Rise and Shine with Sushi

This morning I woke up to the smells of Hong Kong, a polluted city with a whiff of sulfur and fish that always looms.

Breakfast in foreign cities is always exciting. This is especially the case in a unique Asian city like Hong Kong. Hong Kong’s huge population is comprised of many expats and people from many other Asian countries. Plus, this town is an international tourist Mecca.

So the breakfast buffet at my hotel, which I am a frequent guest at, has a global selection of breakfast treats.

In Hong Kong, it is ok to have sushi for breakfast along side a bowl of fruit and a nice mushroom omelet.

Now why can’t us Americans realize how damn tasty sushi can be 24/7? Why should sushi in the US be restricted to lunch, dinner, and second dinner?!? Sushi, like pizza and omelets, is an awesome vehicle for incorporating such a wide range of flavors and ingredients. Sushi can, and should, be a easy addition to any breakfast buffet (whether in the US or Hong Kong).

So today I spoil myself with sushi along with more than my fair share of blueberries from the buffet, because i know back home this is not possible.

BUT Hopefully one day, we can wake up and pass by an IHOP or Waffle House and get an order of pancakes with a side of fresh sashimi and a California roll.

20120529-093611.jpg

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Recommendations, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

17 Comments on “Rise and Shine with Sushi”

  1. May 28, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    I agree whole-heartedly! Why can’t we have sushi for breakfast?!

    • May 29, 2012 at 6:48 am #

      Well I can think of one reason…. I would be bankrupt. I am such a sushi snob, that I only ever order the expensive stuff.

      • May 29, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

        LOL! Like my father once said, “If you’re going to spend your money on something, buy the best you can afford.”

      • May 31, 2012 at 6:19 am #

        I like your fathers advice… But that may be why I can’t afford HBO, or why I buy most of my stuff from Walmart. Haha.

  2. May 28, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Umm.. I don’t know about getting sushi at iHop or some random waffle house… But sushi for breakfast doesn’t sound bad at all! I grew up in. Filipino household and we have all sorts of lunch and dinner-type foods for breakfast too! We’ve had tapas, fried fish with eggs, sardines, tuna, etc.. Really good and a lot of seafood most of the time, so sushi doesn’t sound weird at all.

    • May 29, 2012 at 6:51 am #

      That does sound good. I live my stereotypical American mornings with cereal or eggs… But variety is nice, and having a lunch/dinner foods for breakfast would be great every so often

  3. May 29, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    I think we need to tackle getting a decent sushi place in every US town first before we worry about having it available for breakfast. The area I live in has about 120k people in the metro area and I STILL have to travel about 30 minutes to get to a decent sushi place. We just have a kiosk in a grocery store (at least it is freshly made onsite every day) and then a few stray pieces of very mediocre sushi on a Chinese food buffet or two.

    • May 29, 2012 at 6:54 am #

      Wow… I don’t know where you live, but I would lose my mind if I did not have good sushi nearby. In New Orleans, there are so many great sushi options. Even the bad ones are still pretty good. I have gotten so spoiled on quality sushi, that I always ignore the sushi station at our local grocery shops.

      I really do feel bad for you and your lack of convenient, nearby sushi.

      • elangomatt
        May 29, 2012 at 11:36 am #

        I’m about 60 miles south of Chicago, but I have to travel either to the southern burbs (30 miles north of here) or northwest ~20 mi to get to a Sushi place. The grocery store kiosk place actually does pretty decent for the standard rolls, but they don’t really have anything special there.

        You have strange timing to be honest with this rant. Just this morning I read our local paper’s restaurant column from last Friday and a very good local microbrew restaurant is actually having a special sushi night next week (and other times in the future too). I might just have to check it out and see how they do. I think that the type of population in part of my area would be pretty supportive of a sushi joint opening up, so maybe this is the first step in something finally coming to the area. I am assuming it will be a guest chef type of arrangement but I really don’t know.

      • May 31, 2012 at 6:17 am #

        Wow, the more I think about it, the more I realize how fortunate I am to live near such a wide range of quality sushi joints.

        If you ever are in Chicago and looking for a great Japanese fusion kind of place, check out Raw. It is a chain with several locations throughout the US and I have never been disappointed with anything I have ever ordered. Don’t go there thinking “sushi”… It does not serve traditional stuff, but more creative sushi items and dishes.

  4. May 30, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    This sort of kills me, because just earlier this week I had a hardcore sushi-for-breakfast craving, and there’s nowhere to get sushi here before noon. And for some reason, the sushi-for-breakfast craving doesn’t morph into just a normal sushi craving as the day wears on, so you can’t really sate it later in the day.

    • May 31, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      Ha. I don’t normally have a craving for sushi for breakfast. But if it was a usual craving of mine, then I see how it would be almost impossible to satisfy.

      When I do crave sushi for dinner, then NOTHING but sushi will do.

  5. May 31, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    You sound so very cultured, Mr. Fed Up. Don’t let it happen again! lol

    • May 31, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      Haha. Ok. I will try to avoid this in the future.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rotten Luck | Fed Up Food - July 24, 2012

    […] We all have those little breakfast rituals and routines…But for many, it is not just a habit, but an addiction: Some crave caffeine, […]

  2. Sushi, ALWAYS a Best Bite | Fed Up Food - October 19, 2012

    […] So get your own Best Bite this week…you can never go wrong with sushi. […]

  3. Love the Lounge, Submit to Snobbery | Fed Up Food - January 3, 2013

    […] and I had a hard time imagining anyone enjoying the briny concoctions for breakfast. But I had seen stranger things being served for breakfast, so I figured I would give it a try. I quickly gave up on the idea after […]

Leave a Reply

