Eat Your Fungus

One tasty pile of fungus

Mushrooms are mind blowing…and NO, I am not talking about the ‘shrooms’ that alter your sense of reality and lead you to talking with squirrels and trying to fly.

I used to HATE mushrooms. I would pick them off pizza, and stare at disgust if they were mixed into any sort of stake sauce.

I have no idea when it happened, but one day I suddenly fell in love with the fungus. Now they are an ingredient I add in many MANY of my dishes. They go in sitrfrys and salads. They get roasted, barbecued, steamed, and eaten fresh. Much like brussels sprouts and pudding, mushrooms really are an underrated food, that so many people seem to ignore. BUT they have so much potential.

Reasons to add fungus to your food:

1.They are FREAKING HEALTHY. They are low-calorie, low/no fat, and nutrient packed.

2.They add intense “Unami” flavor. They truly have a nice earthy taste (and yes that is supposed to be good thing) that can be found from only a few other foods.

Toss some mushrooms in a pan with chopped jalepeno for a quick side dish that tastes damn good. Just remember to make sure the pan is not too crowded or else the mushrooms will “steam” and not roast…roasted mushrooms have a lot more flavor.

3.The porvide a nice meaty texture for dishes lacking any real meat. So if you want to save money (or calories) by opting out of typical proteins in your dinner, try adding some mushrooms to give you that meat-like element.

4.Mushrooms come in so many varieties that there is always something new to try. bored with Button mushrooms? Try some spaghetti-like Enoki mushrooms. If Portobellos are not packing the flavor-punch you want, go with some Shitaki

5.Having gourment mushrooms served at a meal is like bringing out your best bottle of wine. If you want to impress your friends and be a show-off, then cook some Chanterelles and make sure to mention their $22/lb price tag…you will get tagged as both a person who knows quality cuisine, and a moron for spending that much on some fungus.

Mushrooms: They put the “fun” in fungus! ….ok, that was stupidly cheesesy…I apologize for that.

Top some grilled/roasted mushrooms with fajita seasoning, a little cheese, some salsa, and fresh cilantro…and it is eating time. You never would have thought fungus could be so damn good.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

18 Comments on “Eat Your Fungus”

  1. May 24, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    I freaking love mushrooms, too! Just can’t eat them raw for some reason…

    Haha, and I loved your “sixth” reason to add these fungi in food– ‘They put the “fun” in fungus!’– I’m a sucker for puns!! 😀

    • May 25, 2012 at 10:18 am #

      Mushrooms really are great…I just finished off the last of some dried mushroom seasoning…made by “Fungus Among Us.” It was good stuff but I cant find it anymore.

    • May 27, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      For what it’s worth, not only do they not have nearly as much flavor until they’re cooked, I’ve also read that most of their nutrients aren’t very bioavailable until they’re cooked. More reasons not to bother eating raw mushrooms! I always feel sad when they show up raw on a salad.

      • May 27, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

        OMG, seriously? I always thought that I was getting RID of nutrients when I cooked mushrooms, so this is really exciting! For me, anyway! Haha, even though I like to eat healthy, I would never choose to eat something I hated just to do so.. 🙂

      • May 27, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

        Cooking, especially boiling, does lose a lot of nutrients… But grilled/roasted mushrooms are really tasty as the flavor gets really concentrated… Plus, I am pretty sure grilling preserves far more of the nutrients than many other cooking methods.

      • May 27, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

        Hi Carley, oh wow. I just read your comment. I had never heard that about the ‘shrooms before. Thanks for sharing.

  2. May 25, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Never fear, your pun makes you a fun guy! 😀
    Hurray for mushrooms!

    • May 26, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Ha…Thank you. I really was worried that my pun was just to cheesy.

  3. May 26, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    Fungus Among Us – Love it

    Mushrooms – HATE THEM

    🙂

  4. May 27, 2012 at 6:54 am #

    Lovely presentation on that iron platter!

    • May 27, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Glad you like it! Not only does the cast iron skillet make a meal look good; but I heat it up in the oven before serving, so it sears the food and keeps it all warm while eating.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Terrible Truffle Tradegy | Fed Up Food - October 10, 2012

    […] but the slightly mushroomy/earthy taste was not life-changing. I would easily prefer some fresh protabellos or shitakis over these truffle shavings (and they would cost a fraction of the price).  Were these things […]

  2. Quality Vs. Quantity | Fed Up Food - October 31, 2012

    […] I did not eat ONLY lobster. I got to get my grilled squid and vegetable fix too. There was also perfectly cooked shiitake mushrooms…and I love mushrooms. […]

  3. Fridge Freak Out | Fed Up Food - November 27, 2012

    […] suffer from a dangerous combination of extreme-excitement  to be buying my favorite foods (cheese, mushrooms, etc) and dumb-distraction when I come across the stupid stuff that plagues grocery shelves. This […]

  4. Know Your FACTS: Making Crap Tasty | Fed Up Food - April 25, 2013

    […] to provide that ‘meaty’ aspect to make a meal not feel like a side dish; so I often add mushrooms which allow for a hearty-chewy-unami meatiness. And to cut through the heavy weight the hotdog and […]

  5. Dining Danger | Fed Up Food - April 30, 2013

    […] their cooked-onion-smell into the walls of my entire house. For days my home smelt like a freaking fajita skillet (not necessarily a bad thing, but after a few days I was tired of feeling like I lived in a Mexican […]

  6. Food Flop | Fed Up Food - May 21, 2013

    […] layer of tomato sauce, topped with onions, bell peppers, mushrooms, did not do much to help the rest of the toppings which included the required hotdogs, American […]

Leave a Reply

