Milk Soda?!?

20120716-080748.jpg

Ever since I was a little kid, I have been fortunate enough to frequently visit the prestine country of Switzerland, a quaint utopian world where things just seem better. The air is fresher, the cities are calmer, and even the cow poop smells nice .

But despite all the time I have spent in the Swiss mountains, I have ignored the ever-looming presence of Rivella. This beverage is advertised on pretty much every corner of Switzerland, and shows up on all menus. While I enjoy the occasional cream soda, or can of Barq’s root beer, I really am not much of a soft-drink fan. So I have always neglected Rivella…in fact I had no idea even what it really was…

Until yesterday.

We are in the small Alpine town of Zermatt, preparing for a climb to a nearby summit, when our Swiss guide and friend orders a Rivella. He kindly offers me a sip, and I tell him I am not in the mood for a cola…
He then explains Rivella is NOT Coke, and is actually more popular in Switzerland then Coke is. So what is so special about this uniquely Swiss beverage?

Well…it is made with milk… This is a DAIRY based soda. Sounds kind of gross… right?

Rivella is made from the watery part of milk and reveatevly few other ingredients to create a very special soda that is only really found in Switzerland.

It come in three flavors/varieties, and true Swiss order it by the color of the label, not by the flavor description. So our guide had ordered a Rivella ‘Red’, which was the original flavor. After been told what this soda was made of, I took the opportunity to try the stuff. Apparently I am no true ‘Swiss.’ The flavor to me seemed like the bad combination of the acid from a citrus fruit paired with mellow tang of a glass of milk. It just reminded me of why I never drink orange juice while eating a bowl of cereal for breakfast; I think the base of the milk and the acid of the citrus just clash too much.

BUT, Rivella clearly does have a loyal following. Many people do love the uniquely tangy soda creation. The Swiss love the stuff, and many Fench cross the border just to pick up cases of this only-sold-in-Switzerland drink. The rest of the Fed Up family that was accompanying me on this trip all enjoyed Rivella. While they said they would stick with their go-to Coke, the Rivera was a nice way to fully immerse one’s self in Swiss culture and cuisine.

So if you get the chance, try some Rivella. You may just fall in love with this dairy-based soda, and discover that you have a little ‘Swiss’ in you.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Milk Soda?!?”

  1. Frances antoinette
    July 16, 2012 at 1:46 am #

    When I used to live in Geneva, I tried this several times to see what all the hype was about—and after doing so, I still have no idea why it’s considered tasty!

    • July 17, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      I bet it is something that many of the locals just grow up with… But I would not dare mention my personal negative feeling towards the drink while in Switzerland for fear of getting attacked by the loyal Rivella drinkers.

  2. July 16, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    Huh. Who knew? I have a feeling I wouldn’t like it though. I can’t stand drinking milk anyway

    • July 17, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

      Yep, same with me, I don’t ever really drink milk in a glass…only in a bowl with a VERY high cereal to milk ratio…. But this soda really did not taste that milky, but it was DEFINITELY not like Coke or a quality Barq’s

  3. Sylvie
    July 17, 2012 at 4:44 am #

    You are right it does not sound like the greatest combination for a drink but I will definitely give it a try next week during my short time in Switzerland. Sometimes, strange mixtures are surprisinly interesting.

    • July 17, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      YES, sometimes the strange combos are AMAZING…that is why I had to try it…. but sadly I will not ordering this anytime soon. YOU should really try it though and maybe the flavor will work for you. Order the “Red” which is the orginal…the “Green” is supposed to have a green-tea sort of flavor added.

      • Sylvie
        July 18, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

        My time in Switzerland is going to be so short, I might have combine many things together, like red rivella, meringue Mövenpick ice cream and of course some Gruyère! haha

      • July 19, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

        Haha….YES! you might just have to have one Complete meal comprised solely of Swiss food- ha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paying Pilgrimage To ‘Holey’ Cheese | Fed Up Food - July 26, 2012

    […] To ‘Holey’ Cheese Switzerland is known for many foods…of course there are a few that are a little strange to the typical American, BUT most Swiss […]

  2. The Secret Swiss Cereal | Fed Up Food - August 4, 2012

    […] on Swiss shelves?!? It is not just this cereal, but other things like Switzerland’s unique milk-soda, and their awesome ice cream, that all seem to be forever fenced-in by the Alps surrounding the […]

  3. Natural Selection | Fed Up Food - August 22, 2012

    […] they all take pictures of our Grand Canyon, and that is just a hole in the ground). Anyway here are some things we are missing out on in the USA: A beautiful selection of LOCALLY produced cheeses. So we are in […]

  4. Maniac Mike’s Magical Medicinal Meals: EVOO | Fed Up Food - December 11, 2012

    […] that Italians love cream cheese,  brussels spouts are tasty, the Swiss have some weird drinks and we have introduced the world to some wonderful tasty combos…so we can’t be complete […]

Leave a Reply

