The Secret Swiss Cereal

While there are some terrible failures on grocery store shelves, our cereal choices are pretty freaking amazing!

I am proud of the endless aisles dedicated to our favorite boxed breakfast product here in America. The cereal selection is crazy-awesome! There are options to meet everyone’s taste, health, and even budget preferences. Who doesn’t love browsing the cereal aisle?!?

Well…it looks like the Europeans have been keeping all their really good cereals a secret from the rest of the world.

In most of my traveling experience, I am generally disappointed with whatever Europeans are offering to fill my breakfast bowl with. I typical resort to old staples, that while always decent, they never live up to some of the great finds I spoil myself with at home. But in the past year I have discovered that maybe the Europeans do have some secretive cereals that need to be shared with the rest of the world. I was surprised with how tasty muesli is when I stumbled across the European creation in my local Louisiana grocery store. But while muesli was good, and met my criteria for freaking-healthy-foods,  I came across something recently that caters to everyone’s early morning sweet-tooth…

This cereal easily satisfies one’s chocolate craving, BUT goes even further by providing a far more complex taste than a box of Cocoa Puffs or  Count Chocula.

I am happy to introduce you to “Ovomaltine Flakes.”

I had to have this Swiss creation properly photographed with a stereotypical Swiss background…YES, those are Swiss chalets and people playing the famous Alpenhorn.

While shopping for grub on a recent trip in the Swiss Alps, I saw this bright orange box and was lured in. I figured I would give it a try and munch on it as a impromptu trail-mix for a long hike we had planned. The next day, while pushing for a summit surrounded in clouds, I pulled out some of the cereal and suddenly could not stop snacking. This stuff was GREAT. It was not just chocolate, but…MORE.

I personally am not much of a chocolate fan…it is good, but other things just taste better. So what made this chocolate cereal so special? Well, this Ovomaltine cereal was true to its name and had a legitimate taste of Ovaltine (what the USA calls the Swiss created drink mix, Ovomaltine). The big difference between Ovaltine(Ovomaltine), and say your stereotypical chocolate syrup drink mix (like Nesquik), is that Ovaltine has a MALT taste to it (and does NOT rely on some dumb bunny to push product to kids). This bitter element from the malt flavoring truly adds a whole new dimension, instantly making Ovaltine stand out from the basic chocolate drink options…and the cereal…YES, it has a nice strong malt kick mixed-in with the chocolaty flavor.

A breakfast bowl worth bragging about. The milk instantly got infused with the distinct chocolaty-malty flavor as soon as it was combined with the cereal. Some sliced banana on top just made things perfect (no breakfast is complete with out at least a little bit of fresh produce).

Each flake of cereal was doused in a thick coating of the powdered Ovaltine. This not only ensured that each bite was flavor packed, but that as soon as the cereal was bathed in milk, the once white liquid instantly became a rich chocolaty hue. This resulted in a bowl of ‘cereal-milk’ that was DEFINITELY not poured down the drain once the solid bits were all gone.

The Swiss have shared their cheese, their chocolates, and their knives…So WHY is this cereal only found on Swiss shelves?!? It is not just this cereal, but other things like Switzerland’s unique milk-soda, and their awesome ice cream, that all seem to be forever fenced-in by the Alps surrounding the small country. I am fed up with how in a world that is constantly shrinking, some items just can’t ever seem to cross borders.   This cereal NEEDS to be shared.

Ovomaltine was originally concocted in Switzerland. And now the drink mix is easily accessible by its international name Ovaltine(Oveltine in other places)…But I think the  Swiss are just keeping the really REALLY good stuff hidden from us.

Who would have thought that Switzerland, a small neutral country, could conquer the entire world with their cheese and chocolates…NOW they need to concentrate on cereal and get this stuff sold in the US.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recommendations, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “The Secret Swiss Cereal”

  1. August 4, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Ummmm…want!

    • August 5, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      I don’t even like chocolatey cereals normally, but this was great!

  2. Christine
    August 5, 2012 at 7:03 am #

    This cereal is absolutely delicious!! Do you have any idea where I can pick some up in Zurich or Geneva? I once found this brand in Vienna but that was awhile back and I’ve been craving this for the past five years! Was really happy to find your post. Thanks!

    • August 5, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      I ma glad you liked the post! I am pretty sure you can find it in Migros or a COOP. I got my box from the COOP in Zermatt. I am sure the other COOPs must have them too. Good Luck!

      • Christine
        August 5, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

        Awesome, can’t wait to go check it out. Thanks!!

  3. Christine
    November 18, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    Hi again! Just a quick note to say that I was SO happy to find this cereal AND the muesli version in Coop stores in Geneva, Zurich AND Interlaken 🙂 I was in Switzerland in August and am finishing up the last of the Ovomaltine that I brought back to North America. I stocked up what I could and I wouldn’t have found my beloved cereal without your blog post. Thank you – you’re the best!

    • November 20, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      I am SO HAPPY that I helped you find a tasty treat….but I am also EXTREMELY jealous…I should have brought back a few boxes myself. I am actually going back to Switzerland in a few months and I will be sure to bring a few boxes home with me.

      Thanks for reading!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “How To Earn $30,000 Monthly… LIVE (from people that ACTUALLY do)” - August 4, 2012

    […] if (titleincell == 'yes') {document.getElementById('splittitletext').style.display = '';} } The Secret Swiss CerealThe Secret Swiss […]

  2. Free Lunch Found | Fed Up Food - August 12, 2012

    […] Switzerland, we decided to give our weary limbs a rest by a quite stream. We munched on some of the grub from our packs and decided to take in the beautiful surrounding. That is when we saw it…growing […]

  3. It’s OK to be a Squirrel | Fed Up Food - September 27, 2012

    […] a moments notice. Dried fruit is freaking awesome on its own or added to any breakfast bowl. Cereal, candies and crackers are always good additions to any snack sack. Drink mixes make water […]

  4. Vote With Your Stomach | Fed Up Food - November 6, 2012

    […] our international food relations; Too many foreign foods and creative creations are not yet made available to hungry […]

  5. Cereal Simplicity | Fed Up Food - November 20, 2012

    […] are many cereals to drool over…there are the classics and then there are crazy international creations. And we all have our own cereal addiction….but here is another cereal to add to your shopping […]

  6. Cereal Supper | Fed Up Food - December 7, 2012

    […] many varieties of cereal it is slightly crazy….but that is not a bad thing. From granola, to exotic foreign stuff to muesli and the classics, there is always something to fit your mood. So you can NEVER get bored […]

  7. Cereal Supper | Fed Up Food - December 7, 2012

    […] many varieties of cereal it is slightly crazy….but that is not a bad thing. From granola, to exotic foreign stuff to muesli and the classics, there is always something to fit your mood. So you can NEVER get bored […]

  8. Guard Your Nuts! | Fed Up Food - February 11, 2013

    […] chestnuts, like certain cereals, ice cream, and various other tasty treats remain solely within reach of those lucky Europeans. I […]

  9. Face the Flax | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2013

    […] when it came to pure taste, the flax cereal could not compete with some of my favorite finds,  or my usual breakfast crack. But it was healthy and it definitely kept me feeling full for a […]

Leave a Reply

