Satisfying Simplicity

I love a well cooked, homemade meal that took hours to prepare and uses overpriced ingrediatents. When I leave a grocery store, my receipt usually breaks $100, easily. Mrs Fed Up’s shopping runs are usually half that…she if fine with beans and broccoli. Not me. I savor quality foods, even if it means I won’t beable to cover my mortgage bill or the dog does not get his flea prevention medicine this month. I guess I am no better than some alcoholic (except I would only consider top-shelf options), maybe I should seek some help.

 

But sometimes, you just say to hell with it all… I don’t want to spend my evening prepping a dish, I don’t want to spend $50.00 on a gourmet dinner, I don’t even want to think. I just want to eat something tasty, something that will satisfy me, something that will fill that void left over from a long day of work.

It finally happened to me.

But only after months of making meals for breakfast and brunch, to lunch, dinner, and second diner,  where EVERYTHING I made was a beautiful, construction of premium ingredients and carefully executed preparation. It all tasted so freaking good too. But suddenly, last week it hit me. I realized, damn I really don’t feel like making some overly complex lunch today…

I stumbled around the kitchen wondering what the hell to eat, and finally turned to my most trustworthy source of guidance, that inner voice that constantly whispers in your ear the things you crave most. That day it insisted upon a turkey sandwich…JUST a turkey sandwich.

Turkey Sandwich; simple, tasty, cheap.

No over priced cheese imported from Bavaria. No homemade mayo spiced with herbs from a local framers market. No all-natural, slow roasted heritage turkey. No artisanal baguette and no organic heirloom produce from Whole Foods…This was simple; a beautiful representation of a Walmart grocery run. Cheap deli meat, cheap sliced bread, and the most basic of other ingredients. And you know what?…it was PERFECT. It was exactly what I was craving and hit the spot just right.

Sometimes the simple things are simply the best things to eat….but that does not mean I don’t plan on making a homemade pizza tonight using those premium tomatoes flown in from Italy and a expensive cheese you can only find in specialty cheese shops where all the cheese mongers laugh at you if you can’t tell the difference between a pecorino and chevre. Screw the mortgage, and the dog doesn’t really need flea protection this month… after a simple sandwich, I need my fix.

Life is about balance right? Well it is also about listening to the guiding voice inside of us all…and tonight (and most likely tomorrow),  mine  is insisting that a  simple meal, simply won’t do.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “Satisfying Simplicity”

  1. March 3, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    I love how succinctly you put my exact thoughts into words. I am a trained chef and I can whip up things easily enough but sometimes it is truly the simplest things that satisfy me. Of course, it’s harder now that I’m GF but thank you for expressing that for me.

  2. March 4, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    Hi TK,
    I am glad you liked my post.

    I am jealous of your chef training, I am sure there are for more simple and intelligent ways for me to prep the meals I love to eat… But so far I only really learn from past screwups and by what I see on Iron Chef. Either way though, the vast majority of the times I love eating some overly complex dish I make(check out my post on Gruyere cheese pizza), even if it means an hour just prepping. But there are always those times when a sandwich or simply a plain baked sweet potatoe is all I crave. Especially on days like today when I have been traveling in Asia for work for a week now and all I want is a simple salad (hold the raw fish, and no soy sauce near it).
    Remember: Stay fed up, stay fed well

    • March 4, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Now you’re making me worry that I’m going to get sick of some of my favorite foods after traveling to China this spring. But hopefully, it will give me an appreciation for my home foods. I have dug through a lot of your posts and I love them. The stinky pizza was something I’m debating making for myself as I have a very understanding BF who’d share it with me.

      • March 5, 2012 at 7:14 am #

        Hey TK,
        Don’t worry, I think you will be fine in China and really enjoy the different cuisine. Just know that it is completely different from American Chinese food. I have been working in Asia (seoul and hong kong) for over a week now and before this I was working in Germany, and before that it was other parts of the world; so I have been forced to eat at resturants nonstop…only now does the most basic of foods seem to be calling me. Really right now I want some plain yogurt mixed with my favorite granola. That’s it.

        Seriously, try the stinky pizza. I added some vegetarian sausage on mine just to give it a little “protein” and the whole meal really came out awesome. Limburger cheese really should be offered more frequently at pizza places.

        It really means alot to me that you have enjoyed my site. I have only started this about a month ago. I really try to add new posts at least several times a week, but right now I am just finishing up my busiest time of the year for work and have been away from my computer, so I apologize for no recent updates this week(I have several in the works though). You can “follow” the site and get the latest posts emailed to you in a cool format that is setup and “email friendly”

        Oh, and…
        You are lucky you are in a relationship where you get to share the enjoyment of stinky foods. Mrs Fed Up is awesome, but she has very different tastes and is not a fan of all the stinky cheeses I hide in the fridge.

      • March 5, 2012 at 11:04 am #

        Yeah, I love food that’s for sure and I am very lucky. I have already followed the site through email. I look forward to some more rants. It’s very encouraging to my own blogging that despite just starting up you can be easily found.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Praise for Pudding | Fed Up Food - April 11, 2012

    […] all become snobbish adults who look down upon the beautiful simplicity that is pudding? Often times the simplest foods are the […]

  2. Offece Offense Part 2: Who STOLE My Lunch? | Fed Up Food - May 4, 2012

    […] it is not only brown-bagged sandwiches or leftovers that get pinched. One’s personal meal accompaniments seem to get […]

  3. Powdered Peanut Butter Please | Fed Up Food - May 13, 2012

    […] cursed with a peanut allergy). I personally love peanut butter flavored ice cream, but of course a simple sandwich with PB is pretty tasty too. If you think about it, pretty much everything is awesome with the […]

  4. The Proof Is In The Pudding | Fed Up Food - May 16, 2012

    […] of the  tasty meals located just outside this miserable building. I have been relying on homemade sandwiches to nourish me during the long days, and I am starting to get desperate for something new. I need […]

  5. Spicing Up Life | Fed Up Food - August 28, 2012

    […] Ok. It seems obvious. But many people seem to think seasoning  is limited to your stereotypical staples…salt, pepper. Maybe cinnamon or parsley, or if you are really adventurous: red pepper flakes (note the sarcasm is intended) ….but there are so many wonderful flavors that can be gotten from a seasoning shaker filled with a carefully chosen mixture of ingredients. A herb or spice on its own is nice, but a beautifully created blend is a true work of art which results in every ingredient working in perfect harmony to elevate even the most boring of foods. […]

  6. Toasting To Good Memories | Fed Up Food - November 9, 2012

    […] in my crazy life and it has provided me years of faithful service. From making a simple sandwich to making the perfect pizza, this old friend of mine never disappointed and will be missed greatly […]

  7. Cereal Simplicity | Fed Up Food - November 20, 2012

    […] other times, the simplest things can be the most satisfying! This week, a humble bowl of cereal was exactly what I needed. […]

  8. Japan: Land of Food Perfection | Fed Up Food - April 11, 2013

    […] and rice on the right. Nothing fancy. Just quality ingredients masterly combined to create the perfectly simple, tasty […]

  9. Corn Cornfusion | Fed Up Food - April 16, 2013

    […] Indian rupees and decided to buy some. I tried my cup-o-corn and was impressed. For something so simple, it tasted pretty damn good. I wonder why the Hell we don’t have something like this offered […]

  10. Food for Thought | Fed Up Food - May 8, 2013

    […] Google ‘turkey sandwich’ and find some perfectly acceptable recipe for how to make this simple meal. But will it be as good as Grand-mom’s? NO. It […]

Leave a Reply

