Sweet Tea Is SOUTHERN…Not Swiss

I was making my weekly grocery run when I came across something that really pissed me off.

Ok, the food geniuses from Switzerland have given us many tasty things. Swiss chocolate can get devout Weight Watchers to ignore  their sacred vows and forget about their daily ‘points’ limit. And a  good cave-aged Gruyère or other quality Swiss cheese is capable of getting even lactose-intolerant people to put up with any potential side effects in order to savor the beautiful, stinky, stuff.

Back of Switzerland. Sweet Tea is purely Southern territory.

But the Swiss have no history of tea production and while they may enjoy a cup of steaming tea on a snowy  night, getting a glass of ice-cold sweet tea in Switzerland is like buying diet food from McDonald’…you can order it, but you are not going to be happy with what you are served…and you may even end up vomiting afterwards.

I admit, there are a LOT of things I just don’t understand…like why food trucks are so damn popular and how come sporks are not found EVERYWHERE?!? So when I saw this “Swiss premium Southern Style Sweet Tea,” I was at first confused… and they just plain pissed. The whole idea, does not make sense. It is like Taco Bell selling sushi or if Krispy Kreme started offering hot-yoga classes alongside their hot dougunts…You don’t see a good Southern company like Zatarain’s (known for their Cajun rice) promoting a line of premium milk chocolate or instant fondue! So WTF Switzerland? I am a fan of your knives, your watches, your funny Lederhosen pants, and of course YOUR food…but back off and respect that Sweet Tea, along with deep-fried everything, pecan-pie, and turducken  are gift from the Deep South of the USA… Switzerland, you have ENOUGH culinary accomplishments, SO let us Southerners enjoy our limited successes so that we can try to compensate for our low literacy levels, our high obesity levels, and the many other ways our proud region lags behind the rest of the developed world.

…and YES. I am a Southerner. Born and raised in Louisiana…and proud of it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Sweet Tea Is SOUTHERN…Not Swiss”

  1. June 23, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    Since you mentioned McDonald’s, and this is about Sweet Tea, I have to chime in with how much I hate McDonald’s Sweet Tea. It tastes like Lipton Tea with so much sugar in it that it has become gritty. And it doesn’t taste like it was brewed properly. Not being from the south, and how I hear Southerners talk about Sweet Tea, this crap can’t possibly be right. As a tea drinker, I feel like I’ve been cheated my whole life by not ever being able to taste proper Sweet Tea.

    • June 23, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      Well…we need to fix your sweet tea deprivation….you need to come on down South and get yourself some quality stuff. Or if you ever see ‘Milo’s’ sweet tea, then grab a gallon. This stuff originated in Alabama and has been spreading. This is the tea my Grandmother (who lives in Alabama) has ALWAYS served us.

      • chiyoi
        June 24, 2012 at 3:46 am #

        Maybe you should Google a bit and you would have found out that Swiss Premium isn’t a Swiss company but an US one, it is owned by Dean Diary. 🙂
        http://swiss-tea.com/terms-and-conditions/
        The same goes for the Swiss Miss Milk Powder as you can see here it is also an US company http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swiss_Miss
        So please just because it says Swiss, it doesn’t mean it is Swiss.

        Also I have no Idea how the copyright name works. K-Swiss shoes have also the name Swiss in it but again is an US company.

        Anyway maybe it just says Swiss so they can sell it better, who knows?

        cheers from Switzerland 😉

  2. June 24, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Hi Chiyoi…. I actually did realize that these are are American companies (likely playing off the positive images that anything labeled as “Swiss” tends to connate). I really am a BIG fan of EVERYTHING Swiss-made. Your attention to quality is second to none, and I have never been dissatisfied with any TRUE Swiss product. In a week I am actually going back to Switzerland for vacation (and I cant’ wait).

    I just get annoyed when companies ‘muddy-the-waters’ and make grocery shopping more confusing. Regardless if the company is for Switzerland or not, anything labeled “Swiss” and selling “Southern Sweet Tea” just seems weird to me. It would be like if the famous dog food brand “Kibbles and Bits,” created a line of ‘treats’ for humans. Or if the ‘La Tortilla Company’ came out with Greek pita bread. It is possible, but suddenly the ignorant consumer may not realize what he is actually getting or what ethnicity the cuisine originated from.

    Either way, Switzerland is AMAZING, and I am looking forward to spending time there and maybe yodeling from a few peaks in the Alps. Thanks for reading and I hope my humble rant did not offend.

  3. chiyoi
    June 24, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    nope you didn’t offend in anyway, companies just want to make money ^^

    Cool to here that you are coming to Switzerland, are you going into the alps for Hiking? or also city sightseeing?

    • June 24, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      If you go to Switzerland, the Alps are a requirement! Yep, we will be spending some time in near lake Geneva then some time in the mountains and Zermatt. Switzerland is one of the best places in the world to hike/trek/climb…we keep on going back!

  4. chiyoi
    June 24, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Well I hope that you will have great weather, and fantastic Holidays 🙂

  5. June 25, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    Like Chiyoi mentioned, I believe this is a family name. I think you’re off the mark with the Kibbles & Bits comparssion, thats a company known for making dog food. Swiss is not a company known for making anything that is related to Switzerland. Ditto La Tortilla company.

    but I’m interested in the Switzerland trip, any items you already know you’re seeking out?

    • June 25, 2012 at 9:03 am #

      Hi Rodzilla! Good Point… Sometimes my ‘rants’ are just quick posts that come from the first reaction I get after something catches my attention.

      Oh and Lat Tortilla Factory tortillas are pretty tasty…not so true for the Kibbles and Bits.

      I love roaming through Switzerland’s green valleys, cold glaciers, and stone lined streets. This trip we plan on spending some time in the Montreux region and doing a few short climbs within an hour’s drive. We also have plans to do a ‘via ferrata’ or two. These are fixed-line climbs where you scale a cliff side. They are a lot of fun and a great adrenalin rush once you look down and see the exposure. I know we will have several days in Zermatt and we have a mountain we plan on climbing there. Zermatt is an AMAZING town, but I was so sad when this quaint village got a McDonalds. It really bothered me. Now the town is getting filled with more ‘cheesy’ nonsense and crappy souvenir stores. I just keep on hoping that they will continue to ban gasoline powered vehicles in the town.

      Thanks for reading and your site is pretty cool too…BIG fan of your dino-logo in your photos you post. Cool idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat | Fed Up Food - July 20, 2012

    […] More Then Pizza and Pasta: What Italians Really Eat Whenever I am in another country, I always try to stop off at a grocery store to see what the locals REALLY eat. Sometimes I find some surprising stuff… […]

  2. Paying Pilgrimage To ‘Holey’ Cheese | Fed Up Food - July 26, 2012

    […] Swiss foods, including their chocolate and various other treats, are so legendary that even non-Swiss foods are trying to be associated with the small, neutral, country. Cheese…glorious Swiss cheese. A […]

  3. Corn Cornfusion | Fed Up Food - April 16, 2013

    […] I guess, like ‘Italian’ salad dressing and ‘Swiss’ tea, some things just get branded with a nation’s identity regardless of if there is any actual […]

Leave a Reply

