Best Bite of the Week

Mr. Fed Up here with an important announcement:

My life has been sort of crazy these past few months…I managed to get out of a bad relationship before it dragged me down beyond saving. Now I feel that every day is one filled with adventure  The sun is a little brighter  and food tastes so MUCH better! I am starting my life from a new beginning and loving every minute of it.

So why do you care…?

Well…

A sneak peek at the new Fed Up HQ. This kitchen rocks!…now if I could just figure out where the toaster oven should go…

My dog, Dozer, and I have just moved into our new home and we are very excited. The new Fed Up HQ is pretty cool. The kitchen especially is freaking awesome and meets almost all the requirements outlined here on Fed Up.  So we plan on bringing better food to the Fed Up table and sharing our findings. Plus, the new Fed Up HQ is ridiculously photogenic ..matte black/grey granite counter tops, dark wood cabinets, stainless steel accents…yep the new kitchen is going to get some camera love and will be sure to elevate even the most mundane meals to higher levels of culinary perfection– anything photographed with such a nice background is going to seem like it would be worth making yourself, even if it means you might ‘see red‘.  Also, I want to begin sharing my ‘Best Bite’ of the week, where you get to check out my single best bit of food that I stuffed my face with. I promise it is going to be tasty….or at least unique.

Anyway...I want to share one of the ‘Best Bites’ from this week. My kitchen was finally finished and I wanted to get it nice and dirty from a solid night of making a home-cooked-meal. Plus, I wanted to replace the smell of drying paint with that of grilled onions and stinky cheese (why can’t Febreze make that a flavor?!?); So I went back to my culinary comfort zone and made one of my flatbread pizzas. But this one was different from any one I had made before…

I decided to splurge on this kitchen christening. The  first meal cooked in my new home would not be limited by my normally insane stinginess. I used a bunch of overpriced ingredients from Whole Foods and WOW was it amazing… even though I may not be able to pay my mortgage this month. The toppings for this flatbread pizza included (from bottom to top):

A true thing of beauty. The flavors were balanced perfectly.

*a thin layer of garlic/herb sauce

*a scattering of mozzarella

*plenty of caramelized onions

*spoonfuls of cottage cheese

*figs cut into quarters

*a bit of balsamic vinegar

*salami (a vegetarian version, but DON’T judge me-haha…it was on sale and it tasted really good)

*Aged goat cheese (Humboldt Fog made by Cypress Grove)

*Rosemary

A close up…figs and goat cheese should be a pizza staple.

The toppings may seem weird, but they worked great. The sweet roasted figs worked beautifully with the tangy goat cheese, and everything else came together to support the meal making it a GREAT way to celebrate my first kitchen creation in the new Fed Up HQ. So go be adventurous with your next meal and try a bunch of different ingredients that you may at first not think about eating.  Worst case scenario, you just end up throwing it all away and having a bowl of cereal for dinner (which is NOT a bad thing at all).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Best Bite, Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Best Bite of the Week”

  1. October 13, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    Beautify shot of the kitchen. I am envious. Beautiful pizza. But I’m not at all sure how I feel about figs on pizza. Having a bit of trouble with that. Although I like figs in general.

    • Mr. Fed Up
      October 15, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      I was VERY skeptical of fruit on pizza. Especially at the risk of using an expensive goat cheese in this meal. BUT it was LEGENDARY. The figs got nice and roasted and really did pair perfectly with the goat cheese. Just make sure you have the ‘mushiest’, sweetest figs possible and place them cut-side-up on the pizza when baking.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quality Vs. Quantity | Fed Up Food - October 31, 2012

    […] with only your favorite lobster portion.  So I loaded up on claws and this was definitely my Best Bite of that week. Besides the lobster, there was a full buffet of amazing items to much on. But I […]

  2. Stuff Your Pie Hole with a Pumpkin-Pie-Sort-of-Thing | Fed Up Food - November 13, 2012

    […] Everyone should be eating pumpkin, yet few people realize its potential… It is healthy in that it has some quality nutrients, fiber and can provide a low-calorie ‘filler’ in many recipes.  Plus it has a versatile earthy-sweet taste that is compatible with both savory entrees and sugary desserts. Well, the holidays are here and I am now getting my pumpkin fix! I have added it to pizzas, yogurt, and all sorts of other combinations. Of course, pumpkin has to be made into a pie to get the full experience and really kick off the winter festivities! So naturally I followed my traditional routine and made a ‘Pumpkin-Pie-Sort-of-Thing’…This definitely was this week’s ‘Best Bite.’ […]

  3. Cereal Simplicity | Fed Up Food - November 20, 2012

    […] times the ‘Best Bite’ of the week is something over-the-top…It may be an amazing home-made dinner that was carefully crafted, or an elaborate sushi platter from one of the city’s best […]

  4. BBBBest Bite | Fed Up Food - December 9, 2012

    […] Best Bite of the week […]

  5. MEAT MARKETing | Fed Up Food - December 13, 2012

    […] they are going to pollute my home with promotions, at least have them be for something cool like a goat cheese-fig-cottage cheese pizza; or maybe a pizza with such pungent toppings that will your entire house is sure to reek. At least […]

  6. Love the Lounge, Submit to Snobbery | Fed Up Food - January 3, 2013

    […] and enough cleverly chosen snacks to keep this picky eater happy. This was definitely a ‘Best Bite.’ While I have enjoyed far more elaborate buffets in various hotels, this was pretty damn […]

  7. Know Your FACTS: Making Crap Tasty | Fed Up Food - April 25, 2013

    […] I have had in a long…long…time. Yes, this will actually get the coveted Fed Up ‘Best Bite‘ award despite being born from such terrible […]

  8. Face the Flax | Fed Up Food - May 2, 2013

    […] we should all be stuffing our faces with. But if something is going to become a staple in the Fed Up HQ, then it needs to be more than just healthy…it has to be damn tasty […]

Leave a Reply

