Weird Combo, Tasty Results

Everybody likes peanut butter, except for those thousands of kids with peanut allergies. But peanut butter is generally enjoyed by all. From Thai stir-frys and  Indian curries  to American brown bag lunches and almost every airline imaginable,   peanuts whole and also in their mashed-up-form are found everywhere. Hell, they are even a staple in canine cuisine.

It may be one of the more expensive ways to get your yogurt-fix, but Fage has got to make some of the best tasting stuff out there.

I have been trying to make Greek yogurt even tastier. I very rarely am satisfied with a food until it has been doctored up to crazy levels of perfection. Just click here to see the extremes the Fed Up team goes to for a the perfect sweet potato experience. Or click here, to see what happens when I decide on making a pizza for dinner. So why my focus on Greek yogurt…am I too good for the American stuff? Does Dannon not earn any respect in my fridge? Is Yoplait to0 mundane for me? Nope, “regular” yogurt is fine by me (although I do HATE those damn Yoplait individual containers where it is IMPOSSIBLE to get all of the yogurt out). Greek yogurt simply has some advantages that come along with its higher price tag. First of all, it is the current trendy way to get your  probiotics on. It is what all the forward thinking hippies and hipsters eat leading it to become one of those Whole Foods staples. It really is one of the healthiest  types of yogurt out there due to its “all-naturalness” and by  featuring less sugar (if you get the plain stuff), and more protein. Plus it has a nice thick consistency, not found in your typical non-Greek yogurt. Oh, and it is damn tasty too.

Plain Greek yogurt on its own is already ranked pretty high up on the scoreboard for things I like to eat. BUT, the plain flavor stuff is really a beautiful blank slate where random ingredients can be (and SHOULD be) added to balance out the strong tartness often found. So, of course honey and fruit are common core combos for yogurt…but me, being the perfection-seeking, grub-obsessed-guy that I am, I needed to find something even better.

Plato may damn you to Hades, and Zeus might just throw some bolts of lightning in your direction, after seeing you desecrate their precious yogurt with peanut butter and some sweetener. But it is worth it. This combo tastes awesome.

Here is where you just have to trust me and take a leap of faith. Take some Greek Yogurt (I am a big fan of Fage 0% Plain), mix in some Splenda or  any old sweetener you want, then plop a nice heaping of peanut butter in the center. Seriously it is good, DAMN GOOD.

Take the risk, and try it. I know you may be scared of ruining a freaking expensive cup of yogurt (Greek yogurt sure is NOT cheap), but trust me. it is worth the risk.

Weird combo, but tasty results.

So here are a few reasons to try this combo out:

1:Greek yogurt with the peanut butter is actually a very  healthy snack, filled with important nutrients and protein. This combo is great after a workout or as something to much on between meals.

2.This PB-yogurt-combo is appetizing 24/7. In the morning or in the afternoon, it hits all the right taste notes by having the creamy tartness of the yogurt, the salty nuttiness from the PB, and of course your sweet tooth is happily satisfied from whatever sweetener you add in.

3. Oh, and as mentioned above, Greek yougurt is what all the cool-kids eat today. It is the “trendy” yogurt, and you don’t want to be one of THOSE losers who doesn’t know what cultural tradition was used as the basis to manufacture their cup of  bacteria-curdled-milk(yogurt for you unsophisticated halfwits out there).

So combine two foods that really don’t sound like they will go together, and just ignore the awkward stares from your friends and co-workers. It is worth it because it is tasty.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

38 Comments on “Weird Combo, Tasty Results”

  1. nerdthatruns
    April 17, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    Peanut butter and Greek yogurt is awesome. Throw in some honey with the two and you have it amazing….plus if u mix it well it tastes completely different than when there’s clumps of peanut butter….two different tastes, but two very awesome ones

    • April 17, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      Hey nerdthatruns, I have never actually mixed it all up. I usually just leave in in big dollops. But next time I will be sure to try that. THANKS!

      I am always looking to make food tastier.

  2. April 17, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    I love chocolate ice cream, fried shrimp and chocolate sauce together – YUM!

    • April 17, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

      ok. dude. Now THAT is weird…but I might need to try it.

      Actually, now that I think about it, that could work real well. Look at bacon being added to so many desserts right now. It gives desserts that salty/smoky/crunchy element.

      Thanks for sharing!

  3. April 17, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Never thought I would remotely think this would work….. But I am guessing, it rocks! I especially like the idea that yes even in the morning this is a great way to start the day. I often put PB on my bagel, toast, pita whatever! Greek yogurt is an amazing mixer. I just finished swirling it with garlic, lemon, shallots and cucumbers and a dollop of sour cream to use as a dipping sauce for lamb patties I made from leftover leg of lamb from this past weekend! Very versital stuff!

    • April 17, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      Ya, Greek yogurt is AMAZING in how many ways it can be used. I have even tied mixing it with cream cheese for a instant cheesecake kinda of this. It was ok, but not to the levels of awesomeness that is the PB/yogurt combo.
      I forgot how good greek yogurt is for dips. Your dip mix sounds tasty.

  4. Karen
    April 17, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    I like honey & walnuts. Try the Fage 2% = more awesome. Also, you can make your own Greek Yogurt: get ANY plain yogurt that does NOT have added gelatin, and strain it for 24 hours. Voila! Greek yogurt at less than 1/2 the price! Back in the 80’s, this was called yogurt cheese, and substituted for sour cream, cream cheese, etc. I got a yogurt strainer then, which is just a plastic cone/funnel with a mesh interior. You can just use a funnel lined with a coffee filter. I place the strainer in a pitcher, so the whey can drain, and cover the yogurt with plastic wrap. I definitely will add some PB next time.
    Karen

    • April 18, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      Wow, I never thought of making my own yogurt. I always want to save money! I also am a sucker for kitchen gizmos (damn you infomercials); so I really am going to keep my eyes open for an old
      yogurt strainer.”

  5. April 17, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    I actually put peanut butter and plain greek yogurt (or non-greek yogurt) in my smoothies and it is heavenly! 🙂

    • April 18, 2012 at 8:23 am #

      PB smoothie…never thought of it. I could easily see a PB/banana smoothie tasting amazing.

  6. April 18, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    Peanut butter in yogurt? Huh! I will have to try it out. I’m not a huge fan of Greek yogurt by itself and prefer it to be used in baking and such. It works really well in pumpkin pie if you want to sub the sour cream with something else. 😀
    Splenda?! Blasphemy!
    I’m right with you on not following original recipes

    • April 18, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

      Yep, when fall is back around I think I am going to just mix a tub of Greek yogurt, and can of pumpkin, and maybe some pancake syrup and then eat it straight up!

      and yes…I know many people hate Splenda…

      Oh, and glad to see I am not the only person who constantly adjusts recipes!

  7. Aubrey Migashkin
    April 18, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    That looks really good! I love Fage greek yogurt! 😀

    • April 18, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      Ya, I am really loyal to the stuff. I like some of the other brands, but Fage is always my first pick.

  8. April 20, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    I’m a peanut butter fan, I might just try that one out.
    BTW, what’s the peanut allergy nonsense these days? When I was growing up nobody had an allergy especially to peanut butter. Hey, wait a minute, maybe they were all dead already???

    • April 20, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

      Haha. It seems like every one is “allergic” to nuts, gluten, soy, lactose, and pretty much everything else. One day school cafeterias will only serve water…until an overprotective mother gets scared that her child will over-hydrate themselves.
      Seriously, try the PB greek yogurt combo. YOu could even mix in some jam to make is a PB and J cup of goodness.

  9. April 24, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Haha, I’ve tried this combo before, and I THINK they’ve also published this as a healthy snack on Seventeen Magazine…

    Yeah.. I know.. One of those teen magazines ACTUALLY got this right when they know nothing about food?! Maybe it’s like some weird, magical diet snack or something. I always add too much peanut butter to make it a low-fat option, sure, but if it’s good for you, then I’m all for using that as an excuse to eat as much peanut butter as I want! 😉

    • April 24, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

      Haha. your comment made me laugh so hard I woke the dog up. Ha. I always try to justify what I eat too.

  10. Amanda C
    April 26, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    I bet this is Amazing. I had the Peanut Butter frozen yogurt at Pinkberry last summer and loved it. They need to bring that flavor back, but in the mean time, this sounds like a good alternative.

    • April 26, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      YES! PB frozen yogurt rocks! A local place here sold PB flavored frozen yogurt and it was awesome. But the tartness of the Greek yogurt with the PB is a great combo….
      Oh, and are you the Amanda that kicked everyone’s butt in video games and was part of a particular pirate themed organization?

  11. April 27, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    I am NOT in agreement that Greek yogurt is tasty. What I use it for is as a sour cream substitute. For example, on my my extra lean turkey tacos with lots of hot sauce. The taste and combo is so great beyond imagination. I haven’t been able to enjoy the Greek yogurt on it’s own; too bland and soapy tasting but I do agree on the texture.

    Anyway, I am looking for new things to eat (way too much and highly needed exercise these days) oxy-ish?? I have the Fage- in the fridge, and I have PB. Will try this in a small lab testing size first – LOL!

    I also love Fage-0 greek yogurt on my steak. that is no joke!

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:45 am #

      Yes! Greek yogurt is A GREAT substitute for sour cream! I do agree COMPLETELY that it is not easy eating plain. I always add some Splenda or pancake syrup or even honey to my yogurt when eating if for breakfast. Of coure if you take some plain yogurt and have a BUNCH of berries mashed in there, then that works too.

      But seriously try the PB and Greek yogurt combo. Packed with protein and wonderful nutritional benefits. And of course…it is TASTY. For you, I really think you should add plenty of sweetener to help you overcome the tartness…maybe some strawberry jam added would be cool. Kind of like a PB&J combo.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It is OK to eat the ENTIRE pint | Fed Up Food - April 24, 2012

    […] try it. Pretty much everyone likes the taste of peanut butter, so I recommend you get a pint of the Chocolate Peanut Butter flavor first. You can find it at many […]

  2. This Is Something For EVERYONE | Fed Up Food - May 7, 2012

    […] but overall the taste was amazing.  This berry flavored granola went perfectly on top of some Greek yogurt and fresh fruit. While the chocolate granola definitely felt more like a dessert treat, the berry […]

  3. Powdered Peanut Butter Please | Fed Up Food - May 13, 2012

    […] but of course a simple sandwich with PB is pretty tasty too. If you think about it, pretty much everything is awesome with the addition of peanut […]

  4. The Proof Is In The Pudding | Fed Up Food - May 16, 2012

    […] believe desperation births creativity, and I was starting to get damn desperate for a tasty snack to entertain me during the dull hours of sitting in the jury […]

  5. Food Creativity At 25,000 Feet | Fed Up Food - June 2, 2012

    […] I am usually prepared with plenty of snacks and rations to keep me satisfied on these long flights, but on this particular trip my supplies were running low and I started to get scared. I thought back to my past creative creations produced during desperate times, and realized I could save myself from hunger with a new food combo. […]

  6. Expertise Used Tastefully | Fed Up Food - June 9, 2012

    […] list goes on and on: Cabot, known for their quality cheese makes Greek yogurt now. Jelly Belly makes tasty gummy bears in addition to their legendary beans. Frito-Lay, the […]

  7. I Love Impromptu! « Enter, Fitness! - June 23, 2012

    […] Weird Combo, Tasty Results (fedupfood.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterTumblrPinterestStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  8. Condiment Chaos | Fed Up Food - June 26, 2012

    […] you could have the perfectly manicured piece of bread. There was EVERYTHING including cream cheese, peanut butter, Nutella, and plenty of things I had never seen before. Many Asian countries also overwhelm the […]

  9. More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat | Fed Up Food - July 20, 2012

    […] to grab a couple of  foods for myself. I love yogurt each morning, and I especially go for Greek yogurt whenever possible. I generally prefer plain Greek yogurt, but I found a flavored option from Fage […]

  10. The Secret Swiss Cereal | Fed Up Food - August 4, 2012

    […] in America. The cereal selection is crazy-awesome! There are options to meet everyone’s taste, health, and even budget preferences. Who doesn’t love browsing the cereal aisle?!? […]

  11. Pizza ‘Posers’ | Fed Up Food - August 8, 2012

    […] is nothing wrong with creative flavors combos or paring unlikely foods together to make amazing new things. ‘BBQ’ is a legitimate […]

  12. Quality Consumption from Friends of Fed Up | Fed Up Food - August 17, 2012

    […] Food Dude, just spent the ENTIRE week reviewing yogurt products. You know how much I like my yogurt, and found Crazy Food Dude’s reviews VERY helpful for planning my next attack on our local […]

  13. It’s OK to be a Squirrel | Fed Up Food - September 27, 2012

    […] tasty snacks which combine random foods and fresh ingredients that all can result in new favorites. Here are some examples of the snacks that keep the Fed Up team satisfied no matter where in the […]

  14. Face the Flax | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2013

    […] the flax. It was enjoyable but definitely needed something sweet to make it work. So I topped some yogurt and berries with the stuff and found I had made a freaking awesome breakfast!As a bonus, Enjoy […]

  15. Food Fight | Fed Up Food - May 3, 2013

    […] People need to just feed their face and stay shut-up about it. If someone asks why you are an American following the ‘Mediterranean Diet’ or why you avoid foods-with-a-face, then you should share your food philosophy. Otherwise keep your subsistence sermons to yourself and stop looking in disgust at me as I happily much on the random crap I call lunch. […]

  16. Food Flop | Fed Up Food - May 21, 2013

    […] are times when nasty-sounding food combinations end up becoming your favorite recipes. But then there are those things that sound perfect in principle, but in reality end up being food […]

Leave a Reply

