Fiber Feast

 

Time for another food-combo from the Fed Up Kitchen.

This fiber packed meal is AMAZINGLY tasty and freaking healthy. So if you are looking for something new to keep you fueled, try this out:

Once you smell the toaster oven broiling the top of this beautiful creation, the intoxicating aroma is going to lure you in for an immediate bite…just remebmer those glowing red heating elements lining the inside of the toaster oven are stupid-hot….yes, I have burned myself MANY times due to impatiently reaching for my meals before realizing how dumb it is to put your hand in a toaster oven that is turned on.

Bake a sweet potato…simple right? BUT…remember, here at Fed Up we only serve the best, so don’t bake  just ANY sweet potato. Get a long, skinny one, which allows for a faster more thorough cooking process. Plus, this shape allows for a maximum surface area to be covered in tasty toppings once split open and ready for eating. Oh…and remember once you are done baking the sweet potato, to try to save as much ‘Sweet Potato Honey.’

Zap some small broccoli florets in the microwave to get em cooked.

Once your beautiful sweet potato is fully baked, split it open and mix around some red pepper, black pepper, chives, and a bunch of Cajun seasoning  (or any other garlic/onion based stuff that is sure to leave your breath stinking). Add some sharp cheddar  cheese to the sweet potato’s insides and mix it all together to give you that ‘twice-baked’ sweet potato look. Then top the whole thing with the broccoli and more cheese (cheese is all-powerful). Finish it off with more seasoning and plenty of chives and hit it under a oven’s broiler (or use THE BEST KITCHEN APPLIANCE), to roast the broccoli and give your cheese some quality melt-time.

The tasty layers of this meal work great together: Seasoned sweet potato underneath a cheesy-broccoli combo with a crunchy top crust.

The roasted broccoli develops a nutty taste and a charred textural element. The melted cheese seeps deep down  flavoring the entire sweet potato. This all works perfectly with the seasoned sweet potato, creating one hell of a tasty combo.

Both broccoli and sweet potatoes are nutrient dense vegetables that also pack a big fiber payload, which gives this meal bonus points for those health-concious folks. Another benefit is the simple fact that this one cheap meal. You can thrown in some canned beans to amp up the fiber even more and also provide some protein, and then you have created a well rounded meal that only cost you a few bucks.

Regardless of if your diet is seriously lacking fiber, if you just don’t give a damn about healthy food, or even if you are not a fan of vegetables…you still need to give this meal a try (just add extra cheese-haha). Your cravings for a hearty meal will be happily satisfied and you won’t be disappointed in the taste or in yourself for eating this.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Mr. Fed Up Dishes

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

14 Comments on “Fiber Feast”

  1. July 22, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    I LOVE sweet potatoes and broccoli, and I love that combo you described! 😀
    I also agree that the toaster oven is the BEST kitchen appliance ever. I use it for so many things, mostly not even to toast bread! I roast vegetables there, since I usually make single servings of veggies for myself. 🙂

    • July 23, 2012 at 9:08 am #

      This combo is GREAT. But sweet potatos on their own are pretty tasty too. I am always stuffing my sweet potatos with random stuff…beans, sour cream, feta cheese, cliantro, salsa, turkey…etc. And I am pretty sure a toaster oven is the ONLY appliance I have to have in my kitchen.

    • July 23, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      This combo is GREAT. But sweet potatos on their own are pretty tasty too. I am always stuffing my sweet potatos with random stuff…beans, sour cream, feta cheese, cliantro, salsa, turkey…etc. And I am pretty sure a toaster oven is the ONLY appliance I have to have in my kitchen. …I too use it to roast vegetables and broil chicken…but the occasional toasted sandwich does get toaster-oven time too.

  2. July 23, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    That sounds fantastic! I’m going to give it a try this week! It looks delicious, too! Hearty and filling! That’s the best part for me. If it looks good, chances are I’ll enjoy it to the max. If something doesn’t look good, I likely won’t even bother trying it. Amazing how we eat with our eyes, isn’t it?

    • July 23, 2012 at 9:16 am #

      YES! While often times my meals don’t look pretty, I really do always try to add those little details to make a meal look more appetizing. Some chives topping this combo once out of the oven really do make it! Whether those last few chives or shakes of seasoning actually affect the taste or not is something I am not sure about, but they play a big roll in the appearance of the meal which sets up your mind for ANTICIPATING something good and tasty.

  3. July 27, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    So, this is when I do the Homer drooling thing?

    • July 28, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Haha…I hate posting pictures of GREAT GRUB…it always leaves me hungry

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best Bite of the Week | Fed Up Food - October 12, 2012

    […] perfection- anything photographed with such a nice background is going to seem like it would be worth making yourself, even if it means you might ‘see red‘.  Also, I want to begin sharing my ‘Best […]

  2. Toasting To Good Memories | Fed Up Food - November 9, 2012

    […] this loyal appliance would one day be toast…I was aware that perfectly melted cheese meals, amazing sweet potatoes,  and many of my  favorite ‘Fed Up Dishes‘ could only be delivered for a finite time […]

  3. Stuff Your Pie Hole with a Pumpkin-Pie-Sort-of-Thing | Fed Up Food - November 13, 2012

    […] yet few people realize its potential… It is healthy in that it has some quality nutrients, fiber and can provide a low-calorie ‘filler’ in many recipes.  Plus it has a versatile […]

  4. Be a Macgyver | Fed Up Food - February 28, 2013

    […] I admit. It was nothing compared to some of my favorite lunches. But under the circumstances, it was damn […]

  5. Japan: Land of Food Perfection | Fed Up Food - April 11, 2013

    […] box. Then the box was delicately placed in to an expensive paper shopping bag…all this for a freaking root vegetable which I gobbled down in a few minutes. It was probably one of the best sweet potatoes I have ever […]

  6. Know Your FACTS: Making Crap Tasty | Fed Up Food - April 25, 2013

    […] in nuts to give you something to chew on when digging into a pile of mashed sweet potatoes. Multiple textures keep the meal from getting mundane and your mouth is kept busy adapting to each forkful.  The […]

  7. Face the Flax | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2013

    […] am I am ‘flax-convert’? Not really. It was good. It was enjoyable. But I already get my fiber and other vitals from plenty of things I normally  scarf down each day; so I am not actively […]

Leave a Reply

