Keep Sponge Bob out of my edamame

Edamame, the steamed soybean treat graciously gifted to us by the generous Japanese, is being defaced with Sponge Bob.

Some berries in their natural state before they have been tainted by the "Sponge." They look tasty all on their own, and you don't feel like a complete dumbass for having them at your home...Does EVERYTHING need to be certified of by some TV cartoon?

Ok, I understand that in America we have a bad problem where kids (and adults) won’t stop stuffing their face with junk food, and often any vegetable consumed is first deep fried then doused in sugary ketchup. I mean have you looked as some of our condiments you can buy today? No wonder we have a “big” problem in this country.

So it makes sense to try and get children to eat their healthy veggies any way possible. By branding healthy options with popular cartoon characters, hopefully some couch-potatoe kids will be convinced to try something not from a drive-thru window…I mean if the king of the “square pants” is doing it, it must be cool.

But what I am fed up  with now is how these stupid cartoons are showing up on all of my food. Ok, YES I am just a big kid and I love my morning cartoons…but I really don’t want to open my fridge and see a package of brussels sprouts with some giant Disney-type character staring out at me each day. Plus, I feel like a freaking idiot sometimes when checking out at the grocery store with a cart full of food whose packaging makes it seem like I only bought a pile of those “snack-packs” each 6 year old has before nap time; or just went on a shopping spree at Toy’s R Us.

It just is really annoying how it seems  half the foods on grocery store shelves have some stupid cartoon gimmick screaming at us for attention…now if  we got “The Office’s” Dwight Schrute, or “24’s” Jack Bauer telling us to eat more spinach instead of some disproportional sailor (Popeye) who smokes too much, then maybe it would not bother me so much, AND our society would eat more “green” instead of grease.

Sponge Bob has ruined edamame for us all.

Oh, and I am sure you know those licenses to use the cartoons on those food packages and labels, don’t come cheap. So, the food industry is more than happy to pass along those hefty expenses to us, just so our edamame can be offically “Sponge-Bob-approved.”

But I guess kids trump parents when it comes to who is the more important consumer. So it looks sadly like Sponge Bob is going to be sticking around in my kitchen for a while longer…damn… I hate that Sponge.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Keep Sponge Bob out of my edamame”

  1. March 21, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    It wasn’t that bad to have a cartoon character on the packaging. Probably bcoz of you are a guy. I’m sorta like it ❤

    • March 22, 2012 at 9:11 am #

      Hi Cammy Mi-chan. I am just kind of exaggerating my frustrations. It just gets kind of annoying seeing how so many of the products on the store shelves are endorsed by some character or famous celebrity. It really is not that big of a deal, but I needed to “vent” a little. Plus, haveing so much space of the packaging dominated by licensed brands and cartoons, means there is less space on the package to provide useful infromation such as nutritional stats, recipes, or tips on how to eat the item.

      Plus…I just never thought the sponge was a good cartoon character, especially when compared to the awesomeness of famous cartoons like Taz, Wiley-E-Coyote, Marvin the Martian, and Speedy Gonzales.

      But Mrs. Fed Up really has no problem with cartoons on her edamame, and probably would agree with you completely.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Melting Under the Pressure | Fed Up Food - April 20, 2012

    […] they can analyze your groceries, leading to comments on how foolish you look purchasing so many cartoon endorsed foods. I have even been stuck with cashiers who go into an elaborate conversation about why what you […]

  2. There is NO ‘Z’ in Saffron! | Fed Up Food - August 15, 2012

    […] I hate when we get mislead…it happens all the time. Something is advertised as tasting like ‘cookies,’ but all you get is crap. Or when a food lures you in with bright colors and promises of exotic flavors, but after a single bite you are left with nothing except a bland mouthful of overpriced nonsense. And then there are those times when you think you are getting some sort of health benefit from ‘superfood’-packed-products, but all you really end up receiving is a bunch of marketing hype. […]

  3. Face the Flax | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2013

    […] for starters I did not feel like a toddler eating this stuff for thanks to their NOT being a stupid cartoon character being plastered on this cereal’s box. And the back of the box was used for  […]

Leave a Reply

