Food Creativity At 25,000 Feet

On a recent flight to Hong Kong I started to feel that terribly discomforting feeling many people get in the middle of a 15 hour plane ride. This awful twisting in my stomach was not due to the turbulence or the some painful cramp from sitting in the same compact seat for endless hours. No, my stomach was aching for food, GOOD food…not the crap that is scooped onto trays and served to each of us livestock-like passengers crammed in the tiny confines of the plane’s main cabin.

While airlines sometimes do provide decent food onboard, this is a rare occasion. Even in the “luxurious” first class cabin, the multi course meals presented on fine china really taste no better than a typical TV dinner. Let’s be honest, plane food is almost always PLAIN BAD!

One their own, some yogurt and a Cliff Bar are nothing too special, BUT combined a beautiful snack is formed. This was much tastier than anything I have EVER been offered on an airplane.

I am usually prepared with plenty of snacks and rations to keep me satisfied on these long flights, but on this particular trip my supplies were running low and I started to get scared. I thought back to my past creative creations produced during desperate times, and realized I could save myself from hunger with a new food combo.

I searched my snack-stuff-sack that accompanies me on each journey, for something to salvage. I found some plain yogurt I picked up in the airport and a white-chocolate-Macadamia-nut flavored Cliff bar. While both are good on their own, I felt that with their powers combined, something truly tasty would be born.

I took the yogurt and scooped it into a bowl. I grabbed a packet of Splenda that I found in my stash and together with some cinnamon I always have stocked, I mixed it into the yogurt. I than topped the bowl with crumbled bits of the Cliff bar. The synergy was perfect. Yogurt and a Cliff bar really are nothing to brag about on their own….but the sum of the parts was glorious.

The Cliff Bar crumbles were much like granola…but there was a softer, chewier texture and a real flavor punch from the bar that resulted in an entirely different eating experience from your typical cereal/granola topped yogurt. Cliff Bar makes MANY different flavors that I have never seen offered by any granola or cereal companies, and I am sure that there are some Cliff Bar flavors that would taste EVEN better in this food combo.

I am sure you could use any sort of Cliff Bar flavor and makes a tasty yogurt parfait if you find yourself stuck 25,000 feet in the air with a desire to eat good grub.

So be a food MacGyver. Use whatever resources you have to avoid  the pains of hunger and the dissatisfaction of a crappy meal. When you get stuck in a desperate situation, be confident with the knowledge that creativity can lead to tasty results.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

17 Comments on “Food Creativity At 25,000 Feet”

  1. June 2, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    I did the exact same things when I went to DC for a school trip last spring break! My friends were teasing me because they said all my snacks were “healthy” but really, nuts, fruit and nut bars, yogurt, cheese, and crackers make it easy to come up with better creations on the plane! If you’ve just got chips and chocolate and candy.. Well.. There’s not much you can do there to be honest! 🙂

    • June 2, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

      Yep, this combo is really tasty! But yes, it is annoying how so many people see healthy foods and think they will taste nasty. I honestly PERFER the taste of most healthy things over their unhealthy counterparts: I will take fresh strawberries any day over some strawberry flavored candy for example.

      • June 2, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

        Kind of like grape flavoring. As much as I love grapes, I hate nearly anything grape flavored. They have never really been able to reproduce that flavor. The result is that no grape flavored snack or beverage will ever tempt me but a lovely bunch of grapes are to die for.

      • June 2, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

        YES! I too love grapes but hate grape flavored stuff (kool-aid, candy, etc)….and the same goes for cherries.

  2. Frances antoinette
    June 4, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    I agree, first class food is no upgrade. It’s worse fit a vegetarian like me. Usually, the dessert is fresh fruit while the “normal” meals come with tasty looking cakes. Vegetarians eat pastries! Anyways, at least HK airport itself has wonderful delicious food choices that you can eat as soon as landing 😉

    • June 4, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      I am not a vegetarian, but I do eat little meat and LOTS of vegetables. I have never found a tasty vegetable-based dish on any planes. United’s vegetarian entrees are almost always some sort of curry that looks nasty (and I normally like curries).

      I actually don’t like the HK airport because there just are not enough ‘simple,’ ‘grab-n-go’ options. There is the limited food court by the main security point, but after that there really is not much. There are plenty of fancier stores and restaurants, just not enough simple places where I can grab a magazine and pick up a salad to bring on the plane.

      But my most of my traveling companions LOVE the HK airport for the designer shops and gourmet food.

  3. June 6, 2012 at 3:08 am #

    Um… flew 1st class in 1997 – Delta. the finest of china, all the perks, little salt and peppers and for dinner, a stuffed Cornish game hen, rice pilaf and asparagus. Plus dessert (don’t remember what). But then, those were different times…

    • June 6, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      Yep…VERY different now. I flew back from Hong Kong on United’s “business-first” cabin…even the flight attendants were making fun of the food. BUT…the grapes were good.

  4. June 24, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    I flew once from Denver to Sioux Falls Iowa, on a plane that had about 14 seats – only three were filled. Our snack was a small bottle (half) of wine and fruit basket! Most surprising – I drank my wine, and they gave me another bottle…for free. *score* Luckily, my sister picked me up and not my Mom as I’m not much of a drinker.

    It just seems a no brainer that the easist, simplest things would be the way to go for an airline.

    Hey, Mr. Fed up – one of my pet peeves? When people bring “stinky” food on a plane and make a big, huge production of dishing it out to friends and/or relatives seated all over the plane…especially heavy curries.

    • June 24, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      Haha. I have been lucky on some flights too where the flight attendants are VERY generous and managed to score piles of snacks…but this is VERY rare.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Protein Bars Judged By Iron Chef | Fed Up Food - July 19, 2012

    […] of my hectic lifestyle, I am constantly resorting to various energy/protein bars to keep me going. I have experimented […]

  2. Pizza ‘Posers’ | Fed Up Food - August 8, 2012

    […] is nothing wrong with creative flavors combos or paring unlikely foods together to make amazing new things. ‘BBQ’ is a legitimate flavor, and I am cool with ‘Ranch’ and ‘Sour […]

  3. It’s OK to be a Squirrel | Fed Up Food - September 27, 2012

    […] your cravings. Plus, having a well stocked arsenal of edible items on hand can allow you to be creative, resulting in surprisingly tasty snacks which combine random foods and fresh ingredients that […]

  4. Best Bite of the Week | Fed Up Food - October 12, 2012

    […] My dog, Dozer, and I have just moved into our new home and we are very excited. The new Fed Up HQ is pretty cool. The kitchen especially is freaking awesome and meets almost all the requirements outlined here on Fed Up.  So we plan on bringing better food to the Fed Up table and sharing our findings. Plus, the new Fed Up HQ is ridiculously photogenic ..matte black/grey granite counter tops, dark wood cabinets, stainless steel accents…yep the new kitchen is going to get some camera love and will be sure to elevate even the most mundane meals to higher levels of culinary perfection- anything photographed with such a nice background is going to seem like it would be worth making yourself, even if it means you might ‘see red‘.  Also, I want to begin sharing my ‘Best Bite’ of the week, where you get to check out my single best bit of food that I stuffed my face with. I promise it is going to be tasty….or at least unique. […]

  5. Upgrade Your Food | Fed Up Food - November 5, 2012

    […] often served on airplane…instead come prepared with an assortments of creative items that can transform the in-flight-food. You may still be stuck in the back of the plane, but at least you can always […]

  6. Love the Lounge, Submit to Snobbery | Fed Up Food - January 3, 2013

    […] of hope that have been reveled to me during the some of my darkest travel hours. I have engineered creative ways to ‘upgrade’ in-flight food using simple ingredients, I have found an airline that […]

  7. Be a Macgyver | Fed Up Food - February 28, 2013

    […] Nothing looked appetizing. But I noticed some limp pieces of chicken on a tray that was garnished with wilted lettuce and cucumbers and my mind began to get creative. […]

Leave a Reply

