Stinky Goodness

I am fed up with how so many good foods reek. I hate how I can come home and my wife will immidiatly get pissed at me because of the stench that fills the air. Ok, I have already gone into the issues of garlic and the dangerous farts they produce, but in general stinky foods have no major side effects besides pissing off the wife.

The other day I decided to go to an extreme…I took the most intense smelling foods I love and decided to make a pizza. It was the birth of something beautiful, and competely disgusting at the same time.

Limburger Cheese, a force not to be underestimated.

My pizza consisted of the usual stench suspects: garlic and onion. Then I also added roasted brussels sprouts and mushrooms, both easily able to overpower the wimpy sent of the “tropical rainfall” Febreze and the various floral-based candles scattered around the house that Mrs. Fed Up insists we have. Of course, there was plenty of strong seasoning thrown on top for good measure.

But for the most important step for the funk-frankenstien-pizza, was the cheese. I decided to go to all out, and bought Limburger Cheese. A cheese known as one of the funkest around. Few mortals can stand strong against it. Once you break open the thick seal wrapping the block of cheese, your nostreals instantly get assualted by the stench of unwashed feet. This cheese is strong, and not to be underestimated.

Well the pizza came out exteremely stinky, but exteremly good. Mrs. Fed Up came home and truly could not belive how nasty our beautiul home smelled. Multiple threats were thrown in my direction.

Ahhh, the stench of an amazing pizza using limburger cheese, garlic, onions, more onions, brussels sprouts and plenty of strong seasoning.

It truly frustrates me how the some of the best tasting things, can stink so bad. But either way, I say embrace the stench, enjoy the taste and simply accept that no one will want to talk to you or really even be in the same room as you, for a few days.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

19 Comments on “Stinky Goodness”

  1. March 20, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    Love the post and I love stinky cheese too!!!! One time coming home from Switzerland, I packed my carry on with delicious (and stinky) cheese and by the end of the 16 hour trip I smelled like a football team’s locker room of dirty socks!

    Your pizza looks to die for. If you continue to make Mrs. Fed Up meals like these, I am sure she will quickly forgive you!

    • March 21, 2012 at 8:37 am #

      Hi Seaside Baker, I LOVE SWISS CHEESE. A good cave aged Gruyere is one of the most perfect smelling things in the world. I really wish they had air fresheners or laundry detergent with this amazing sent. This is one of the those cheeses that BOTH myself and Mrs. Fed Up really like. My favorite use for Gruyere is on another pizza I wrote about several months ago:http://fedupfood.com/2012/01/08/gruyere-cheese-pizza/

      Thanks for visiting the site!

  2. pharmtechgurl
    March 26, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    The best way to buy limburger is to wait until it is almost out of date at the grocery – it gets even stinkier! If you can wait it out, buy & keep in your own fridge, but I just don’t have the patience for that; if I get it home, I eat it! That pizza sounds awesome!

    • March 26, 2012 at 9:15 am #

      Yep, that is a real REAL good strategy for getting the tastiest cheese. I actually do this for any goat cheese I buy…I look for the oldest, slimiest cheese I can find at the store. I love it when I find a nice moldy Humboldt Fog. In fact, last night’s dinner was a nice moldy goat cheese topped pizza (with cottage cheese and broccoli).
      I really like the idea of trying to age some cheese in the fridge, I never thought of that, but I bet it would create some tasty (and stinky) results.

      Oh and I discovered a new seasonal cheese that has quickly become one of my favorites; while it does have a serious stench, it is not quite as stinky as Limburger…BUT the taste is much MUCH stronger. I am planning of posting about this amazing cheese soon.

  3. April 11, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    What a crazy pizza! Love the brussels sprouts!

  4. May 9, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    I love your dishes! Even if they are stinky.

  5. May 9, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    I love your dishes! Even the stinky ones.

    • May 10, 2012 at 9:43 am #

      thanks for reading! For some reason I love STINKY foods.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Get Your Own Sous-Chef (or at least a kitchen sidekick) | Fed Up Food - March 23, 2012

    […] all that cooking comes a kitchen that is constantly a mess. When I make beautiful pizzas,  seasoning goes flying all over the place. When it comes to chopping up vegetables for random egg […]

  2. American Colonization | Fed Up Food - March 25, 2012

    […] Ok, to be truly fair, America is adapting other culture’s creations too. In reality, it really is a two-way street. This spreading of foods, ideas, knowledge, and products amongst all the nations of the world is actually a beautiful thing. I mean…What would a date night be without a Japanese restaurant to eat at? Where would we be if there were no taco’s to be found? And how the hell could we possibly survive with out pizza? […]

  3. The One Cheese You Will EVER Need | Fed Up Food - March 31, 2012

    […] far more powerful. This lesser-known cheese has got some serious funk, but not quite as stinky as Limburger. The taste though is extremely powerful and really hits you in the face. Earthy is one way to […]

  4. Pizza Perfected | Fed Up Food - April 10, 2012

    […] this Grayson cheese pizza, I took the best aspects from my “stinky goodness pizza,” Gruyère cheese pizza and from the various other […]

  5. Quality Consumption from Friends of Fed Up | Fed Up Food - August 17, 2012

    […] a cheese that really impressed him. While you may LOVE my random posts about my cheese finding and crazy food combos using my favorite cheeses, Justin is a TRUE cheesemonger who is sure to provide a far […]

  6. Best Bite of the Week | Fed Up Food - October 12, 2012

    […] Plus, I wanted to replace the smell of drying paint with that of grilled onions and stinky cheese (why can’t Febreze make that a flavor?!?); So I went back to my culinary comfort zone and […]

  7. MEAT MARKETing | Fed Up Food - December 13, 2012

    […] at least have them be for something cool like a goat cheese-fig-cottage cheese pizza; or maybe a pizza with such pungent toppings that will your entire house is sure to reek. At least those would be memorable and worthy of […]

  8. MEAT MARKETing | Fed Up Food - December 13, 2012

    […] at least have them be for something cool like a goat cheese-fig-cottage cheese pizza; or maybe a pizza with such pungent toppings that will your entire house is sure to reek. At least those would be memorable and worthy of […]

  9. Dining Danger | Fed Up Food - April 30, 2013

    […] for all of its  wondrous qualities, can still be mighty stinky…This strong goat cheese was no exception and managed to taint my breath with a barnyard funk […]

  10. Food Flop | Fed Up Food - May 21, 2013

    […] are times when nasty-sounding food combinations end up becoming your favorite recipes. But then there are those things that sound […]

Leave a Reply

