Get Your Own Sous-Chef (or at least a kitchen sidekick)

Here at the Fed Up HQ, we cook. We cook ALOT.

With all that cooking comes a kitchen that is constantly a mess. When I make beautiful pizzas,  seasoning goes flying all over the place. When it comes to chopping up vegetables for random egg creations, scraps of produce layer the floor at my feet. I admit, I make one hell of a mess when cooking.

Now, all professional chef’s have their sous-chef…their trusty kitchen sidekick who gets stuck with a lot of the crap jobs.

Dozer, my trusty sous-chef at the ready to clean up any mess and provide insight into what is truly tasty.

I am no professional chef, who graduated from the Culinary Institute.  And I am no offspring from a one-night-stand between Julia Child and Anthony Bourdain. I have never run a restaurant either. BUT I do cook. ALOT. So I try to be as professional in the kitchen as I can be.  This had led me to mimicking what the pros do.  …I have decided to learn from the experts and inlist the assitance of a sous-chef.  There is a reason the professionals have sous-chefs. Have you ever seen an Iron Chef battle where sous-chefs were not present?  With a good sous-chef, most people can suddenly become  far more capable of creating meals to brag about.

The Fed Up household has an official sous chef now, Dozer.  While Dozer’s lack of opposable thumbs make him pretty much useless at any real prep work; he does excel in a few critical cooking tasks.

The Fed Up Dog, Dozer is the perfect kitchen-clean up crew. He loyally waits at my feet to catch any bits before they touch the floor. And once a meal is done, he does an amazing job of smashing his flat face against the floor and inhaling any remaining crumbs. Vacuum cleaners are pathetic compared to what Dozer is capable of…”Get and Oreck,” NO, just get a dog. And “Hoovers” have nothing on Dozer. Seriously Dozer should probably be called “Dyson.”  Please don’t waste your money on vacuum cleaners when a living “Roomba” can do a better job.

I have learned to trust my kitchen sidekick. He knows crap from quality and will not point me in the wrong direction. He really is all-knowing and provides sound advice...much like Yoda from Star Wars. In fact, he kind of looks like Yoda when he is focusing on helping me cook. Good dog, but bad gas.

Plus, Dozer is a highly trained connoisseur of gourment ingredents. When he is truly in his “zone,” he ignores  the crap cheese from Kraft and even the cheaper, discounted wedges from Whole Foods, but will immediately alert me to quality chvere or atrisanal cheddar by jumping to attention. Fresh roasted trueky will call him from anywhere in the house, while industrial-produced, chemically-enhanced deli slices are ignored. Like many good sous-chefs, Dozer is very capable of picking out the best foods to be cooked with, which means that only the finest of ingredients get used in my kitchen whenever possible.

A good sous-chef should also play the part of a caddy in golf, acting as a good soundboard and speaking up when reccomendations are needed. While Dozer may not be the most verbal of sous-chefs, he does gives great advice. He really does not say much…but when he does it is always impressive.

So if you want to be a better cook, or you are just tired of cleaning up the crap you leave behind after a hectic cooking session, then get a sous-chef…or at least a dog. And remember, they work hard to make sure your foods turn out successful, so a few extra bites thrown their direction are always appreciated.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

19 Comments on “Get Your Own Sous-Chef (or at least a kitchen sidekick)”

  1. Mrs. Fed Up
    March 25, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Hmm….interesting how is wife isn’t his sous chef, but rather the dog who does not have opposable thumbs. Oh well, I don’t think I can complain given the AMAZING meals that make it to the table with little to no effort on my part!

    • March 25, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      Haha, well you can be the OTHER sous-chef…IronChefs always have two.

  2. April 3, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Your puppy is adorable. I have a Frenchie, too and you’re right, my guy is also amazing at kitchen clean up!

    • April 3, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      Yep, French Bulldogs are awesome. And their flat face means they do a great job of getting all the food that falls on the floor. Thanks for reading!

  3. April 4, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    I could have used Dozer tonight when I made dinner…

    • April 4, 2012 at 8:20 am #

      haha. Dozer is a good side kick. Never fails me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fed Up’s Manly Kitchen Essentials | Fed Up Food - April 9, 2012

    […] or a Dog: There are MANY reasons to have a good kitchen sidekick. Key reasons include their ability of saving you the trouble of […]

  2. Welcome Home | Fed Up Food - April 15, 2012

    […] well. Or if I am just too damn impatient to wait for that day, I could just get a bigger, scarier dog for our front yard. Yep, the current Fed Up dog is not exactly doing a good job of keeping anyone […]

  3. Kitchen Confusion | Fed Up Food - May 1, 2012

    […] the other. I can never remember which one, so I just end up buying both and then seeing if our dog will ever become a vegetarian by giving him whatever is left. Is this a "yam" or a […]

  4. Seeing Red | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2012

    […] was really starting to get nervous. Peeing red was starting to really freak me out. Dozer, the Fed Up dog, was very […]

  5. Offece Offense Part 2: Who STOLE My Lunch? | Fed Up Food - May 4, 2012

    […] Get a small guard dog. Seriously, if you can bring your canine companion to the workplace that’s great. But if […]

  6. Replacing Family Photos With Pizza Potraits | Fed Up Food - May 14, 2012

    […] is a bigger percentage of my cell phone’s memory dedicated to pizza than to my wife? Even Dozer, my trusty kitchen sidekick is given less digital space than dinners being pulled from my trusty […]

  7. Seriously Sad Cereal | Fed Up Food - May 20, 2012

    […] Dozer, the Fed Up dog, was reluctant to eat the stuff (and he eats his own poop). So the box of Cookie […]

  8. Empty Bread Baskets and Naked Tables | Fed Up Food - June 6, 2012

    […] a week, my gourmet cheese purchases have been getting supplemented with Kraft crap, and even the Fed Up Dog, Dozer, has had his food downgraded to the […]

  9. There is NO ‘Z’ in Saffron! | Fed Up Food - August 15, 2012

    […] is mild and it is often used to provide the bright yellow/red color to certain dishes. My loyal sous-chef, Dozer, is always looking for the opportunity to ‘clean up’ after I have used rare […]

  10. Spicing Up Life | Fed Up Food - August 28, 2012

    […] in). This combo goes great on everything from vegetables to chicken, stirfrys and seafood. Even Dozer, the Fed Up dog, loves this stuff. Sometimes though, it is nice to see what seasonings the […]

  11. Terrible Truffle Tradegy | Fed Up Food - October 10, 2012

    […] dish. Are these overpriced orbs of culinary  fascination really worth it? Even the Fed Up ‘sous-chef,’ Dozer, has no idea what to think about truffles…is all the hype true? Is a little jar […]

  12. Best Bite of the Week | Fed Up Food - October 12, 2012

    […] dog, Dozer, and I have just moved into our new home and we are very excited. The new Fed Up HQ is pretty cool. […]

  13. Everyones A Local?!? | Fed Up Food - November 7, 2012

    […] on an organic, natural diet composed of foods grown in their own backyard and fertilized by their dog. And this is fine. Eat what you want…to each their own. But it just gets annoying when […]

Leave a Reply

