‘Ice Ice Baby’

As a recent Chow.com video and post just made me realize…WHY IS SONIC’S ICE SO DAMN PERFECT?

Sonic, the drive-in restaurant chain is known for many things… chili dogs making a mess in your car, waitresses clumsily trying to deliver food while roller-blading, and over sized beverage containers that can’t fit ANY vehicle’s cup holders…BUT their crushed ice is frozen perfection. I had no idea so many people were such big fans of the stuff.

There is something magical about Sonic’s crushed ice…WHAT IS IT? and WHY can’t all restaurants serve up ice like this? I am sick of the boring blocks that my refrigerator spews out…My beverages would be so much better if they only had Sonic’s special ice.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants, Recommendations, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “‘Ice Ice Baby’”

  1. August 6, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    I am a fan of Sonic ice and have to agree their cups do not fit in the cup holders – ha!

    • August 7, 2012 at 9:27 am #

      I don’t think the cups are too big…our cup holders are just too small. Haha.

  2. October 4, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    I’m catching up on the missed entries buried deep in my inbox. Because I have a sonic story to tell. I had been jonesing for a crappy gas station burger. But all the gas stations around here are trying to go ‘upscale’ and you can’t find these anymore. They are a perfect horrible burger that at the right time tastes like the best thing in the world. A thin,oddly colored patty and a limp bun. I’m not big on a lot of toppings on my burgers. A couple weeks after we determend there were no crappy gas station burgers in Omaha, we went through sonics and I got a basic burger with nothing on it.

    OMG. It was perfect. It was exactly what I had been jonesing for. It was a crappy gas station butger. It was heaven. So now I know where to go when I start wanting those. Sonics. Only they cost twice as much as they should. Their burgers are over priced for the quality.

    But you are right, they have great ice.

    • October 4, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      haha. I am glad you found your crappy-burger ‘paradise’. I personally avoid any food that is sold from the same place you buy gas…EVEN Subway’s that are attached to gas stations just are never as good: http://fedupfood.com/2012/03/16/do-you-want-gas-with-that-footlong-6/

      but if you are looking for a ‘crappy’ burger, I guess a gas station is the right place to start -ha.

      • October 4, 2012 at 11:30 am #

        Its one of those late night cravings that is probably all that is left of some memory tied to some childhood, family vacation, road trip I’ve since forgotten.

Leave a Reply

