It is OK to eat the ENTIRE pint

You, know those times you sit down to watch some TV with a full pint of ice cream and then by the time the first commercial interrupts your show, you realize you ate the full pint… And then, after glancing at the nutritional label on the side and seeing that there are actually 4 “servings” inside that tiny pint, you say to yourself: “DAMN, I am a fat-ass.”

Maybe this is not you, maybe you have more self-control than me. Or maybe you are one of the few people in the world who does not like ice cream. But I am constantly getting angry when I start munching on something only to find that what I am eating in “supposed” to be a multi-serving-product. I am fed up with these “individual” pouches of snacks that the manufacture claims to contain several “portions.” I seriously doubt those bags of chips that come as a side with EVERY sandwich, are consumed in multiple sittings. No one actually opens a bag, takes a few handfuls and then seals the bag up to snack on later in the day. You would get like three chips from each serving. The same goes for a bottle of soda. From the nutritional facts and suggested-serving label on the side of each bottle, you would think the majority of people drink Coke in tiny glasses, as if was a shot of tequila.

Ok...we have found the perfect pint...and now I think we also have an addiction problem. We know our addiction has gotten a little extreme when we started throwing out perfectly good frozen broccoli just to make a little extra space for our Arctic Zero stash.

According to various articles, there is some FDA regulation involved with serving sizes. But as we all know, rules and guidelines can easily be broken. Often times, serving sizes are screwed with by the manufactures in order to make the item look healthier. Yes, that ice cream could be labeled “low-fat,” but NO ONE is going to eat just a single spoonful for a serving. Of course a single spoonful can be  labeled as low-fat, because it is such a low-quantity of food.  Suggested serving sizes for cereal, always piss me off  too. A typical box of cereal may state on the side that the box contains 10-11 servings. Haha. I guess I am just a fat-ass, because I usually eat the entire box in the span of 3-4 mornings (especially the highly addictive cereals). So maybe I am just somebody who has lost ALL sense of what “proper” portion control is…but, I don’t think I am alone in this. I am pretty sure that there are quite a few other people who finish off a pint of ice cream in a single go, or chop through a full bag of chips with their turkey sandwich at lunch time.  I think we can also blame “super sized” portions and meal options sold at so many restaurants. If you were raised with a “Happy Meal” that included 20 chicken nuggets and a mountain of fries, than the dietitian  “recommended” three-to-six ounces of grilled chicken and single cup of potatoes will look pretty depressing.

BUT THERE IS HOPE…

So people keep up coming up to me and asking…”Mr. Fed Up, you are so buff, and athletic. And you are tall, have great teeth and you are just so damn funny. What is your secret?” Ok, nobody asks me that stuff. I am not muscular, I am no olympian, I am short, have crappy teeth and really am not that funny at all, just opinionated.  BUT…Many people have heard rumors of the Fed Up household’s passion for a certain frozen treat that is FREAKING HEALTHY.

My life has gotten so much tastier when we discovered this ice cream. It is frozen perfection.

Few things in this world can compare to the perfection of a freshly opened container of Arctic Zero. The untouched surface of the ice cream parallels the beautiful waters of a calm lake...Ok, that was a little too poetic for me...This stuff is good, DAMN GOOD!

With Arctic Zero, it is ok to be a fat-ass like me and eat an ENTIRE pint in a single sitting. IN FACT, it is assumed you will want to eat the full pint. The label on the outside of the container PROUDLY displays how the ENTIRE pint has just 150 calories. Then you see it is “Lactose Intolerant Friendly,”… AND FAT FREE, AND  GLUTEN FREE…So then you probably think to yourself, “is this stuff taste-free too?”

So Arctic Zero on its own is AMAZING!, But if you want to take it a step further, try this tasty combo: The Chocolate Peanut Butter flavor Arctic Zero ice cream topped with some caramel (I use sugar-free stuff). You have now just created Snickers ice cream.

I am happy to say this stuff is everything and more than you can imagine. Ok, it IS NOT ice cream, and people looking for an exact duplicate of a full-fat bowl of Ben and Jerry’s may be disappointed.  BUT for something that is fat-free and so low in calories, you would never belive how good this stuff is. For me, it is MORE than a decent substitute for regular ice cream. In fact, after eating Arctic Zero, I have no reason to ever step into a Baskin Robbins, or grab some Haagen-Dazs. Why eat something that comes with so much baggage, when an alternative exists that truly satisfies me just as much.  I would even be so bold as to say that Arctic Zero tastes better than many of the frozen desserts I have tried before. This is because of the BEAUTIFUL FLAVORS that the Arctic Zero guys have created. The mint reminds me of the Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookies, the Vanille Maple flavor is truly flavor-filled and always hits my sweet tooth. Of course the plain chocolate is great too (Mrs. Fed Up’s favorite), but for me, the chocolate  Peanut Butter flavor is king! I have no idea how they can make a fat-free PB flavored ice cream taste this damn good. But the Arctic Zero guys have done it. They are flavor geniuses.

Oh, The Fed Up crew has some insider info on Arctic Zero…apparently they are going to be making this stuff even creamier. You have to love a company that already has a winner, but then wants to raise the bar EVEN higher!

So try it. Pretty much everyone likes the taste of peanut butter, so I recommend you get a pint of the Chocolate Peanut Butter flavor first. You can find it at many Whole Foods. You won’t be disappointed with Arctic Zero or YOURSELF, after you eat the entire pint in a SINGLE sitting.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

25 Comments on “It is OK to eat the ENTIRE pint”

  1. April 24, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Just last night a friend told me that he practically cried when he found out that his normal bowl of breakfast cerial was four entire servings. He wasn’t happy about that.

    As for the Ice Cream substitute, how much sugar is in it?

    • April 24, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

      Yep. Breakfast cereal serving sizes are really depressing.

      Here is the link to the nutritional info:
      http://www.myarcticzero.com/nutritionfacts.php
      Honestly though, this stuff is really all natural and uses no artificial sweeteners. It is sold at Whole Foods and now many regional grocery store chains as well. YOU HAVE GOT TO TRY IT. It really is good.

  2. April 24, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    Peanut butter…ice cream (ish)…I’m sold!

    • April 24, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      Dude, You HAVE to try it. The PB flavor is my favorite. And I top it off with some Walden Farms Caramel and suddenly you have a “Snickers” dessert that tastes amazingly decadent but is actually low calorie and fat free.

    • April 24, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      I love peanut butter… peanut butter on a spoon, peanut butter cereal… peanut butter ice cream is just as AWESOME!!

  3. April 24, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    I had to laugh at your cereal serving size comment… my son pours his own bowl of cereal every morning and he fills the ENTIRE bowl! He is 11 and LOVES his cereal. We go through cereal like the world will end tomorrow and you MUST eat your last bowl of cereal NOW, thank GOODNESS Kellogg’s is right down the street – yup it is made here in MI – otherwise we might be in trouble, and a certain 11 year old might starve!! The true serving size is astounding however… I agree with you, who measures their cereal each morning. (I am sure there are a select few, but the remainder of people just dump and eat) I am glad you have found an ice cream that lets you EAT IT ALL!!!!

    • April 24, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      Haha.

      You are very VERY lucky to be living next door to cereal heaven. I am definitely a cereal “dumper” in the morning. You should see how quickly I go through my favorites.

      And I find a good use for cereal outside of the typical milk bowl…I love Arctic Zero’s Maple Vanilla flavor topped with crushed Cornflakes, some honey and some cinnamon. You have to try this combo!

  4. April 24, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    I will have to give this a shot! I am addicted to So Delicious coconut milk icecream:) it is amazing! Then I make homemade peanut butter hot fudge sauce! Yum!

    • April 24, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

      That sounds good. BUT YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS SUFF. If you like peanut butter, the Choc PB flavor is amazing! But your homemade PB hot fudge would probably make anything taste damn good!
      Thanks for reading!

  5. April 25, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    At what stores can you find it? I’m certainly intrigued!

    • April 25, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

      Hey, Check out the store locator on their website…BUT,
      Many places can easily bring it in. I managed to get Whole Foods, plus 4 regional stores to stock it. Whole Foods actually has a VERY easy time getting it in, and if they won’t stock it, then they will happily special order a case (8 pints) for you if you speak with a grocery manager…AND, if you order a case you get a 10% discount from Whole Foods!

      I know more and more grocery store chains either are stocking it now or soon will be. And many can bring it in as Arctic Zero is sold though the big natural food distributors who supply many of the regional grocery store chains.

  6. April 25, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    You don’t have an Arctic Zero addiction, do you? 😉
    It sounds good though. I was impressed with their ingredients and made a mental note to try it sometime

    • April 25, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      It is sold in Whole Foods, so their ingredients need to meet the high standards Whole Foods requires. …and yes, BOTH me and Mrs. Fed Up are serious addicts.

  7. CJ
    April 26, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    My draw to it aside from all the other benefits is that it’s packed with whey protein and fiber. Nothing quite like eating it at 10 o’clock at night while watching a movie and still seeing my abs the next morning. Can your ice cream do that? lol

    • April 26, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

      Ha. Yes, this is pretty much the best tasting protein shake I have every tried.

  8. April 26, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    There is no such thing as too much ice cream.

    • April 26, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

      The only problem is when your freezer is ALREADY full of ice cream…then you just have to start eating and make some room.

      Or buy a new freezer. The Fed Up household is seriously considering a second freezer just to hold our Arctic Zero stash.

      • April 26, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

        Freezer already full of ice cream??? You need help. Tell me where you live, I’ll try to get there asap!

      • April 26, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

        haha…I think we can handle it. But thanks for the offer

  9. April 30, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Got some Maple Vanilla Arctic Zero last night. It is pretty decent but I probably won’t be trying it again soon since it is pretty darned expensive. I wanted to try the Chocolate PB flavor but they were all out. I am not addicted to ice cream though (like my parents are) so I’ll probably stick with the occasional 1.5qt of regular ice cream once in a great while.

    • April 30, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

      Hi elangomatt,
      I am glad you tried it. The choc PB flavor is by far my favorite, but I am glad you liked the Maple Vanilla. As long as you are not directly comparing it to a full fat regular ice cream, I think this stuff is pretty amazing. I do agree though that it is on the more expensive side for a single pint of ice cream….but while this may cost you financially more than a pint of Haggen Daz, it definitely will cost you less in time having to be spent at the gym.

      Plus, don’t forget you can get a case discount. But check out other retailers in your area, You will be surprised how many places are starting to carry the stuff. There is a store locator on the company’s website.

  10. Jenn
    May 2, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Have you had the cookies & cream flavor? I’ve only had a few of the flavors, but that one’s my favorite so far! It’s a bit expensive for a student, but I say it’s worth the occasional splurge.

    • May 3, 2012 at 6:31 am #

      I have had all the flavors. The cookies and cream flavor is definitely one of my tops. and during the holidays, the Pumpkin flavor is very good too.

      Pint for pint, it is not that much more expensive when you compare it to a premium full fat brand like Ben and Jerry’s. Plus, it costs you a Lot LESS time at the gym. We actually found out that is was cheaper for my wife and I to have an ice-cream-date-night at our house, then going to a frozen yogurt shop or ice cream place….but when we were both students, ANYTHING not from the campus cafeteria was a splurge for us.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Powdered Peanut Butter Please | Fed Up Food - May 13, 2012

    […] unfortunate enough to be cursed with a peanut allergy). I personally love peanut butter flavored ice cream, but of course a simple sandwich with PB is pretty tasty too. If you think about it, pretty much […]

Leave a Reply

