WHAT THE TRUCK!

What happened to the day when food trucks were a novelty. My childhood is filled with memories of racing to catch up to the tune of an ice cream truck.  And when I was a kid, a van shoveling out crappy pizza, old hot dogs, and stale cotton candy at local fairs and events was always such an exciting thing.

But WOW, the world has changed.

Food trucks are everywhere, serving eveything, at every price. Its kind of a joke now. There is even at least one TV show dedicated entirely to food trucks and the grub they sell.

You know we have a slight food truck addiction problem when there are television shows focused solely on the trend. The Great Food Truck Race has had multiple seasons...and it is actually a decent show (but it is no Iron Chef).

Ok, from what I personally have noticed, there are some legitimate reasons for this onslaught of food trucks, and for this trend becoming so popular across the entire county.  The economical reasons to serve food from a truck rather then a proper building, definitely helped this trend grow. There is a lot less overhead and a lot less headaches. Plus, there is no rent to pay, only a small staff  is required, and you don’t have to clean up a flithy restroom at the end of the day. More importantly, if business is slow one day, then you can pack up and move down the street; And if business is slow one year, then you can pack up and move to a different career.

Just cause it is easier to open a food truck, does not mean we need everyone to start doing it. Food trucks really just seem to be another “trendy thing.” I am not trying to hate any specific truck, in fact I know many of them serve up amazing stuff. I just think the whole concept has reached a saturation point. Kind of like how frozen yogurt shops have become so freaking popular recently.  I like frozen yogurt, but it is nothing special or unique now that these “fro-yo” shops are everywhere. A food truck or two in every neighborhood is cool, but a food truck or two on ever corner is crazy.

I know I am starting to get sick of all the trucks that constantly show up at any event, whether it is a big-band rock concert or an 8 year old’s birthday. I don’t think I am alone in thinking thinking this too.  I bet one day we will all be nostalgic for a simple sit-down resturant. One with a wait staff, and a lengthy menu, and a full kitchen…and a restroom.

I came across this craziness while surfing the web. Our society's obsession with food trucks has gone too far.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

13 Comments on “WHAT THE TRUCK!”

  1. March 30, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Years ago I worked at a Jail and depending on the day, either a burrito van or a bbq ribs van would show up in the parking lot around lunch so officers and staff could grab a quick lunch. In fact, the majority of food vans around here are burrito vans and the summertime favorite of all children, the ice cream truck.

    • March 30, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Hi Urbannight,
      Yep, around here it was first taco trucks (and ice cream trucks)…but now I am seeing more and more variety (which is nice). But I just have to laugh at how many trucks there are and and how they have gotten so trendy. I have seen some real gourmet style trucks.

      One thing that always makes me smile is the number of snoball trucks I see every weekend circling the parks. It must be some serious competition. I have actually seen 4 snoball trucks at one time all withing a block of each other.

  2. Michaela Chatman
    April 3, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    That’s funny! You know, I remember the candy truck when I was little. There was this old man who drove around in a brown van with the door open. He sold gummy worms, sour patch kids, small bags of potato chips and dill pickles. He sold a lot of other things as well. It was always a real treat when my mom would give us a quarter to get some penny candy. Now, I am sure I would need more than .25 cents to eat from one of those food trucks! Thanks! Great read!

  3. April 3, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    Great post. I really think there is a need for food trucks or as we call them in the uk, butty vans. They are a really good way of picking up a quick bite to eat like a bacon sarnie for instance.. Please give the old butty vans a chance !!!

    • April 3, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      Ha, I agree they are convenient, and I will give em a chance…it is just that there are so many.

  4. April 4, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    I haven’t seen any food truck here in Pensacola but when I was still living in Los Angeles they were EVERWHERE. They even used to fight over territory. One place I worked at, had the same lunch truck all day long. Husband & wife team drove this one and they were at the company at 6 am and stayed until it was time to pick up their kids at 3pm. They gave credit and let you pay up on Friday’s, even helping you out by cashing your payroll check. They were pretty good most of the time, of course hamburgers were their main staple, but you could get pretty much anything you wanted. Another place I worked out, they had 3 different trucks come in and usually which ever had the smallest crowd was the one I ate at. Nothing special but when you only have a 30 minute lunch and don’t want to drive out, it will do.

    • April 4, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

      Food trucks are good when you need a bite during a workday.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fed up – Wir brauchen neue Läden! « Heidis Mist - April 4, 2012

    […] Ennet dem Teich ist man immer einen Schritt voraus, weshalb sich ein Blick dorthin lohnt, z.B. The Great Food Truck Race, Fed […]

  2. Replacing Family Photos With Pizza Potraits | Fed Up Food - May 14, 2012

    […] cable channels like Bravo and the Travel Channel. Hell, there are several series focusing JUST on food served from vehicles!?!  And of course there is more than one television channel solely dedicated to all things food. […]

  3. Sweet Tea Is SOUTHERN…Not Swiss | Fed Up Food - June 22, 2012

    […] admit, there are a LOT of things I just don’t understand…like why food trucks are so damn popular and how come sporks are not found EVERYWHERE?!? So when I saw this “Swiss […]

  4. Terrible Truffle Tradegy | Fed Up Food - October 10, 2012

    […] day I would get to sample them and experience their luxurious taste. Judges on Iron Chef and other television cooking completions all becoming giddy children whenever fresh truffles are used by one of the […]

  5. Get Rich Quick | Fed Up Food - April 21, 2013

    […] in public as I tear apart crustaceans. Why are there no Taco Bell taxis to compete with all of those damn trucks this country is so infatuated by?   Has Wendy never pulled back her red hair and seen that […]

Leave a Reply

