Replacing Family Photos With Pizza Potraits

As summer is fully here in the hot state of Louisiana, I decide I needed to make one last “cold-weather” inspired pizza. It was so good I had to take a picture of its “layers” so that I could remember just how to make it in the fall.  While adding the image to my iPhone’s photo library, I realized I have more pictures of the meals I have made, then of my friends or family! Is this pathetic or just passionate?

I had to take an image of this beautiful dish and its “layers;” alfredo sauce, caramelized onions, cream cheese, brussels sprouts, mushrooms, roasted garlic, turkey, rosemary, Gruyère cheese, dried shallots and some black pepper. A perfect combination that rivals my other favorite Gruyère cheese pizza.

Food can truly be a beautiful thing. And as I made this tasty dish, I just thought to myself, “this really needs to be my desktop’s wallpaper; this pizza is so much more picturesque than that stupid landscape of the sun rising over the mountains.”

I have commented before on the beauty of pizzas, and how sushi is more art than entrée. I am just never bored with beautiful food photography.

I suddenly started a questioning if my whole world was skewed incorrectly…Is it ok that there is a bigger percentage of my cell phone’s memory dedicated to pizza than to my wife? Even Dozer, my trusty kitchen sidekick is given less digital space than dinners being pulled from my trusty toaster oven.  Am I some sort of sick, food fanatic, who has lost all sense of priorities? Maybe…

The glorious, picture-perfect moment when you first pull a gorgeous pizza out of the toaster oven.

But this intense obsession with food can’t just be something that I am infected with. There are multiple television shows purely dedicated to the world of food. Major broadcast networks like “Fox,” proudly promote their cooking-based creations like “Master Chef” or “Hell’s Kitchen.” Food related shows even have dominate time-slots on numerous other cable channels like Bravo and the Travel Channel. Hell, there are several series focusing JUST on food served from vehicles!?!  And of course there is more than one television channel solely dedicated to all things food. Then there are the libraries that are filled with tasty literature ranging from standard cookbooks, to emotional food-based memoirs. Oh, and just try to buy a pack of gum from a convince store without being bombarded by cooking periodicals. The newsstands are filled with monthly magazines that include everything from publications preaching how to eat cook healthier, to in-depth descriptions on how to fry everything. Chefs have now become celebrities, with the star-power to rival Oscar winners. The current generation of kids dream just as much about being the next foot ball MVP, as they do of being Bobby Flays or Rachel Rays. Ever see the movie “Ratatouille?” You know food is officially cool and that it has hit the “main-stream,” when even Disney is making films on the subject.

So…Am I sick? Have I allowed food to move off the dinning room table and into an unhealthy position where it persistently preoccupies my life? Well, I could blame the majors networks and all the food media…but I won’t. Instead I will thank them for making every day tastier.

Much like sports and politics, the world of food is now a common part of our culture that entertains our minds and enhances our meals. So just accept it, and realize that while you  too may  have more photos of your food than of your family, there is a high likelihood that so does your spouse.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Rants, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

24 Comments on “Replacing Family Photos With Pizza Potraits”

  1. May 14, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    yum yum, gimme some!

    • May 14, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      Sorry, you gotta make your own. I suck at sharing food. ha

  2. May 14, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    You are not sick at all…enlightened is more like it…

    • May 15, 2012 at 9:11 am #

      thank you. I have never been called “enlightened” before!

  3. May 15, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    Food photos are more interesting than baby photos any day. But dog photos are the best, really. Next to cats, who own the internet.

    • May 15, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      Haha…cats do seem to be owning the internet currently.

  4. May 15, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    I love food pictures…whether it be stylish bento or sushi pictures or just plain mouthwatering photos such as your pizza.

    • May 15, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

      Pizza photos are nice, but there is just something special about sushi…even bad sushi looks good in pictures.

  5. May 16, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Hi Mr Fed Up – I am making this pizza for dinner tonight and would like to share your picture in my blog, if that’s ok?

    • May 16, 2012 at 9:11 am #

      completely ok! Just link back if that is cool. Enjoy the pizza! Good gruyere cheese is key, and I would reccomend cooking all the vegetables before you assemble the dish. This way everything gets cooked fully, and you don’t get a mushy crust from mositure leaving raw vegetables.

  6. May 20, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    I recently realized that I had taken around fourteen hundred food photographs – and about a hundred of my family – I might need a 12 step program!

    • May 20, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

      Haha…I am glad to see I am not alone!

  7. May 20, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Oh my freaking goodness.. That pizza looks delicious!

    By the way, you’re not the only one whose media library is basically taken up by pictures of food. My life right now basically revolves around food and just like you, I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing. It’s a tasty thing, but you just can’t be sure. 😉

    • May 20, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      The pizza was awesome. Really a perfect combo.

      I keep on thinking…maybe I do have some sort of problem…
      But food is really a more interesting subject to photograph than my aunt, cousins, or any of my family-ha

      • May 21, 2012 at 12:08 am #

        Oh yeah.. You see your family pretty often anyway– genius food creations only come once in a while. 😉

      • May 21, 2012 at 9:59 am #

        HAha. GREAT Argument!

  8. June 3, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    You are ok – we are Wedding Photographers and have more pictures of Food than Family (as long as you don’t count the photos of our clients) – food always smiles pretty & doesn’t blink!!

    • June 3, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      haha, you are right, food is always smiling!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carnism « taofublog - May 16, 2012

    […] of deep contemplation, tonight I will be making a pizza of splendid array, recipe compliments of Mr. Fed Up.  This one calls for turkey, but for now, I will substitute with roasted red pepper and potato […]

  2. The Proof Is In The Pudding | Fed Up Food - May 16, 2012

    […] there is no lunch break (or even a designated nap time)! So My mind continues to drift towards thoughts of the  tasty meals located just outside this miserable building. I have been relying on homemade sandwiches to nourish […]

  3. Empty Bread Baskets and Naked Tables | Fed Up Food - June 6, 2012

    […] But fine… I can deal with less sushi, vacuum-sealed cheese, and generic-dog food (for Dozer,not for me); BUT what is starting to get scary is how the weak economy is influencing so many other areas of the food world that we are all so obsessed with. […]

  4. Rotten Luck | Fed Up Food - July 24, 2012

    […] and I am forced to import the damn things from New Zealand. Berries are one produce that I am excited  to eat year-round, and willing to pay a premium […]

  5. Natural Selection | Fed Up Food - August 22, 2012

    […] towns. The locals thought I was kind of crazy for being so fascinated with their foods and takeing careful portraits of their vegetables(…but hey they all take pictures of our Grand Canyon, and that is just a […]

  6. Face the Flax | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2013

    […] no idea what the Hell the flavor of flax is supposed to be. My favorite wraps that I use to make my flat-bread pizzas are apparently filled with flax. But I have never noticed any sort of ‘flaxy’ taste. […]

Leave a Reply

