Seeing Red

I have a very serious announcement for Fed Up fans…

I pissed red…that is never a good thing.

I have been spazzing out. Searching to find out what the Hell is wrong with me. I am a good guy…a little cranky, and highly opinionated, but a good guy overall. Why does crap like this happen to me? What did I do to deserve this(besides blaming Canada for a few things and making fun of Korean food)?

I hoped it was just a one time thing…but no, second piss of the day, and more red.

I was really starting to get nervous.

Peeing red was starting to really freak me out. Dozer, the Fed Up dog, was very concerned.

So I decided to give myself a day and accept the red piss. I figured that after 24 hours, I would be fine and the beautiful yellow tint I am so familiar with, would once again show up in my beloved toilet bowl.

NOPE… 24 hours later and I am peeing an even darker shade of red. Ok, I am already a nervous fool even when everything is normal,  and now I was REALLY starting to get very scared.

Then a rumbling in bowels told me it was time to poop. I don’t want to get into any more details than necessary, but poop is not supposed to be red. It was one thing for me to have some slightly red colored pee, but to see a bright red “log” floating in the toilet was too much for me.

I tried to think if I felt sick, or if I had somehow injured myself. I simply could not think of anything that could have led to the sight I kept staring at in the toilet bowl.

I decided that it would be best for me to take my mind off of things and try to clean the dirty dishes that  I had been neglecting. I had been playing a game of “Jenga” with them and finally I had gotten to the point where the next plate I would add, would result in my “Jenga” tower toppling. I started to scrub the cutting bord first and began getting real pissed as the stains would not come out. A bright red tinge seemed to be permanently faded into the cutting board surface. That’s when I realized it…those beets. Those DAMN BEETS.I had never had a beet before, and decided to try them for the first time on Pizza the other night.  I had no idea what I was doing and the pizza came out a mess, along with EVERY thing the juicy red beets touched.

I looked online, and immediately confirmed the culprit of my red pee. Beets have been known to do this.

There are plenty of foods that screw with your digestive system. Some make your urine smell far worse, others make your stools rock solid, and of course some stuff turns your toilet bowl interesting colors.

I am ok now and happy to see things returning to normal. But I am fed up with foods I had already eaten, just unexpectedly showing up with crazy side effects. I wish we could just enjoy a good meal and not get any stupid surprises  that scare the “piss” out of us.

Damn beets.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

31 Comments on “Seeing Red”

  1. May 2, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    haha, I had that experience when I was six … thought I was going to die, but after I discovered the culprit beets, I looked forward to turning my pee red from time to time, haha. My favorite soup is a beet soup, lots of beets, super yummi and good too 🙂

    • May 3, 2012 at 6:27 am #

      When I was a kid, I remember being horrified at green poop because of the flavoring from spearmint snowballs!

      Beet soup sounds good. I had never eaten beets before, and I liked them. I just need to learn how to cook them properly.

      • May 3, 2012 at 8:18 am #

        I have yet to post a ‘how to’ on that soup 🙂 but I will in time, being a hearty fall/winter kind of build.

      • May 3, 2012 at 11:42 am #

        looking forward to it….but not the unavoidable color changes-ha

  2. May 2, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    wow, didn’t know that could happen. i love beets but never had that experience. crazy!

    • May 3, 2012 at 6:28 am #

      To be honest, I at ALOT of beets that night.

  3. May 3, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    I remember the first time I had beets as well. I was a little shocked after using the bathroom. Funny, even to this day I get that quick, what is wrong feeling, when I see the color change even though I know I ate beets.

  4. May 3, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    Ok so I don’t know how if I am afraid to eat beets or if I’ll still give them a try?? 😉

    • May 3, 2012 at 11:42 am #

      try em…just be prepared.

      • May 3, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

        yes we might need to have the “red pee/poo” convo as a family PRIOR to eating any! 😉

      • May 3, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

        haha. I bet is would be a fun family dinner conversation!

      • May 3, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

        it would make an interesting convo… and we have had our share of interesting!!

  5. May 3, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    That is so funny! Very funny. And I know how scary that was for you! I had a similar experience — with pee, not the other when I p’d an orange red. I even called a friend who was a nurse and she said, that was odd, I should call my doctor. THEN cleaning the counter I found a loose vitamin pill that had gotten wet. Saw the color, did the math — It was the dye in the vitamin!

    And recently, I started taking a different vitamin that makes me pee fluorescent yellow/green!

    • May 3, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      Wow, I would never have thought a tiny pill could do that…glad you liked the post!

  6. May 3, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    Glad you’re going to live.

    • May 3, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      I don’t know if I will ever eat beets again.

  7. May 3, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    Wow.. I never knew that! I actually thought for a second that something WAS wrong with you! (no offense)

    I’ve had beets before, but that’s never happened to me. Maybe that’s because I don’t really like beets, though, so I’ve never had enough to affect my.. Stools. Haha!

    I might just try them out now, though! Just to see if that happens. I’m still at that age where weird stuff like that attracts my interest. 😀

    • May 3, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      Haha. Well you might find it entertaining. Ha

      But for me it was a traumatic experience. I think I will be avoiding beets for a little while.

  8. May 5, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    Too funny. My son went on a crunch berry spree as a toddler and pooped bright green for days. 🙂

    • May 5, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Haha. I did not know Crunch Berries had that power.

  9. May 6, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    I love beets, and have eaten them all my life, and then this happened to me – I went to the Doc – he thought I was a fruitcake…

    • May 6, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

      I am now prepared for the next time I eat beets (probably tomorrow).

  10. May 8, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    HAAHA this made me laugh really really hard. BEETS! Just the damned beets haha

    • May 8, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      I am glad you got a good laugh at my “traumatic” experience.

      But I just had another dose of beets last night (I needed to prove to myself that I could make these things taste damn good). I am thinking about posting my crazy beet creation….but yes, the toilet bowl is ALREADY red again from last night’s tasty meal.

      • May 8, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

        I used to eat a lot of beets when I was a kid… not so much anymore.

        You should post your crazy beet creation! I’d like to try my hand at it and see how it turns out! 🙂

      • May 8, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

        Ok… I plan to post the meal….it will have to be titled “Beets Revisited” or something

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Concurring Daemons: Beets Revisited | Fed Up Food - May 9, 2012

    […] Daemons: Beets Revisited After my traumatic experience with beets the first time I ate them, I decided I had to give beets a second chance. While they […]

  2. Best Bite of the Week | Fed Up Food - October 12, 2012

    […] is going to seem like it would be worth making yourself, even if it means you might ‘see red‘.  Also, I want to begin sharing my ‘Best Bite’ of the week, where you get to […]

  3. Vote With Your Stomach | Fed Up Food - November 6, 2012

    […] Innocent Americans are being caught off-guard by the dangerous side-effects of foods like beets and […]

  4. BBBBest Bite | Fed Up Food - December 9, 2012

    […] mixture, it went especially well. So ignore the lies about brussels sprouts, be prepared for the beet side effects, and give this combo a […]

  5. Dining Danger | Fed Up Food - April 30, 2013

    […] beets once again reminded me of their daemons when I went to the restroom the next morning and saw red in the toilet […]

Leave a Reply

