMG! I LOVE HBOO! So delicious! I actually avoid buying it though because I could sit down and eat the WHOLE BOX! My kids, not so much. But I chalk that up to immature palates. They’ll come around. 😉

    • April 19, 2012 at 10:30 am #

      One day they will get addicted too. Then you will all have to have your personal secret stash of HBOO.

      I am lucky, Mrs. Fed Up is not a fan of this cereal, so I never have to worry about the horror of waking up and coming downstairs to an empty box of HBOO.

  3. May 5, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    1. Love the clusters but they hurt my teeth. Really.
    2. Eat your cereal in small doses – all the milk you need in the bowl (should be1-cup) and then add a little cereal, eat it and then add more and so on. This way you never get soggy cereal. AND you have enable portion control!
    3. Glad you love your cereal. My faves is Kashi Cinnamon Harvest – 6-nuggets at a time….

    • May 5, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      HBOO is good, but to be honest, I like variety. I mix up my cereal routine. Peanut Butter Puffins are another AMAZING cereal, and Crispix have been showing up recently in my kitchen. I have never tired the Cinnamon Harvest, but I have tired Go Lean (original) and the Crunch version. The Crunch version was too sweet for me, but I did like the Go Lean original as it hit scored high on the nutritional side of things… but the taste got bland quickly though. Cereal in general is one of my favorite things.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Muesli: Not Just For Tree Huggers and Europeans | Fed Up Food - March 26, 2012

    […] being promoted or we  try the latest  option from the ever expanding range of flavor options currently available. In general though, I think it is fair to belive that few people truly look at all the other stuff […]

  2. Empty Boxes, Empty Hearts | Fed Up Food - April 7, 2012

    […] so amazing they need no additional selling points to make us purchase a box (or four). We all have those cereals that we truly love and probably need to go to therapy to help control our addiction for. It's hard […]

  3. Rear Reading | Fed Up Food - April 14, 2012

    […] great things. There boxes are filled with amazingly addictive food that has become the “crack of breakfast.” They have found ways to make it healthy and ways to make it highly processed so that it […]

  4. It is OK to eat the ENTIRE pint | Fed Up Food - April 24, 2012

    […] just a fat-ass, because I usually eat the entire box in the span of 3-4 mornings (especially the highly addictive cereals). So maybe I am just somebody who has lost ALL sense of what “proper” portion control […]

  5. What Does Your Favorite Color Taste Like? | Fed Up Food - April 25, 2012

    […] these stupid flavor names are seen on all sorts of products, from cereal to condiments. Do food manufactures think all of our pallets are so dumbed down, that we can not […]

  6. This Is Something For EVERYONE | Fed Up Food - May 7, 2012

    […] same stuff. I am not saying there is anything wrong with that…I have a slight addiction to a particular cereal, and I always seem to grab many of the same products on each shopping trip. But we need to look […]

  7. Gotta Have My Pops? | Fed Up Food - May 10, 2012

    […] I think Corn Pops were decent when I was a kid, however I am far happier now with my Pecan Honey Bunches of Oates or some amazing granola. But still Corn Pops were a big part of my life growing up and I would miss […]

  8. The Proof Is In The Pudding | Fed Up Food - May 16, 2012

    […] to be trashed due to being a little too “ripe.” I then found the remains of a box of Pecan Honey Bunches of Oates. This cereal is pretty much a legalized form of crack.  All the was really left were just those […]

  9. Seriously Sad Cereal | Fed Up Food - May 20, 2012

    […] now on I am sticking to my reliable cereals, damn good granola, and the crack of breakfast foods: Honey Bunches of Oates….until I get lured in by another creative cereal concoction (those Mini Churros cereal keeps […]

  10. Expertise Used Tastefully | Fed Up Food - June 9, 2012

    […] love when you come across a new product from a brand you love. But I am not just talking about a new flavor, or a slightly different form of the food you already devour. I am talking about a whole NEW […]

  11. Protein Bars Judged By Iron Chef | Fed Up Food - July 19, 2012

    […] bonus points for quality customer service. I started to get addicted to ‘Pure Protein’ bars on my last trip, but was getting fed up on how freaking […]

  12. More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat | Fed Up Food - July 20, 2012

    […] love some quality granola and Honey Bunches of Oates are always showing up in breakfast bowls in the Fed Up kitchen; so of course I had to check out the […]

  13. Rotten Luck | Fed Up Food - July 24, 2012

    […] those little breakfast rituals and routines…But for many, it is not just a habit, but an addiction: Some crave caffeine, others are dependent on doughnuts, and eggs are essential for many. For a […]

  14. The Secret Swiss Cereal | Fed Up Food - August 4, 2012

    […] The Secret Swiss Cereal While there are some terrible failures on grocery store shelves, our cereal choices are pretty freaking amazing! […]

  15. Best Bite of the Week | Fed Up Food - October 12, 2012

    […] not think about eating.  Worst case scenario, you just end up throwing it all away and having a bowl of cereal for dinner (which is NOT a bad thing at all). Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe […]

  16. Collecting Dust | Fed Up Food - October 17, 2012

    […] box of Cookie Crisp?!? Well maybe there are…Cereal is possibly one of the best foods of all time. And I really can’t make fun of other people’s collections…I still […]

  17. Stop Sniffing the Flowers…EAT THEM | Fed Up Food - November 14, 2012

    […] carefully crafted creation by using  the Swiss seasoning, I could always resort to a big bowl of cereal for dinner (which is not a bad thing at all). So I topped my entire entrée with a pile of the […]

  18. Cereal Simplicity | Fed Up Food - November 20, 2012

    […] are the classics and then there are crazy international creations. And we all have our own cereal addiction….but here is another cereal to add to your shopping list: Barbara’s Peanut Butter […]

  19. Cereal Supper | Fed Up Food - December 7, 2012

    […] magical happens when your favorite brand of cereal combines with milk…it is perfection in a […]

  20. Food Fusion Findings | Fed Up Food - January 6, 2013

    […] LOVE Honey Bunches of Oats…or HBoO as the kids at the back of the bus call it. And while I have never been addicted to […]

  21. Going To The Dogs | Fed Up Food - March 18, 2013

    […] Then I saw this nonsense: Rachel Ray dog chow. Seriously…Celebrity endorsed dog food?!? Does your pet really care if some famous chef recommends the stuff they inhale at meal time? Does the taste even matter to dog? These are the same animals that gobble up cat poop when given the opportunity (at least Dozer seeks cat poop like I seek out the large clusters in a box of Honey Bunches of Oates). […]

  22. Face the Flax | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2013

    […] came to pure taste, the flax cereal could not compete with some of my favorite finds,  or my usual breakfast crack. But it was healthy and it definitely kept me feeling full for a long […]

Leave a Reply

