Watch-Your-Mouth

I…like many MANY other food fanatics, have got a personal list of terminology that I can’t stand seeing used.

Please NEVER call me a ‘foodie’…I eat food and enjoy discussing it, but I am no ‘foodie.’

And the terms ‘yummy’ and ‘scrumptious’ just kind of piss me off.

There are a BUNCH of other words that I try to avoid when food is mentioned; but Serious Eats just posted a list of “banned-words,” ย that I think that others will agree with.

Check it out and see if you are guilty using too many of these…

 

Here is the link:

http://www.seriouseats.com/2012/04/our-secret-list-of-banned-words.html

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants, Recommendations, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Watch-Your-Mouth”

  1. July 27, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Haha, it looks like I haven’t really used most of those words in my writing yet, so that’s a good thing. I AM, however, stuck with always saying, “it was really good” and “it was SO amazing” like a noob. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    My favorite part of the list was when they were talking about the use of the words “sinful” and “decadent”. Haha–
    “We are here to celebrate it, not hate ourselves for loving it!”
    I hate it when people title their recipes with that, because I’ve got some super diet-conscious people in my family. If they ask me for the recipe of a particular dessert, I don’t want to make them feel bad for eating and enjoying the darn thing when I tell them what it’s called, so that they can look it up! C’mon people.. Food is a good thing. Let’s not hate on it. ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜€

    • July 27, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Haha. I have tried hard to avoid certain words…but sometimes I guess we all have to resort to ‘banned’ words. …. and food is definitely a good thing!

  2. July 27, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Hmmmm…I have to disagree with scrumptious and decadent (well, if decadent didn’t have such a negative meaning. It’s one of those words that sounds rich and pleasant to me, like delectable). Calling food sinful? No. Just no. Food is life. The key is what you do with it

    • July 27, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

      Haha. I just don’t like the term ‘scrumptious’…maybe because it is SO HARD TO SPELL.
      ha

      • July 28, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

        Hehe, it’s fun to spell! ๐Ÿ˜‰
        I’m tired of seeing delicious everywhere. That word is almost as overused as massive

      • July 28, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

        YOU ARE RIGHT! Delicious is used way too much….I think we need to create new words to mean ‘tasty.’

      • July 28, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

        I like this idea. Report back in a week with your thoughts!

      • July 29, 2012 at 7:19 am #

        I am not that creative…but I will be watching Food Network in hopes of finding some inspiration

  3. July 31, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Point taken! I’ll try to remember not to use such words when commenting on your blog, hehe. Personally, I still like the word “delicious” — but you have to say it the right way to really convey the enjoyment of the food described.

    • July 31, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

      Thank you for ‘watching-your-mouth- haha. I really don’t mind that much…except for ‘foodie’…that drives me crazy.

Leave a Reply

