Deceptively Dissatisfying

With a name like “Dragon Fruit,” you would assume this melon-like produce would be an amazing breakfast addition. Nope!

This exotic fruit lures in the ignorant with its elaborate looks and impressive-sounding name.

The lavish buffet at an Asian hotel I was staying at had a beautiful bowl of this “Dragon Fruit.” I was lured in by the exotic nature of the stuff, and knew that I should take full advantage of this foreign fruit which I had never seen before…So like any good buffet guest, I LOADED up my plate with a pile of sliced up fruit. It look so tasty with the bright exterior contrasting with the seed-dotted flesh of fruit’s interior…so I thought to myself, “what the Hell,” and added a few more pieces to my plate for good measure.

I then brought my overloaded dish to my table and took my first bite. CRAP!…crap. This stuff was bland. It did not taste horrible; it was just boring. The taste was mildly melon-like. But with no assertive flavor I was left wondering why ANYONE would eat this when a typical cantaloupe offers twice the taste at half the price. It was as if the “Dragon Fruit” was trying to cover its pathetic taste with a fancy exterior and an impressive name. This was some sort of false advertising. The only other fruit that has managed to piss me off this much is seeded grapesand the terrible annoyances involved in dealing with their hidden land mines.

Sometimes is is just best to stick with what you know. Enjoy the watermelon, the kiwi, and the grapefruit; while they may not be quite as rare as the Dragon Fruit on the far left, they taste a whole lot better.

I ended up looking like a wasteful ass when the waiter came by to clear out the table and saw my pile of uneaten fruit. But I bet I am not the only over-zealous guest who took too much of the “Dragon fruit,”  to only be surprised by its disappointing taste and then leave a plate full of uneaten fruit to be picked up by the bus boy.

When I got home from my trip to Asia, I came across this damn “Dragon Fruit” in the local grocery store’s produce section. It was extremely expensive, but easily lures ignorant shoppers in with the powerful name and elaborate exterior. This stupid fruit is  adding to the already existing confusion of the grocery shopping experience where the numerous options become overwhelming. But, I really lost it when I saw “Dragon Fruit” flavored frozen yogurt as this month’s special, at the local frozen yogurt shop I visit. I tried it, and it tasted nothing like the real fruit…it was actually decent. But I really hope this “Dragon Fruit” flavor does not become the next trendy thing that shows up in everything from chewing gum and drink mixes, to air fresheners and toilet bowl cleaner.

Dragon Fruit flavored frozen yogurt…this damn fruit is just going to be ANOTHER stupid trend.

Like the beautiful people with no personality, many fruits have exteriors that suggest a far more appealing option than is actually provided once you get to know them. Just like for people, it is also true for fruit, it is what is on the inside that counts!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

23 Comments on “Deceptively Dissatisfying”

  1. June 4, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    I’ve tried Dragon Fruit before, after buying it from an Asian supermarket.. Just like you, I was extremely disappointed and felt ripped off, because it IS expensive! I think it was like 4-5 bucks for each? I was so excited to chop it up and have a taste when I got home, but when I did, it was so mushy and bland that I just couldn’t finish the slice that I had.. I told my mom that she could have the rest, but she didn’t want it either, and there it was.. $4-5 worth of bland fruit just lying on the kitchen counter until we eventually had to throw it away.. 😐

    It’s just so disappointing, because it looks really good on the inside and outside! *sigh*

    • June 4, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

      I am glad I am not the only one who has falling victim to the scam that is “Dragon Fruit.” There really should be a sign next to the fruit waring of the bland taste and how you are wasting your money

  2. June 4, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    Nice moral to the story 😉 Also, thanks for the warning. I suppose if there weren’t others to concur, you might be left wondering if you just got an unlucky pile of blandness. I have thrown away plates of melon and/or pineapple that I expected to be delicious, but was not. At least they’re cheap, and I know when they’re in season and more likely to be tasty.

    • June 5, 2012 at 10:35 am #

      Hi Heather,
      It is so difficult, especially with strange, exotic fruit to tell if it is ripe or if the fruit really just tastes crummy. I love mangos and it has taken me several years to master how to determine if a mango is ‘good’ or not.
      Thanks for reading!

  3. June 5, 2012 at 8:12 am #

    Thanks for the warning about dragonfruit. I’ve never tried it basically because I’ve never seen it in my local produce section. I’d be tempted to try it but the high price might scare me off. If I saw it on a fruit tray I would definitely try it, though I’d probably just take a small piece or two to make sure I like it. I do think there is at least one flavor of Sobe Lifewater that incorporates dragonfruit into its flavor and there might even have been a Snapple with it too at some point. I imagine that neither have much real dragonfruit flavor though but just want to use the name since it really does sound pretty cool.

    • June 5, 2012 at 10:48 am #

      Wow, I did not know Sobe already used the stuff…I hate stupid food trends.

      And yes…don’t be a moron like me and take a plate full of the fruit the first time you see dragonfruit.

  4. Alexandra
    June 5, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Ha…..I have the solution for all decepted foreigners. The yellow pitahaya which I know from Southamerica is absolutely not comparable to the pitahaya or dragon fruit you tried. It looks from outside yellow and inside it looks exactly like your dragon fruit but it has an abolutely unique, sweet and exotic taste. So please, whenever you see a yellow dragonfruit – try it – i’s worth it! And by the way….I also think the lilac one you tried in Asia is awful!

    • June 5, 2012 at 10:50 am #

      Ok, I am going to keep my eyes open for the yellow one. Thanks for the advice.

  5. June 5, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Haha living in Singapore means access to this fruit all year round! Although it doesn’t have any discernible taste… it’s actually great for when it’s hot outside and all you want is something sweet and juicy! I like the seeds too… they’re very much like kiwifruit seeds, but also not. Dragon Fruit is like, the platypus of fruits haha

    • June 5, 2012 at 10:57 am #

      Haha. I like your “platypus of fruits” description of dragonfruit.

      I did not find the taste bad…just very bland. Here in the southern part of the USA, when it gets hot outside we love watermelon. It gives that same sweet/juicy flavor, but has alot more taste then the dragonfruit. BUT I hate the watermelon seeds…you have to spit them out.

      • June 5, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

        Who likes watermelon seeds? Hahah

  6. tsengstrom
    June 5, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    i totally agree – the first time i had this i was stoked! it looks awesome…taste? boring!

  7. June 7, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    Hey there!

    I’m from Singapore, and i ate a dragon fruit a day back when i used to be crazy about them.

    I believe you havent tried the pink one before: this one is twice the price, but twice as sweet (less sour than the white one)

    A word of advice: the pink juice is IMPOSSIBLE to wash off (akin to blueberry juice)

    And i even tricked an ex-girlfriend that i had “blood” on my fingers while cutting the fruit.

    -The Exercising Male

    • June 7, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      Wow, thanks for the tip. I travel to SouthEast Asia frequently and I will keep looking for a ‘good’ dragon fruit…unfortunately I am a messy eater, so I am sure to stain my clothes…but that is a small price to pay if the food is good.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. NOT TRUE! | Fed Up Food - June 15, 2012

    […] of this fruit have realized how badly it sucks and decided to overcompensate with a completely misleading name.  Be warned, foods that sound too good to be true, often are. Don’t get lured in by the […]

  2. More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat | Fed Up Food - July 20, 2012

    […] palate). While I have visited many grocery stores throughout ‘old‘ Europe, ‘exotic‘ Asia, and plenty other regions, I was truly in awe of what Italians stock their shelves […]

  3. Franken-Fruit | Fed Up Food - July 30, 2012

    […] am tired of all the crazy fruits offered. Grocery shopping has become far more laborious having to try to figure out what the damn […]

  4. Pizza ‘Posers’ | Fed Up Food - August 8, 2012

    […] I just get fed up with marketers who pry on our innocent addictions to tasty meals. They lure us in with sweet promises of pizza, but after the first bite, you realize you were duped and ‘Original’ would have been the wiser choice. It is pure, dishonest, deception. […]

  5. There is NO ‘Z’ in Saffron! | Fed Up Food - August 15, 2012

    […] Something is advertised as tasting like ‘cookies,’ but all you get is crap. Or when a food lures you in with bright colors and promises of exotic flavors, but after a single bite you are […]

  6. Spicing Up Life | Fed Up Food - August 28, 2012

    […] a meal for dinner that resulted in a disaster. BUT…there is a secret savior that can turn bland foods and burnt dinners into something ediblie…and even […]

  7. Terrible Truffle Tradegy | Fed Up Food - October 10, 2012

    […] ‘lose.’ So I should have not been surprised when I tasted the stuff for myself and was unimpressed. A beautiful sight presented to me in Tuscany; A fresh salad topped with a pile of freshly shaved […]

  8. Vote With Your Stomach | Fed Up Food - November 6, 2012

    […] *Initiate a ban on ridiculous flavors; People no longer know what anything really tastes like, and often times trendy ingredients mislead defenseless customers into making poor purchase decisions. […]

Leave a Reply

