Gotta Have My Pops?

In 2011, a terrifying rumor spread though the online world. Kellogg’s Corn Pops were getting discontinued.

WTF. Corn Pops are a staple of the American diet. Ok, I admit they are not as ‘snazzy’ as some of the crazy new cereal creations out there. Over-the-top giants like Reese’s Puffs and Cookie Crisp make the humble puffed corn cereal look mundane. Corn Pops do not stand a chance when competing with cereal that is literally branding itself as candy.  And then there are cereals that have more flavors to choose from, then there are items on a Cheesecake Factory menu. Both Honey Bunches of Oats and even Cheerios are guilty of flooding the store shelves with  new flavors; while Corn Pops remains to be only offered in its simple, pure, original form of sweetened corn.

How are you going to fill that empty spot on your cereal shelf and in your soul, if your favorite cereal gets discontinued?

So unfortunately it would make sad sense that this tough, competitive, cereal marketplace  could result in a Corn Pops-less world, leaving dedicated fans wondering if they really do “gotta have their Pops?

Before you go to WalMart and buy several cases of Corn Pops, or threaten to sue Kellogg’s for discontinuing a cereal ledgened, know that Corn Pops are not going anywhere …for now. I am sure they will be on cereal shelves for longer than it takes processed cheese to go bad. Online a person got a response from Kellogg’s that discounted the rumor and simply said if anything was going to happen, Corn Pops distribution might be slightly decreased; that is it.

Personally I think Corn Pops were decent when I was a kid, however I am far happier now with my Pecan Honey Bunches of Oates or some amazing granola. But still Corn Pops were a big part of my life growing up and I would miss them if they ever did get discontinued. So there would be a morning of mourning, with a few spoonfuls of silence for the fallen cereal from my childhood, and then I would move on.

But then I started thinking…what if a childhood favorite of mine would ACTUALLY suddenly disappear from stores to never be seen again? The cereal world is a crazy one, where there is a constant stream of new boxes hitting shelves, each trying to out-do the next with some gimmicky flavor or a creative concept. While Jumbo Rice Kirspies were short-lived, I still am pissed that they were so ruthlessly taken away from us. And then there was the French Toast Crunch cereal, which itself seemed decadent and outrageous enough to live forever. But nope, it is gone too….damn “Big-Cereal,” I loved those toast-shaped pieces of breakfast-bowl- perfection.

It is bad enough that cereal boxes today are soulless and are now just billboards for other product promotions, but when they start taking away bits of our childhood, then they have gone too far. I think I may end up in a severe state of depression if one of my personal childhood favorites was killed off.

So…maybe you  REALLY should go stock up on your favorite cereal, because you never know if it is next in line to get chopped.

But for right now, I say we all give a moment of silence for those greats from our cereal past, that have already fallen from glory and did not make the immortal cut. Good bye beloved French Toast Crunch, so long  Oreo O’s, and we will always miss you Jumbo Rice Krispies. Tomorrow when you sit down with your breakfast, try to avoid pouring a bowl of “snap, crackle, and pop,” so that you can have a few spoonfuls of respectful silence in remembrance of the discontinued.

Enjoy your cereal favorites today, because “Tony the Tiger” and “Toucan Sam” may one day be extinct.

Have any cereals been removed from your world leaving both you and your breakfast-bowl empty?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Gotta Have My Pops?”

  1. May 11, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    I have not eaten Corn Pops in ages and another cereal I liked to eat back in the day was Honeycombs. Have a Great Weekend!

    • May 11, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

      “ME WANT HONEYCOMB!!!” I forgot how good that cereal (and TV commercial) was. I used to eat that stuff all the time too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seriously Sad Cereal | Fed Up Food - May 20, 2012

    […] eats his own poop). So the box of Cookie Crisp was tossed out and from now on I am sticking to my reliable cereals, damn good granola, and the crack of breakfast foods: Honey Bunches of Oates….until I get […]

  2. More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat | Fed Up Food - July 20, 2012

    […] to check out the Italian cereal aisle. I came across a disappointingly small selection of your stereotypical Kellogg’s options. BUT…there were a few gems worth checking out. I thought this overly decadent Nesquik cereal […]

  3. Rotten Luck | Fed Up Food - July 24, 2012

    […] on doughnuts, and eggs are essential for many. For a long time I needed Corn Flakes or another Kellogg’s creation to start my day, and then my palate got a little more demanding… Nothing like the sight of […]

  4. The Secret Swiss Cereal | Fed Up Food - August 4, 2012

    […] with whatever Europeans are offering to fill my breakfast bowl with. I typical resort to old staples, that while always decent, they never live up to some of the great finds I spoil myself with at […]

  5. Cereal Simplicity | Fed Up Food - November 20, 2012

    […] are many cereals to drool over…there are the classics and then there are crazy international creations. And we all have our own cereal […]

  6. Cereal Supper | Fed Up Food - December 7, 2012

    […] crazy….but that is not a bad thing. From granola, to exotic foreign stuff to muesli and the classics, there is always something to fit your mood. So you can NEVER get bored with the stuff. And we even […]

Leave a Reply

