Pizza Perfected

I feel it would be a crime of selfishness if I did not share last night’s dinner with you. Damn it was tasty. It was so good that even the burps following the meal were enjoyable. Hell, I would not mind burping right now if it meant I got to be reminded of that glorious dinner.

After writing about the amazingness that is  Grayson cheese, I decided to make my favorite home-made meal: a flat-bread topped pizza. Grayson cheese is STRONG, VERY STRONG, and has a serious funk to it, and it melts GREAT; these are all quality traits I seek in a cheese to top a flavor packed pizza.

I have learned and perfected these flat-bread pizzas from frequent trial and error. I have come up with crazy combinations, that actually work really well together. My goat cheese-cottage cheese-red onion-broccoli-thyme combo would really surprise  you how tasty it is, and get you wondering why cottage cheese (and broccoli, and goat cheese and even thyme) are not staples of ALL pizza joints.

Grayson cheese + 2(vegetables) + other awesomeness = perfect pizza. ... I am not good at math, but this equation should lead to tasty results.

For this Grayson cheese pizza, I took the best aspects from my “stinky goodness pizza,” Gruyère cheese pizza and from the various other kitchen experiments to create something beautiful, smelly, and damn tasty:

A thin layer of crushed tomato, caramelized onions and yellow/red bell pepper, some mozzarella cheese, then sausage, followed by a layer of spinach, plenty of roasted broccoli and eggplant, some mushrooms, banana peppers, a few bits of jalapeno, the Grayson cheese and then some fresh basil along with some other seasonings. So there are a lot of vegetables, but they all add to the pizza in a unique way. Mushrooms help give texture, slow cooked onions and peppers offer sweetness, roasted broccoli provides a nice charred element, etc. Plus, vegetables are healthy, so shut up if you think I went overboard on the toppings.  You can always leave stuff out…or add more if you like. Whatever works for you.

Everything was pre-cooked, so once the pizza was all assembled, it was tossed in the trusty toaster oven, to get the cheese nice and melty.

Ok, there were a LOT of flavors here, but the strong flavor of the Grayson cheese worked perfectly with everything. This has got to be one of the single best meals I have made in a long, LONG time. The burps alone are still something worth dreaming about.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

22 Comments on “Pizza Perfected”

  1. Ben
    April 11, 2012 at 12:21 am #

    I just can’t follow you on this toaster oven odyssey you seem hell bent on travelling. There have been such leaps in oven technology. Pizza stones. Convection. Ovens with non burning exteriors. Hot rocks. The linen setting on an iron. All of these are improvements upon your trusted toaster oven.

    • April 11, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      Haha, I see your point Ben. In my defense I do use a pizza stone in my toaster oven. Plus my old toaster oven is actually lined with stones giving it the ability to cook kind of like a real pizza oven….BUT in all honesty, I am just loyal to the damn machine. It looks bad ass, and has a nice layer of grime that helps season my foods.

      I may have to try out the linen setting on the iron though. I love how random appliances can cook so well. I hear that steaming salmon in the dishwasher is a mighty tasty method of cooking.

  2. April 11, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    surprisingly, this pizza looks super healthy…i think it´s one of the few ways i’ll actually succumb to eating broccoli.

    • April 11, 2012 at 8:24 am #

      Yep it is vegetable packed and the thin flat-bread “crust” keeps it light.
      The roasted broccoli is AMAZING, it now tops half of my pizzas. It gets a nutty taste that goes great with many other cheeses as well (feta, pecorino Romano, Gruyere, Cheddar).

  3. April 11, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Now I’m hungry :o(

    • April 11, 2012 at 11:57 am #

      Yep…that is the problem with this site. Every time I write a comment or post something, I always follow up with a trip to the fridge.

  4. April 11, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Now that is an epic vegetable pizza. The next time you make it, take a pic from the side because I’d love to see how thick it is 🙂

    • April 11, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      Ha, YES IT WAS EPIC…to be honest I was about to take a side shot of it, but then I got embarrassed of how crazy it was. There was at least a 3 inch height to the thing due to the toppings. I thought people would then argue that it should not be called a pizza…but all the various topping meant that each bite was slightly different. Some had more mushrooms other plenty of basil, etc.

  5. May 6, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    Cooked Illustrated reviewed and recommended a toaster oven – the high heat and enclosed environment was determined to be helpful in certain situations. They even managed to convince Chris Kimble.

    Me, I’ll never succumb – it would be like getting a motorcycle when you already have a car. I’m just no fun that way! I’ve been wanting to try that salmon recipe – those 500 to a thousand dollar steaming machines that are becoming popular in resteraunts (and some homes) do the same thing.

    My brother made grilled cheese sandwiches with an iron while in college.

    • May 6, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      I am very loyal to my toaster oven, but I really like you analogy of a car to a motorcycle.

      Mrs. Fed Up has made grilled cheeses with an iron before too….then we got a high-end Krumps panini grill and we haven’t looked back.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weird Combo, Tasty Results | Fed Up Food - April 17, 2012

    […] here to see the extremes the Fed Up team goes to for a the perfect sweet potato experience. Or click here, to see what happens when I decide on making a pizza for dinner. So why my focus on Greek […]

  2. Kitchen Confusion | Fed Up Food - May 1, 2012

    […] to navigate. Whether you are ordering something at your favorite restaurant or cooking up something tasty at home, one little error on your part can lead to disastrous results. Unfortunately there are way […]

  3. Concurring Daemons: Beets Revisited | Fed Up Food - May 9, 2012

    […] Up fans know I like my flatbread pizza, so this of course was the meal chosen to help me make beets taste good. The beets were first cubed […]

  4. Eat Your Fungus | Fed Up Food - May 24, 2012

    […] porvide a nice meaty texture for dishes lacking any real meat. So if you want to save money (or calories) by opting out of typical proteins […]

  5. Food Creativity At 25,000 Feet | Fed Up Food - June 2, 2012

    […] you get stuck in a desperate situation, be confident with the knowledge that creativity can lead to tasty results. Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  6. Fiber Feast | Fed Up Food - July 22, 2012

    […] roasted broccoli develops a nutty taste and a charred textural element. The melted cheese seeps deep down  flavoring the entire sweet potato. This all works perfectly […]

  7. Craving Corn? | Fed Up Food - July 23, 2012

    […] if we could just figure out how to make a pizza  from scratch in the […]

  8. Pizza ‘Posers’ | Fed Up Food - August 8, 2012

    […] Keep pizza, and its glorious taste, to the real thing…STOP trying to make other perfectly tasty things, taste like pizza. MORE […]

  9. Natural Selection | Fed Up Food - August 22, 2012

    […] San Marzano Tomatoes. I have only ever seen them canned. These are supposed to be the perfect pizza tomato and are cherished by gourmet chefs world-wide. I have never tired them before because I am […]

  10. Best Bite of the Week | Fed Up Food - October 12, 2012

    […] to get some camera love and will be sure to elevate even the most mundane meals to higher levels of culinary perfection- anything photographed with such a nice background is going to seem like it would be worth making […]

  11. Toasting To Good Memories | Fed Up Food - November 9, 2012

    […] life and it has provided me years of faithful service. From making a simple sandwich to making the perfect pizza, this old friend of mine never disappointed and will be missed greatly (…despite the frequent […]

  12. Dining Danger | Fed Up Food - April 30, 2013

    […] BUT, it can also pose some serious pitfalls to the unprepared or ignorant. I am well versed in many of the side  effects of certain edible delicacies, yet often times I decide to just accept the consequences involved in order to make that perfect meal. […]

Leave a Reply

