Why am I eating this?

I am constantly on the road for work, and so I always come across crazy “foods” from other cultures.

I just got back from Korea, and the hotel I stayed at had a wonderful concierge floor that always had snacks out. And seriously…who doesn’t love snack time?

Anyway, there were these little bowels of something next to the various pastries, fruits, and other bite sized goodness.

It looked like hay or dried grass. But it was free, and something new so I tried it. I felt like I was eating a bunch of twigs. It was NOT good. I am pretty well travled, and familiar with most foods, but I had never seen “wild ginseng culture root,” as the little sign described. Yes I see “ginseng” added to all sorts of random foods and drink to play along with the current superfood trend that is out of control. I think it is rumored to make you smarter, or taller, or have some other magical ability that marketers love to exaggerate. Anyway I had never seen this in a simple raw form before; and there is a reason for that. It taste crappy.

Crappy name card really does not offer any idea as to how you are supposed to eat this stuff...or even if it is really supposed to be eaten.

I am pretty sure the hotel staff is just having a good laugh at all the dumb Americans who try the stuff straight up. I am sure it is supposed to be added to tea or something first. And if ginseng root is supposed to be eaten plain like that, why the hell would it be sitting on the buffet table next to so many other good tasting things? They were just getting your guard down so you would unknowingly eat the junk.

I know I may simply be looking at the whole scenario from a strictly American perspective, and Koreans may find this a true delicaicy. I am just fed up with exotic foods where a typical Western is completely lost as to how to consume it and the little description cards offer no explanation on what to do with the stuff.

Even if it is supposed to make your life somehow better due to its nutritional or spirtual protperties; I say if you see “wild ginseng culture root” on your next trip to Asia, just avoid it (but be sure to reccomend it to your traveling companions).

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Buy This Bar | Fed Up Food - March 16, 2012

    […] meal, many times the lack of control over what is served during my trips can be an utterly awkward disaster leaving me sick, disgusted, hungry, or the  terrible combo of all […]

  2. American Colonization | Fed Up Food - March 25, 2012

    […] Sitting on a beautiful platter right next to the assorted toast toppers, speciality spreads and exotic Asian accompaniments… Kraft Cheese Singles. This cheese is proudly an AMERICAN product. And we want no one to […]

  3. What Does Your Favorite Color Taste Like? | Fed Up Food - April 25, 2012

    […] by if they are my favorite color, or if their elaborate (but nondescript) “flavor” sounds interesting.  For now though, I am just going to go home and make some chicken with some red stuff on top, and […]

  4. Kitchen Confusion | Fed Up Food - May 1, 2012

    […] to maxing out your credit card so that you can bring one of them home… only to realize they taste like crap. It is so easy to get distracted by all the random tropical stuff when all you really need is a […]

  5. Seeing Red | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2012

    […] I have been spazzing out. Searching to find out what the Hell is wrong with me. I am a good guy…a little cranky, and highly opinionated, but a good guy overall. Why does crap like this happen to me? What did I do to deserve this(besides blaming Canada for a few things and making fun of Korean food)? […]

  6. This Is Something For EVERYONE | Fed Up Food - May 7, 2012

    […] is plenty of weird food out there and there are a lot of things that should be avoided. Plus, the vast options […]

  7. Franken-Fruit | Fed Up Food - July 30, 2012

    […] a “Honey Kiss Hammi Gold” melon is going to taste like, but the catchy phrases, and brief descriptions plastered on the packaging is so generic that you still wind up taking your chances when you get […]

  8. There is NO ‘Z’ in Saffron! | Fed Up Food - August 15, 2012

    […] but all you get is crap. Or when a food lures you in with bright colors and promises of exotic flavors, but after a single bite you are left with nothing except a bland mouthful of overpriced nonsense. […]

  9. Terrible Truffle Tradegy | Fed Up Food - October 10, 2012

    […] that topped my dish were just flavorless leftovers that this tiny restaurant served to the dumb, international diners who did not know better. I left the restaurant that night with an unsatisfied appetite that yearned to experience  what […]

Leave a Reply

