Sugar Overdose

A place ONLY serving churros. Now that is a HYPER niche market….but obviously it is doing well because the chain is growing.

I am working in Central America, and came across this sugar sanctuary in a large mall in Panama. I had to laugh at how there is an ENTIRE restaurant chain dedicated to churros, the Latin American fried doughnut-like treat. I then realized that in the USA, we too have our own special shrines which also dutifully specialize in ultra specific foods…think about Cinnabon, Auntie Anne’s Pretzels, and Mrs Fields Cookies.

Churro Mania, the name of this food court restaurant chain, is from Venezuela and now has grown all across Central and Southern America. Apparently there are even outposts of Churro Mania in Florida.

The dulce de leche stuffed churro in all its sugary glory.

I was just shocked at the sugary creations this place was advertising. The one that stood out the most to me was a dulce de leche stuffed churro that is then topped with an additional drizzle of the sweet syrup. Other items on the churro-only menu included concoctions with cream cheese or  chocolate. Oh. And you could get a soda… But no diet soda, no bottles of water, and there was no food offered that was not deep-fried and shrouded in layers of sugar.

Yep… I eat healthy, especially when traveling…For lunch all I wanted was a salad, so I did not partake in the sugar overload as my colleagues did. They did all energetically say it tasted great though…but that could have just been the initial sugar rush talking.

Keep your eyes peeled and your diabetic friends away…Churro Mania may be coming to a shopping mall near you.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Sugar Overdose”

  1. Frances antoinette
    June 13, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    …dulce de leche churros are the best flavor

    • June 14, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      Haha. sugar and more sugar…if you have a sweet tooth I am sure it is tasty!

  2. June 14, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    They sell these at the Diego Padre’s games! I’ll never forget the guy sitting near us calling out to the Churro’s girl, “Hey doughnut lady”….

    I love them but then again, we are close to the boarder. You would never be short of being asked to buy one, or short of eating any at the San Diego/Tijuana boarder — on their side. No frills though, they are just with the sugar, period

    • June 14, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

      Sometimes I think the simplest versions are the best. I think the crazy churro with the various additions would be overkill….but cream cheese does make everything taste better.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat | Fed Up Food - July 20, 2012

    […] cereal what kind of cool. It was nothing that I personally would buy; it just seemed TOO much like pure junk food to be considered a legitimate breakfast option. Judging by this box, it looks like this cereal is […]

  2. Food I Love: Churros | Just Peppa - August 11, 2012

    […] Sugar Overdose (fedupfood.com) […]

  3. Corn Cornfusion | Fed Up Food - April 16, 2013

    […] was a healthy snack option in a food court filled with the typical greasy options, and I like corn, so I pulled out a few Indian rupees and decided to buy some. I tried my […]

  4. Know Your FACTS: Making Crap Tasty | Fed Up Food - April 25, 2013

    […] meal where the flavor from each ingredient is enjoyed.   For a  salty element in a meal, a sweet element could then be added to raise the recipe to a whole other level (like how this pizza with goat […]

Leave a Reply

