The Proof Is In The Pudding

I was kindly REQUIRED to do jury duty this month. I am happy to do my duty as a citizen of this great country, but why does the damn jury lounge have to be so depressing?

I am stuck in a windowless jury lounge all day. It is filled with uncomfortable furniture and there is that rank stench that is created when there are too many people in too small of a space. Plus, there is no lunch break (or even a designated nap time)! So My mind continues to drift towards thoughts of the  tasty meals located just outside this miserable building. I have been relying on homemade sandwiches to nourish me during the long days, and I am starting to get desperate for something new. I need something to liven up this “lounge” or at least provide me with a distraction from the slowly ticking clock.

I believe desperation births creativity, and I was starting to get damn desperate for a tasty snack to entertain me during the dull hours of sitting in the jury lounge.

So, before I left for ANOTHER fun-filled day of sitting on my ass and staring at the blank walls wondering if  I should relocate myself to some country where jury duty does not exist; I searched my kitchen for something new. I looked all over for inspiration. I saw some pudding I had made over a week ago. It was a great mix of both chocolate and cheesecake flavored pudding, and it did not deserve to be trashed due to being a little too “ripe.” I then found the remains of a box of Pecan Honey Bunches of Oates. This cereal is pretty much a legalized form of crack.  All the was really left were just those tasty crumbs found at the bottom of every cereal box… you know those crumbs that you are never sure if you should eat or toss out. I also discovered, a banana whose once yellow exterior was now almost fully replaced with the brown tint of age. There was also an onion that had sprouted and some cooked beans that had a nice slimy layer of mold….

(Leftover pudding + Honey Bunches of Oats cereal crumbs + slices of old banana) x cinnamon = better day at jury duty

So   I threw out the onion and beans, but packed away the rest in my lunch bag. I really was proud of myself for properly clearing out the fridge without having to resort to one of my cobbled-together leftover-omelet-creations.

I arrived at the jury lounge with my mix of old ingredients and an optimistic hope that today would be a little more enjoyable. After I got bored with staring at the blank walls of the lounge and the snores of my fellow responsible-citizens grew  terribly annoying, I decided to construct my concoction. I  first layered the pudding followed by the cereal and finally the banana. It all got topped it with some cinnamon. “Desperate times call for desperate measures,” and this bannana-cereal-pudding thing I stared at was definitely somethings I was not too sure about. BUT  I had fun putting it together, and at least it was not ANOTHER tuna sandwich….so I took a big spoonful and was happily surprised. It was one damn tasty snack.

The rest of citizens following through with their jury duty responsibilities looked at me awkwardly as I combined pudding with cereal and banana. But who cares! Receiving awkward looks and stares of dislike are well worth the results you can discover in the pursuit of tasty grub.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “The Proof Is In The Pudding”

  1. May 17, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Now SERIOUSLY craving homemade banana pudding. You did that. Thanks (I think). Dammit.

    • May 17, 2012 at 11:52 am #

      HOMEMEADE? like not from a box of “instant pudding”??? Not even from a box of “cook and serve”??? Wow that must be tasty. I am just too lazy to make the stuff from scratch. Feel fee to send me a a batch if you ever want-haha.

  2. May 17, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Leftovers all mashed up for a sweet dish…doesn’t look pretty, but sounds tasty.

    • May 17, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      Oh it looked disgusting…but I will always choose something tasty over something that just looks the part.

  3. May 20, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Haha, I get looks of disgust from some classmates all the time when I’m eating something weird to them, like cottage cheese, for a snack. I always like to remember, though, that even if they think it’s weird, I’m actually getting more enjoyment with my food than they are. It’s like, “Yeah.. They just WISH they liked their snacks as much as you like yours!” 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Food Creativity At 25,000 Feet | Fed Up Food - June 2, 2012

    […] particular trip my supplies were running low and I started to get scared. I thought back to my past creative creations produced during desperate times, and realized I could save myself from hunger with a new food […]

  2. Fiber Feast | Fed Up Food - July 22, 2012

    […] The roasted broccoli develops a nutty taste and a charred textural element. The melted cheese seeps deep down  flavoring the entire sweet potato. This all works perfectly with the seasoned sweet potato, creating one hell of a tasty combo. […]

  3. It’s OK to be a Squirrel | Fed Up Food - September 27, 2012

    […] items on hand can allow you to be creative, resulting in surprisingly tasty snacks which combine random foods and fresh ingredients that all can result in new favorites. Here are some examples of the snacks […]

  4. Best Bite of the Week | Fed Up Food - October 12, 2012

    […] meal making it a GREAT way to celebrate my first kitchen creation in the new Fed Up HQ. So go be adventurous with your next meal and try a bunch of different ingredients that you may at first not think about […]

  5. Vote With Your Stomach | Fed Up Food - November 6, 2012

    […] *Proper promotion of pudding; For too long this tasty treat has been banished to the school lunch room and hospital cafeteria. The world needs to realize the possibilities of pudding. […]

Leave a Reply

