Thou Shall Not Pass

20120902-180109.jpg

The Fed Up HQ is based in Louisiana, and if you pay any attention to the news , then you know about the craziness hurricane Isaac has caused the Gulf Coast.

Many areas have been without power, and plenty of businesses have been closed. Well after 4 days, my personal food reservoirs were running low. So I fired up my Jeep and ventured into the city in search of supplies to stock my kitchen with.

I figured I should head straight to our local Walmart. It is always open, and I knew that despite the intense hurricane, this mega-mart’s extensive distribution would ensure that the store would be fully stocked with all the items I craved (I really missed my Honey Bunches of Oates).

But when I pulled up to the Walmart parking lot I was stunned to see the place closed. But not just closed… The whole building barricaded itself in and blocked all the doorways with pallets. I understand the fear of looting during the prime hours immediately following a disaster when precious boxes of cereal and other foods are defenseless against hungry criminals taking advantage of the situation. But this was several days after the storm, and these barricades were extremely disheartening.

What was a hungry guy to do!?! So I headed home with an empty stomach and a bitter anger at Walmart’s lack of effort to supply the needing community with rations. That is when I suddenly saw it. A BEAUTIFUL SIGHT…Whole Foods with doors wide open eagerly welcoming starved storm survivors with their pricy produce. For once I neglected to ponder the the prices and I forked over my wallet so that I could happily return home with tasty grub.

So Whole Foods does not sell Honey Bunches Of Oates because it is far from ‘all natural’ and probably one too many trees were harmed to make the cereal’s box… BUT, I was grateful this place was open for business. I have a new found respect for Whole Foods and their desire to both assist and profit from a community in need.

Whole Foods was one of the first places open, and because of their quick response to get back to business, many people were able to sleep easy with full bellies and happy hearts.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Thou Shall Not Pass”

  1. Michael
    September 2, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    I think they managed to reopen on Wednesday afternoon or early Thursday! Robert’s, a local Louisiana grocery near my home was reopened on Thursday on just a generator and a dial up phone line for the cash registers…It was pretty impressive.

    • September 4, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Hi! The Roberts where I live was also open and fully operational quickly after the storm. It is great to see how some of the local businesses are so quick to get open. They must be used to the local ‘weather.’

Leave a Reply

