Getting Crabs In All The Wrong Places…

You are taking a risk if you walk into some hippie-veagan restaurant that only serves gluten and nut free foods, and then request A Texas t-bone with a slice of pecan pie for dessert.  The waiter may bring SOMETHING out, but it likely won’t be tasty.

Now… Getting crabs, crawfish, or any crustacean in the middle of a mountain range, thousands of miles away from the water is usually a stupid decision. Eating crawfish outside of Louisiana, is like getting sushi in the Serengeti. It does not make sense. Not one bit. What kind of rich jackass goes on a safari in the middle of Africa, and then requests sushi after a day of sightseeing? That is just stupid (unless it is some sort of endangered rhino roll or Iron Chef Morimoto is working that night).

And who the Hell visits a seafood joint in Colorado when they are a proud native of the swamps of Louisiana?  That would be Fed Up’s newest contributor, the Angry Eater.

The Fed Up team’s newest contributor, the Angry Eater, just managed to stumble upon a place in the middle of Denver that served up some decent crab and Cajun crawfish.

The Angry Eater, is not one for sharing…and will probably get pissed at me for posting this, but screw it…Good  crawfish actually does exist outside of Louisiana; and people need to be informed when it is ok to get crabs.

Judging by how NOTHING is left but a big mess and the few remains of massacred crustaceans, I am betting that this was a damn decent meal.

Apparently “The Asian Cajun” in Denver serves decent grub. This place justifies going against the commonly held belief of avoiding seafood when there is no sea in sight.

This got me thinking…how many times have I dodged the lobster, the crab,  or the Mahi Mahi on menus while visiting the mountains? Have I been missing out on potentially tasty seafood dishes in favor of bland chicken just because I knew it was the “safe” option???

NO…I have NOT.

Order boring chicken when ANY seafood is on the menu? NEVER! I follow the most reliable source of guidance any man has; His GUT INSTINCT.

I have neglected basic intelligence many, MANY times to only follow what my stomach craves.  Hell, I have ordered the “fresh” fish while in the remote mountains of Russia, and I have demanded sashimi while skiing.  And so NO, I have not missed out on any good crabs or crawfish dinners. And my reward for following my belly away from the regional cuisine: crappy food and crappy times stuck in the bathroom after the dinner.

There is a time and a place for seafood. Reserve the crab and crawfish boils for when you are by the bayou or close to the coast.  But when you do find a rare gem in an unlikely region that can dish out some damn good seafood, THEN STUFF YOUR FACE (and hope someone else is picking up the check).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Getting Crabs In All The Wrong Places…”

  1. April 20, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    Loving your post – have a great weekend!

    • April 20, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      I really liked the title for this one. Ha.
      You also have a GREAT WEEKEND. Get some good food…maybe get some crabs.

  2. Dana
    June 12, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    You know, some of us live in these mountains and don’t have the money to fly to a coast if we want fresh sushi. I understand that you’re mostly talking about when you travel, but still, condemning my food choices because of where I live is idiotic.
    BTW, I’ve had plenty of the regional cuisine while I’ve been here. And if you’re ordering king or snow crab anywhere outside of Alaska, I’d bet they’ve been cooked and frozen. Only in Alaska do you have half a chance of getting fresh snow or king crab.

  3. June 13, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Hi Dana, I really do apologize if my rants bothered you. Fed Up is not supposed to be taken TOO seriously.

    I just find it funny when you find unexpectedly good meals in places that just seem awaked for them. BUT the world is getting alot smaller and you can find ANYTHING anywhere now. I have been fortunate to travel alot and eaten meals with ingredients that were sourced nearby…those were really tasty meals…. BUT I have also had AMAZING fish in the mountains and sushi in the dessert.
    I do agree with you and hope you keep reading Fed Up.

    Ok. now I am hungry…I am off to go buy some vaccum-sealed frozen snow crab from the local grocery store…and YEP, it is going to be DAMN TASTY!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat | Fed Up Food - July 20, 2012

    […] his product category from rice to condiments, but also change ethnicity… To me it feels wrong for Italians to purchase processed bags of ‘pizza’ cheese when each region here seems […]

  2. Moist Towelette; You Annoy Me | Fed Up Food - October 1, 2012

    […] of messy feasting, our table was left with nothing but a bowl filled with shells and a few random crab limbs scattered on the table. We were all covered from the crab-carnage; the smell of the ocean infused […]

  3. Cracking Open A Secret Seafood Tool | Fed Up Food - October 15, 2012

    […] At a young age, when most were craving chicken nuggets,  the Angry Eater was ordering snow crab whenever possible. Through years of careful practice, he could rip apart the tough shell of snow crab and get […]

Leave a Reply

