An Open Letter to Canada…ITS NOT BACON

I am really fed up with foods whose names or descriptions do not match the actual food.

Mislabeled food: Canadian bacon is definitely tasty, but it definitely is NO bacon.

Canadian bacon is a compete lie. Canadan bacon has as much in common with real bacon, as canned tunafish has in common to sashimi grade raw tuna served in Japanese resturants. They are competely different foods.

I mean there may be some cultural or historical reason for where the term “Canadian Bacon” came from…but come-on, change the name to reflect what really is. Bacon is bacon, but Canadian bacon comes from the pork’s tenderloin. It is a competely different cut of meat. A slice of Canadian bacon really just seems like a glorified cut of sliced deli ham. In fact, from my personal kitchen adventures, it is clear to me that Canadian bacon should be used far more like ham then it should be used like bacon. It’s lean qualitys means it dries out quickly when cooked, and the taste is far more interchangble to that of regualr old ham.

When you stumble into your local store and see that package of Canadian bacon next to the more approratly leabled products, realize that it is NOT bacon…and then please nicely  ask Canada to change the name of this classic Hawaiian pizza topper and America breakfast standard.

Don’t label something that it is not.

Canada, please realize that while this is a great meat product, it is no bacon and should not be labeled as such. Any name suggestions would be greatly appreciated, but for now I will just call it “Not Bacon” or maybe “Expensive Deli Meat” or if Canada insists on keeping this as one of their own, how about “Canadian Ham.” So…can we make the change official?

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “An Open Letter to Canada…ITS NOT BACON”

  1. April 3, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    Oh but it is bacon! Of course in the land down south (hello neighbour!) most often what is sold as “Canadian bacon” is just smoked ham…
    Up here we call it “back bacon” as opposed to that other cut which really should be called
    “belly bacon”…
    http://gordsbacon.com/ecom.asp?pg=what-is-canadian-back-peameal-bacon

    • April 4, 2012 at 8:26 am #

      Hi Merlinspielen,
      I am just looking at it from my narrow American perspective. When the Fed Up team sees this stuff in an American grocery store, it always frustrates us because it is not the “bacon” we are familiar with.

      Thanks for reading, and I hope you know there is no offense towards Canada in any way. I think Canada is cool. I promise.

      • April 4, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

        I thought it was actually a rather funny rant! I guess I need to add my emoticons when I attempt to be amusing. And what good is an open letter if nobody responds 🙂

  2. Timothy
    April 4, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    They call it that because it is bacon. The rest of the world uses the word “bacon” differently to Americans, who, a while back, were convinced to use it only for streaky bacon, which was, at the time, the cheapest cut of bacon.

    The reason the name doesn’t match the food, from your perspective, is that your perspective is parochial.

    Also, you should stop blaming the Canadians. The stuff you get, called “Canadian bacon” is called that by American companies selling to Americans. Real, original Canadian bacon is unsmoked peameal bacon.

    • April 4, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      Thank you for the history lesson. In all honesty, this was not meant to be taken too seriously and I mean no offense towards my Canadian readers.

      I am aware I am looking and ranting from a purely closed minded American perspective….but that is what is so nice about having an opinion and a site that allows one to share it. I just needed to vent my frustrations of seeing the term “Canadian bacon” on what to ME is not really bacon.

      But thank you and I do hope you understand that this is just a lighthearted look at food from the grub obsessed mind of the Fed Up team.

      I do hope you continue reading and I really do appreciate your comment

  3. April 5, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    I know it was a rant, but you should make some home-cured “Canadian bacon” at home. Trust me, you will love it, but hate American marketers even more.

    They have some good pork up north. I prefer the extra fat of “our” bacon, but the real Canadian is good stuff- and easy to make.

    Love the blog…btw

    • April 5, 2012 at 8:14 am #

      Hmmm. I might have to try and make my own stuff then…but I have SO MANY kitchen projects I am trying. I find almost anything home-made ends up tasting better than industrial packaged stuff. Right now I am doing quick-pickled banana peppers. I don’t think I could ever go back to the stuff sold at the store.

      Thanks for reading!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Getting Crabs In All The Wrong Places… | Fed Up Food - April 20, 2012

    […] a stupid decision. Eating crawfish outside of Louisiana, is like getting sushi in the Serengeti. It does not make sense. Not one bit. What kind of rich jackass goes on a safari in the middle of Africa, and then requests […]

  2. Kitchen Confusion | Fed Up Food - May 1, 2012

    […] the back of a pig, but turkey tenderloins come from the bird’s breast…right? And “Canadian bacon” still disappoints me, IT IS NOT BACON, and tastes nowhere as good as REAL bacon. This is the […]

  3. Seeing Red | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2012

    […] but a good guy overall. Why does crap like this happen to me? What did I do to deserve this(besides blaming Canada for a few things and making fun of Korean […]

  4. Sweet Tea Is SOUTHERN…Not Swiss | Fed Up Food - June 22, 2012

    […] Sweet Tea Is SOUTHERN…Not Swiss I was making my weekly grocery run when I came across something that really pissed me off. […]

  5. Terrible Truffle Tradegy | Fed Up Food - October 10, 2012

    […] You are no better than Cookie Crisp cereal, dragon fruit, Red Delicious apples, or even Canadian Bacon. Truffles…you only cause tradegy Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the […]

Leave a Reply

