Spicing Up Life

It is AMAZING how crappy some food can taste. And there are MANY times when I have spent an afternoon preparing a meal for dinner that resulted in a disaster. BUT…there is a secret savior that can turn bland foods and burnt dinners into something ediblie…and even enjoyable.

SEASONING!

With this many options, there is never a reason to have under-seasoned food.

Ok. It seems obvious. But many people seem to think seasoning  is limited to your stereotypical staples…salt, pepper. Maybe cinnamon or parsley, or if you are really adventurous: red pepper flakes (note the sarcasm is intended) ….but there are so many wonderful flavors that can be gotten from a seasoning shaker filled with a carefully chosen mixture of ingredients. A herb or spice on its own is nice, but a beautifully created blend is a true work of art which results in every ingredient working in perfect harmony to elevate even the most boring of foods.

I personally like to make my own batch of seasoning, consisting of garlic, onion, black pepper, cayenne, and Hungarian sweet paprika (along with a few other things tossed in). This combo goes great on everything from vegetables to chicken, stirfrys and seafood. Even Dozer, the Fed Up dog, loves this stuff. Sometimes though, it is nice to see what seasonings the professionals have created… So the other day I was checking out the overwhelming options at my local grocery store and that is when I came across this stuff:

Chef Paul Prudhomme’s Magic Seasoning Blends with NO salt and NO sugar.

I used the ‘Sweet and Spicy’ flavor mix to make my brussels sprout – beet – feta – pine nut pizza taste AMAZING! The pizza on its own was great, but after topping it off with this stuff, the simple ingredients became one of the tastiest dinners I have made in a while.

I never buy seasonings that are have salt or sugar, because they are some of the cheapest ingredients. I do not want to pay a premium price for a prepackaged seasoning that is half made up of ‘filler’ ingredients. Plus, you can always add your own desired amount of salt or sugar to a dish to meet your personal salt-craving or sweet-tooth. So, when I came across this No Salt, No Sugar line of seasoning blends from Chef Paul Prudhomme (a famous Louisiana chef known for his ‘blackened fish’), I had to pick some up. AND WOW, they are pretty damn impressive. I love the ‘Sweet and Spicy’ blend. You would not belive how it can turn simple roasted vegetables into a gourmet meal. Some of the other flavors did not score as high on my personal taste-test. I did not like the “Toasted Onion and Garlic.” But in general, these blends were all very tasty and I have to admit, they definitely rivaled my own home-made spice mix.

There are plenty of other seasoning mixes also available. Mrs Dash has a solid line of flavors to choose from (the Extra Spicy is one of my favorites). And Yes, even the big boy, McCormick, has a good range of tasty options (the Garlic and Herb is great).

With SO MANY wonderful spice and seasoning blends available at your typical grocery store, there is NO EXCUSE to ever have to resort to eating crappy tasting, bland food.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Spicing Up Life”

  1. September 8, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    MMmmm…spices. As far as spices go, I think black pepper is pretty bland. I’ll take cayenne instead. 🙂 One of my friends took me to a Savory Spice Shop awhile back. That place is fantastic. You should order some of their Pesto Parmesan Sprinkle…or one of their other blends. Here: http://savoryspiceshop.com/shopsavory.html

    • September 10, 2012 at 2:29 am #

      Oh. Wow. Thanks for sharing. I really like black pepper , but only freshly corse ground stuff. I do love some heat though, and I love adding ancho and chipotle pepper to dishes. And yes, Cayenne too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s OK to be a Squirrel | Fed Up Food - September 27, 2012

    […] to meet your own ridiculously high home-made-standards, then bringing along some sauces and seasonings is always a good idea to turn any pre-cooked lunch into something more acceptable. And […]

  2. Collecting Dust | Fed Up Food - October 17, 2012

    […] for food related collections: I have managed to use up half my kitchen cupboard space with various spices and seasonings that I have picked up from my […]

  3. Vegetable Flavor Families « Reflections with Rhonda - October 29, 2012

    […] Spicing Up Life (fedupfood.com) […]

  4. Quality Vs. Quantity | Fed Up Food - October 31, 2012

    […] get me wrong…I will not be cheap with my cheese, and I will still splurge on expensive spices and gourmet […]

  5. Upgrade Your Food | Fed Up Food - November 5, 2012

    […] I always have my ‘snack sack‘ at the ready. It is filled with travel-friendly foods, seasonings, and all sorts of items to make meals better. So when a overworked-flight attendant drops a boring […]

  6. Make This: Gruley | Fed Up Food - January 8, 2013

    […] *Garlic-herb seasoning […]

  7. Know Your FACTS: Making Crap Tasty | Fed Up Food - April 25, 2013

    […] can be amazingly awesome all on its own; much of the junk we stuff our face with needs a bit of seasoning. The typical tomato you buy from your mega mart is some sort of industrially produced product that […]

Leave a Reply

