Good Food Gone Bad

It is crawfish (and crab, and snowball, and spring-cleaning) season right now.

One of the simplest joys for someone in Louisiana (where the Fed Up HQ is located) is to get a big platter of freshly boiled crawfish. And this is never more true then after a long winter, completely deprived of fresh shellfish.

Well, just the other day, the Fed Up team went to a local restaurant and got a massive tray of boiled crabs, shrimp, and of course, crawfish. These shellfish were true beauties. Fresh, big, and prime examples of what we dream of all winter long.

When the server brought us  out our platter, 6 months of anticipation finally was met with a pile of Louisiana-spiced goodness.

Then we took our first bite.

A platter of freshly boiled seafood is something I look forward to every spring after a long shellfish-deprived winter. Ok, for some people it is kind of weird ripping the heads and limbs off your meal while at the table. And you really do need to change shirts and take a good shower to clean off all the mess...but damn, it is well worth it if the dish is cooked right and no one messed with the ingredients.

I ripped the tail from a crawfish. I then quickly tried a shrimp, and followed up with busting open a crab. It was a HORROR story. I was stunned speechless at my discovery.

These perfect specimens of prime seafood were destroyed by a careless cook, or a restaurant trying to cut costs. All of it, the shrimp, the crawfish, the crab…completely over-cooked. The normally succulent flesh was rubbery and bland. It is not like boiling seafood is that hard either. You simply dump food in a hot pot of liquid, wait a few moments and remove. Any seasoned restaurant kitchen should be able to produce at least edible results… clearly this was not the case this time.

When you have ingredients as perfect as this, it really is hard to serve a bad meal. Well this restaurant managed to do so. I mean they must have REALLY tried hard to over-cook this stuff to make such tasty grub turn out so nasty.

There are a lot of things that piss me off… but when beautiful ingredients are destroyed so blatantly, it is truly is a sad thing. And if the crap is then served to you at a restaurant for a premium price, well that dives me crazy.

Whether it is fresh cilantro being smashed to a pulp by a zealous grocery cashier, or a dog fart covering up the smell of a freshly baked pumpkin pie, it really is depressing to see good food go bad.

What foods do you hate to see abused? What cherished morsels make you cry when you see them cooked so inappropriately?

Serving beautiful fresh crawfish that were so over cooked was just plain WRONG. It was a sad day for the Fed Up team and a terribly disgraceful day for shellfish worldwide.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

26 Comments on “Good Food Gone Bad”

  1. April 4, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    JUST HORRIBLE! What pisses me off is when seafood, a great steak, even a burger are cooked to no living end. Why Oh Why?!? Here is the one that really angers me – greasy egg, undercooked hasbrowns, rubberized bacon and burnt toast (cost around $10) – gets my goat – I go out to eat for enjoyment not eat the slop I could have made at home and for less monies!!! Thanks for sharing & Have a Great Day:)

    • April 4, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      I agree completely. I rather risk it being too raw then have to pay for something over cooked. And you are right, especially about burnt toast…there is NOTHING you can do about saving a piece of burnt toast except for getting a new slice.

  2. April 4, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    No food should get to a customer without someone doing a quality check. How does the kitchen staff just toss plates to the customers without someone checking the quality of the food. I don’t mind paying a premium when I go to an upscale place, but I do expect perfection.

    • April 4, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

      Yep, sometimes I wonder if restaurant managers/owners have even tried the food they sell.

  3. April 4, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    one of my favorites 🙂

  4. April 4, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Some friends and I drove out of town to eat at a ‘cajun’ place. We had heard it was good. It was not. The place had been sold one month prior. Nothing was good. My friend said the crawdads were ‘muddy’ tasting. The fried oysters had clearly been bought frozen in bulk. The new owners went with a lot of frozen, pre-prepped stuff and lower quality food in general. It was SOOOO sad.

    • April 4, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

      Wow, that is terrible.
      On behalf of all of Louisiana, I apologize for that bad meal. It was a disgrace to our fine seafood.

      I promise, cajun/Louisiana food is real good.

  5. April 4, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    My BIGGEST pet peeve with food when I go out, salad arriving and the greens are dirty or slimy. SERIOUSLY… how hard is it to WASH the food. If my food comes out dirty, how clean are the Chef’s hands? The whole rest of the meal, even if they are great with correcting the lack of quality and are gracious, leaves me wandering what else is making it onto my plate for dinner.

    • April 5, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      Hey Writingforjoy, I COMPLETELY AGREE! dirty or wilting greens drives me crazy. It especially makes Mrs. Fed Up really lose it because she is a big salad eater and often times that is her entree. I also hate it when they serve of “fresh vegetables” on a salad that clearly were cut up and prepared the day before. Cucumber and tomatoes get real nasty after a few hours once they are cut/diced.

  6. way2bfinicky
    April 5, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    @Writingforjoy: ‘what else is making it onto my plate for dinner.”

    It may be best to not wonder; it will make you crazy!! Its the wilted greens that make me squeamish. Bagged lettuce does have that certain and unmistakable smell and I can tell when it’s been served to me. There is slimy dark green under lighter greens that you can see have gone soft and mushy. Just YUCK!

    Mr. Fed Up: This is why I never order the fresh fruit. It rarely is.

    • April 5, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      haha. Whenever the term “fresh” shows up on a menu, warning bells should go off. If they have to say it is “fresh” then they are trying too hard to sell it.

      Ok…and along with bagged lettuce that has turned to slime; old spinach that has gone from a bright green to a dark shade and is oozing out some nasty liquid…this is the sort of thing i have nightmares of. Seriously, NEVER look at the bottom of a bowl of spinach at a salad bar. All the old leaves are just sitting there in their own filth, slowly rotting away. It is disgusting.

      …kind of makes the over-cook seafood not look too bad suddenly.

      • way2bfinicky
        April 5, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

        YES! that’ it! the lettuce has rotted and turned to a slimy mush. I find it especially from bags of spring mixes so I stay far, far away from that purchase.

        Now I ask you — why is it that spring mixes and lettuce in the plastric boxes are not nearly as disgusting as the bagged lettuce?

        I was thinking this morning of writing something on this topic for tomorrow. This thought came to me as I tossed a $5 bag of chopped Romain leaves. I just couldn’t eat the stuff fast enough (and I don’t call myself Finicky for no reason! .

      • April 5, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

        haha. You are right. The stuff in boxes hold up so much better. I hope you write something up…and if you don’t I may have to “rant” about it.

  7. April 6, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    I was watching Jacques Pepin the other day – he said it “hurt” him here (placing hand over his heart) to throw away bread. (Of course, he was talking about good bread!)

    I hate seeing any ingredient wasted or mistreated – I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone to places to eat in the past few years that have been recommended highly that just weren’t that good and were sometimes nearly inedible.

    Assuming they have someone checking the boxes of product that come in for quality how can good food go so wrong? They don’t care because people keep buying it.

    • April 6, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

      yep…it is scary how some places seem to survive solely on their reputation or reviews from years ago. A restaurant can be destroying great food every night, but people still happily show up because of the positive history the place once earned on Zagat or something… often times “the sizzle” outweighs “the steak.”

  8. April 6, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    I hate getting salads with brown spots or pink edges

    • April 6, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      …or even sandwiches where the lettuce is so wilted and the color is so wrong that is destroys the whole meal.

      • April 9, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

        Ugh, yes! Don’t get me started on the use of iceberg lettuce…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Getting Crabs In All The Wrong Places… | Fed Up Food - April 20, 2012

    […] or crawfish dinners. And my reward for following my belly away from the regional cuisine: crappy food and crappy times stuck in the bathroom after the […]

  2. Kitchen Confusion | Fed Up Food - May 1, 2012

    […] Does Not Make Sense: Random  termaeliogy confuses the Hell out of me. For example, When does a shrimp get to be called “jumbo?” But I can look at a shrimp and decide if it is large enough […]

  3. Empty Bread Baskets and Naked Tables | Fed Up Food - June 6, 2012

    […] It has got to be getting bad, if we can’t cover our tables and allow them to go bare…what will the neighbors think? And bread baskets, were the ‘bread basket’ of many national restaurant chains. The only reason I ever went into an Olive Garden was for the bread. If they get rid of their “Unlimited Breadsticks” then they mine as well just give up. And what would Red Lobster be without its cheesy biscuits to lure our attention from their sub-par seafood? […]

  4. More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat | Fed Up Food - July 20, 2012

    […] in Louisiana, not Italy. Italians buying this vacuumed-sealed  stuff,  would be like  me buying frozen shrimp imported from half-way around the world, when in the next aisle over there is beautiful fresh […]

  5. Spicing Up Life | Fed Up Food - August 28, 2012

    […] Up Life It is AMAZING how crappy some food can taste. And there are MANY times when I have spent an afternoon preparing a meal for dinner that […]

  6. Terrible Truffle Tradegy | Fed Up Food - October 10, 2012

    […] these things stale? Were they ‘counterfeit‘ truffles used by cheap restaurants to dupe unassuming guests? I had to assume that the truffles that topped my dish were just flavorless leftovers that this […]

  7. Collecting Dust | Fed Up Food - October 17, 2012

    […] OPEN IT! Beside the fact that it is sure to be past its expiration date and probably taste nasty, you might  be able to sell it to some cereal or olympic addict for a bunch of cash. Share […]

  8. Sushi, ALWAYS a Best Bite | Fed Up Food - October 19, 2012

    […] (even when it’s bad…it’s still […]

Leave a Reply

