Muesli: Not Just For Tree Huggers and Europeans

When we walk down the grocery store aisle, we tend to get in a routine where we focus on picking up the same old foods each week. For years as I walked down the ceral aisle (the BEST aisle in the whole store), I would pretty much just grab the  same stuff every week. Cornflakes is just one of those staple cereals that  I could never get sick of…sometimes I would branch out and get Rice Kirspies…or I may even go “extreme” and get Chex…

I admit, my old cereal selections were pretty boring. But that’s besides the point. Most people simple walk down the cereal aisle and get their cereal fix  by choosing their usual picks, whether it is Captian Crunch, or Special K. And yes sometimes, we do browse the newest cereal creations being promoted or we  try the latest  option from the ever expanding range of flavor options currently available. In general though, I think it is fair to belive that few people truly look at all the other stuff in that same asile.

But one day I took a risk.

A box of Swiss Muesli...often overlooked as we seek out our usual favorites. There is no toy inside, or marshmallow pieces, and it is not even endorsed by some cartoon character. Plus, there is a pretty significant price tag. So, it really is not surprising that Familia Swiss Muesli has not graced most of our breakfast tables yet.

I picked up a box of something new to me, something different, and something I was not sure how to pronounce. The box was surprisingly heavy, and the price was NOT cheap. I had briefly heard of this stuff from trips in the Alps, and I was finally eager to mix up my morning routine a bit.

Muesli…the freaking healthy breakfast food of the Swiss.

The Swiss have given us so many things… Many people only think of their knives, or cheese…. But Swiss Muesli is another great.

I got some from  an actual Swiss brand, Familia. I wanted to try the real stuff, not some fake version that automatically would win any taste test by having added pieces of candy to their recipe.

The taste: Well at first I was skeptical and almost threw the whole box in the trash after quickly taking a big bite of yougurt-topped musili. It was dry, and not tasty at all. But then I realized, this is NOT granola and cannot be eaten like granola. You can’t just toss some true muesli on top of your Greek yogurt, or add it in your skim milk and expect it to be instantly edible. I had to had to learn how to eat this Muesli, so I turned to the box for advice. But once I gained all the knowledge I could from the box, I was prepared to give it a second go. I added a nice helping of muesli to a  bowl along with some milk and a little yogurt. I then let it soak in the fridge for a while. After some time of letting the muesli “marinate, ” I tried the properly handled muesli, and was amazed. Like magic, the stuff had become real good. It is now something that I truly enjoy and look forward to.

Since then I have created my own takes on the box-suggested preparation. My current favorite version, which I have awarded a spot within the “Mr. Fed Up Dishes” category, involves mixing a batch up with soy milk, cottage cheese, some sweetener, pear, and cinnamon. Sounds kind of gross, looks pretty boring, but tastes awesome.

So get yourself a tasty, healthy bowl of muesli and give it a try… even if you end up feeling  like an all-natural-hippie who just finished backpacking across Europe.

It may not look pretty, but we all know that taste trumps looks.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

25 Comments on “Muesli: Not Just For Tree Huggers and Europeans”

  1. Nick
    March 26, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    While the per box price is a lot you might want to look at the per ounce cost, it is probably cheaper than honey bunches of oats

    • March 26, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      Hey Nick…You are ABSOLUTELY RIGHT! It just seems like you really have to “commit” to a box of muesli when you see it is close to $9 and all the boxes of cereal around it top off at around $5.

      But, yes, per ounce, this is actually a great deal. And to be honest with you, one box of this stuff will last a whole lot longer than a box of Honey Bunches of Oats.

      Thanks for reading the post!

  2. Amanda
    March 27, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    I used to eat this when I lived in Australia because it was the cheapest cereal there. Why is it so expensive in the states?

    • March 27, 2012 at 11:37 am #

      Hi Amanda,
      As the commenter above (Nick) pointed out, “per ounce” it is actually very fairly priced.

      But when you see this cereal next to another box that looks the same size, the higher price of the muesli can really be a turnoff for many people. People don’t want to try a new cereal and risk not liking it if one box costs almost twice as much as their usual option. BUT then if you actually pick up the two boxes and compare the weight, it is amazing how much more food in in the muesli.

      I think that muesli is not a super “cheap” cereal option in the USA due to distribution and popularity. Economies of scale would come into play if muesli really took off in the USA, then the price would drop like crazy. I bet even Walmart would make their own dirt-cheap version like they do for most popular cereals.
      And , because Familia and other Swiss Muesli brands are not the size of (or owned by) “Quaker,” “Kellogg,” “Post,” etc; then they don’t have the leverage, synergy, and power that comes with being a major corporate powerhouse. So their costs for everything is higher, which is then passed on to us, the consumer.

      Anyway, just my thoughts…

      but in general, if you really do compare the price of ounce to ounce with other cereals, and you are willing to buy a box that will last you a long while; then the Swiss muesli is really not that expensive at all.

  3. March 29, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Excellent Post! One of my favourite cereals of all-time. I have never been one for the candy-coated stuff, and the taste is superb.
    I agree with Amanda there on cost .. Canada is no better, with muesli cereals being twice the price or better of the more popular “Coco-Puffs”. Feeling a little ripped off here. Does our government condone the industry’s over-pricing to keep us unhealthy so they make more on the healthcare system? Makes you wonder!

    Cheers,
    Amma

    • March 29, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Hi Amarissa,
      Haha. Yep. The way things are priced sometimes makes me wonder if there is some sort of giant conspiracy out there…I know a lot of the nonfat yogurt or less-sugar or lower-sodium items I pick up cost more than their counterparts… And it is a sad reality that fresh, healthy, locally produced products almost always cost more. Just this past week I could have gotten some berries from a small farm an hour away…but in the grocery store, sitting next to the local berries was a box of berries twice as big for half as much that was flown in from the opposite side of the world, and filled with enough chemicals and processing in order to help them survive the transit.
      I think it almost always comes down to economies of scale….or maybe it is just some crazy conspiracy …

      It would be nice though if some how the healthier options were always cheaper, or at least set at the same price.

      Thanks for posting and remember: Stay fed up, stay fed well.

  4. April 3, 2012 at 11:57 pm #

    This is THE muesli – Familia. I’ve been eating it since the late ’70’s but I started making it in the 80’s when I couldn’t find it in any store! They rest are bad imitiations. It’s not cheap to make, either, but it does allow for some customization. I use rye flakes, barley and oats and I like to add toasted pecans, and sometimes toasted almonds. I’ll add dried fruit if I feel like it (with a light hand,) Dates are my favorite.

  5. April 5, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    Ok, I will try this brand. I am quite bored of Post Cereals now

    • April 5, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      Give it a try. Add some of your personal favorite breakfast items, like syrup, or Greek yogurt, or chopped apple. I hope you like it…and remember to let is sit for a while after you mix it all together. The longer it sits in the fridge, the better it will taste.

  6. pumpkingranola
    April 14, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Great post! I’ve tried this myself.. really flavorful stuff. Have you tried it with mashed up banana?

    • April 15, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      Yep. Banana and pankcake syrup on muesli is a great combo. But after seeing your Username, I think I want to try mixing pumpkin in muesli next.

      • flaxseedgranola
        April 15, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

        Let me know how it tastes! (As an aside, that reminded me I didn’t like the way my username looked. Changed it!)

      • April 15, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

        Haha, I will let you know. But I am pretty sure EVERYTHING taste good with pumpkin. One of the BEST sandwiches I have ever had was while in New Zealand I was served a roast pumpkin sandwich. It was just bread and a nice big wedge of roasted pumpkin.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rear Reading | Fed Up Food - April 14, 2012

    […] Rice Krispies before? I sure haven’t). And cereal has now even become a popular morning meal world-wide. Now all they have to do is give us back our “free-prize-inside” and provide  a little […]

  2. Protein Bars Judged By Iron Chef | Fed Up Food - July 19, 2012

    […] or ‘Ranted‘ about can be complicated? How do you weigh certain values? Does organic or natural compensate for overpriced? Will strong nutritional stats mean that food is still worth eating if it […]

  3. More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat | Fed Up Food - July 20, 2012

    […] food (at least for my American palate). While I have visited many grocery stores throughout ‘old‘ Europe, ‘exotic‘ Asia, and plenty other regions, I was truly in awe of what […]

  4. Rotten Luck | Fed Up Food - July 24, 2012

    […] We all have those little breakfast rituals and routines…But for many, it is not just a habit, but an addiction: Some crave caffeine, others are […]

  5. Paying Pilgrimage To ‘Holey’ Cheese | Fed Up Food - July 26, 2012

    […] course there are a few that are a little strange to the typical American, BUT most Swiss foods, including their chocolate and various other treats, are so legendary that even non-Swiss […]

  6. The Secret Swiss Cereal | Fed Up Food - August 4, 2012

    […] need to be shared with the rest of the world. I was surprised with how tasty muesli is when I stumbled across the European creation in my local Louisiana grocery store. But while […]

  7. It’s OK to be a Squirrel | Fed Up Food - September 27, 2012

    […] be deployed in a moments notice. Dried fruit is freaking awesome on its own or added to any breakfast bowl. Cereal, candies and crackers are always good additions to any snack sack. Drink mixes make […]

  8. Fridge Freak Out | Fed Up Food - November 27, 2012

    […] in often an enjoyable activity for me. I love browsing the various aisles and searching out unique foods to stuff my face […]

  9. Cereal Supper | Fed Up Food - December 7, 2012

    […] it is slightly crazy….but that is not a bad thing. From granola, to exotic foreign stuff to muesli and the classics, there is always something to fit your mood. So you can NEVER get bored with […]

  10. Guard Your Nuts! | Fed Up Food - February 11, 2013

    […] is a whole lot better for you than munching on Corn Nuts or Nutter Butters.  And for all you muesli-eating-hippies out there, these are generally preservative free and ‘chestnuts’ are listed on the […]

Leave a Reply

