NOT TRUE!

The Red Delicious apple…one of the biggest cons in the produce world

Ahhhh….The Apple.

So many variations of this humble fruit exist. From the intensely tart Granny Smith,  to the super sweet Honey Crisp, the possibilities seem endless. Of course there are always Gala apples, arguably one of the best all-around apples. These are consistently a  go-to choice for the Fed Up team because of their crunchy texture, mildly sweet taste, affordable price point, and the fact that they seem to be available EVERY WHERE!

…BUT there is one other apple which seems to rival the Gala’s in terms of availability…an apple that shows up all the time….an apple that is the ‘face’ of the fruit, the image most people think of first when the fruit is mentioned…It is the Red Delicious apple.

But why?!? It does not make sense that the Red Delicious is so widespread. The Red Delicious apple’s texture is often mushy, bruises are common, and the tough skin and bland tasting flesh make this apple unappetizing. Maybe, I have just be subjected to years of poorly handled Red Delicious apples; but I have NEVER had a decent Red Delicious apple…and I feel that I am not alone in this. A comedian once said, ‘Red Delicious apples: Always red, rarely delicious.’  This has got to be one of the most true statements about the world of produce that I have ever heard.

It as if this farmers/producers of this fruit have realized how badly it sucks and decided to overcompensate with a completely misleading name.  Be warned, foods that sound too good to be true, often are.

Don’t get lured in by the deceptive name or low price…this is one BAD APPLE

The fact that the Red Delicious often represents the entire family of  apples, is just not right. Google ‘Apple’ and you first get an image of a Red Delicious (after the about a hundred ‘Apple’ computer logos). When children learn their ABC’s, there is always a Red Delicious apple pictured with the ‘A.’ And walk into any grocery store, and there are piles of Red Delicious taking up the prime real estate. This is an insult to the apple community. Maybe Red Delicious apples are cheaper or  easier to produce…that could explain why they are so widely available and often the only fruit you find in a convenient store, served on a plane, or simply placed on a teacher’s desk.  But I bet the Red Delicious  is a cunning fiend, who is corrupting our food sources by bribing grocery stores with significant amounts of cash and gifts, in order to guarantee their continual dominance of the apple world.

The REAL ‘Red Scare’ has just begun…So who will stand with me against the tyranny that is the Red Delicious? Lets get rid of this giant phony, this poor representative of a proud fruit. We must impeach the Red Delicious and nominate a new candidate to stand proudly on store shelves, and satisfy our hearts, our minds, and our stomachs.  Lets pass on the Red Delicious and nominate Galas at the new leader of the humble apple.

Next time you are in a grocery store and see that Red Delicious just staring at you, realize that you deserve better. Make no compromises and choose an apple that properly represents how delicious this fruit can be.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

33 Comments on “NOT TRUE!”

  1. June 15, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    Absolutely agree! Honeycrisp are my all-time, all-around favorites – when they’re locally in season. Crisp and perfectly sweet-tart, THEY should be the face of apples! If not in season, though, I bake with Granny Smiths and eat Galas.

    • June 16, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      Thanks for standing with me against this “Red menace.” One day we will get a proper apple to be most popular!

  2. June 16, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    this made me laugh and i loved it. “always red, rarely delicious” hahaha – who gets to name these things anyway?! i’m sure god wasn’t like “we should call this one ‘red delicious’ because it is obviously, both.” if he did, he clearly hadn’t met pink lady or honeycrisp just yet…

    • June 16, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      haha. GOOD QUESTION! I wonder who names alot of the produce we eat…probably clever marketers…

  3. elangomatt
    June 16, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    Honeycrisp has been my go to apple for eating raw for the last few years. I pretty much agree on the red delicious front though. That is what seems to be what is usually packed in the 5lb bags that are always on sale for $2 a bag. Those apples in the bags are the reason why I didn’t like apples much when I was a kid because that is all my mom would buy since it was a good value. I actually find that I have much better luck with the big red delicious apples (like you took a picture of I think, unless you have freakishly small hands). If I am going to buy loose big apples though, I don’t usually bother risking it on the big red delicious and just get some honeycrisp or pink lady (who came up with THAT name?!).

    During the prime apple season, there is actually a grocery store in my area that carries something like 20 different varieties of apples. Last year I tried almost all of them, and I think that honeycrisp was my favorite apple variety.

    • June 16, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      Yes, I love Honey Crisp, I just wish they were cheaper. It is amazing how many apple varieties there are; You are VERY lucky to have such a selection. When I lived in New England I got to try all sorts of apples and hybrid apples made from multiple ‘common’ apples. I wish we had those options here in the South

  4. June 16, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    great post 😀

  5. June 16, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Good post. I was time somebody said it. Couldn’t agree more.

    • June 16, 2012 at 8:44 am #

      Sorry, I meant “It was time somebody said it” – damn computers always getting stuff wrong 😦

      • June 16, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

        No worries…haha. I promise my spelling and grammer is far FAR worse.

    • June 16, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      It is funny how this has got to be one of the WORST apples, yet they are everywhere….Even when traveling I constantly see these damn things

  6. June 16, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    My favourite apple would be Braeburn – it’s got everything. Sweetness, freshness, crisp… Haven’t got a problem with Jonagold or Gala either. I rarely venture outside those choices as at least I’ll know I can expect a good apple. If I need tartness for baking, I either use Granny Smith or cheat and use one of the above and add some malic acid 😉

    • June 16, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

      wow. I never knew heard of adding malic acid to apples to make them tart. Jonagold are another top pick for me too

  7. June 16, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    that’s where pie comes in … stage left.

    • June 16, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      Very true…I guess all Red Delicious really are destined for pies…but even then I think there has got to be better tasting pie-apples

      • June 17, 2012 at 12:36 am #

        I was being kind, hahaha. Perhaps that apple is only good in dried and seasoned form 😉

  8. June 16, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    With you on that. Rubbish apples. Golden Delicious is another ironic appelation – bit more bite to them but still taste of fuck all. Braeburn, Royal Gala, Cox’s Orange Pippin (fab name, too), Granny Smith, Pink Lady are all good, and tried a Jazz for the first time the other day (similar to Pink Lady, mild and sweet). Still a bit of a traditionalist and tend to stick to Bramley for cooking, though Grannies are great too.

    • June 16, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      Glad you agree! I have seen Jazz apples showing up more and more at our local store. I like them too, but I will stick with a good Gala if I get the choice. Honey Crisp are AMAZING….but they are always way too expensive

  9. June 16, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    Galas, fujis, and honey crisp are my faves! I go through phases where I’ll buy one and not the others.. Right now I’m loving fujis, and I’m starting to appreciate the tartness of granny smith apples!

    • June 16, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      Granny Smith apples are great and they are the stereotypical ‘green’ apple. I think they are almost as common as Red Delicious. But Granny Smiths taste so much better if you don’t mind the tartness.

  10. June 17, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    Glad I’m not the only one to despise the Red Delicious. I love Gala’s, Fuji’s and Pink Lady’s.

    • June 18, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      I think Fuji’s can be really REALLY good. I was in Japan and I picked up some very expensive Fuji apples that were HUGE. They were nothing like the ones I typically see at my local grocery store. Much much bigger!…
      thanks for reading

  11. June 19, 2012 at 6:28 am #

    When I was growing up in the 70’s, yellow and red delicious really did taste good. Something happened to the breed in the 80’s and it seemed to happen across the board. They lost all flavor. They turned into juicy, crisp, water flavored apples. I shifted to the Gala Fuji, Braeburn, and McIntosh apples.

  12. June 19, 2012 at 6:30 am #

    Oh, the best apple variety I’ve ever had, and can’t find in the midwest, is the Ginger Gold. It is a lovely, yellow apple with a distinctive ginger flavor to the flesh.

    • June 19, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      Wow, never heard of Ginger Gold. I will have to keep my eyes open for them. A ‘ginger’ flavored apple has got to be awesome….but if they created a ‘Cinnamon Gold,’ then I bet that would be my new favorite.

      • June 19, 2012 at 11:57 am #

        I’ve only found them in Washington State. But there are websites where you can order types of apples and pears. I bet they might have them. I keep meaning to check it out.

      • June 19, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

        Thanks for the info…I don’t think I will get to try these apples anytime soon then…I don’t have plans on visiting Washington State right now, and just don’t like the idea of ordering fresh produce through the mail…..BUT if you want to sign me up for one of those ‘fruit-of-the-month-clubs,’ I will happily accept!

  13. June 24, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    I have to give a loud and clear vote for Haralson apples – like so many good ones, developed here in Minnesota – in 1922. They rock!

    If you see them, try them.

    • June 24, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

      Ok. I am going to search for them…I have NEVER heard of them, but I am sure they are better then Red Delicious (or apples that are flown in from half-way around the world).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW #5: Daily Food Fixes | Goober Nut's Life - June 20, 2012

    […] out this post by Fed Up Food! He wrote a rant against Red Delicious apples and I found it both […]

  2. Natural Selection | Fed Up Food - August 22, 2012

    […] the crap in a typical American grocery store is NOT designed for taste. This is especially true for our produce. That tomato you pick up at WalMart was manufactured to be durable. That tomato’s primary […]

  3. Terrible Truffle Tradegy | Fed Up Food - October 10, 2012

    […] the Fed Up list of disappointing foods. You are no better than Cookie Crisp cereal, dragon fruit, Red Delicious apples, or even Canadian Bacon. Truffles…you only cause tradegy Share […]

Leave a Reply

