Collecting Dust

So I wonder what is going to happen to these  ‘Collector’s Edition’ boxes of Kellogg’s cereal?

The Olympics are long gone, yet my local grocery store still has PILES of this promotional cereal. Of course when the Olympics were prominently airing on prime time television several months back, then these special ‘Collector’s Editions’ were sure to help lure fanatical shoppers to add the cereal to their grocery baskets for the hopeful pursuit of their own gold-medal-glory.  BUT NOW, these Olympic-stamped boxes only signify one thing: STALE cereal. Ok; I am sure that Fruit Loops have a much longer shelf-life than a few months, so I doubt any of the ‘2012 Olympic Edition’ has gone bad yet (although I think I would avoid ‘2008 Olympic Edition’ if I came across any of it). Still, these ‘Collector’s Editions’ are past news and no one really cares…so what happens to all these boxes?

Do people actually fall victim to cheesy marketing and buy ‘Collector’s Edition’ cereal?!?

And seriously…are there really people who ‘collect’ cereal?!? Are there people paying thousands of dollars on Ebay in order to get a ‘collectible’ box of Cookie Crisp?!? Well maybe there are…Cereal is possibly one of the best foods of all time. And I really can’t make fun of other people’s collections…I still eagerly buy new Legos to add to my ever-expanding collection.  As for food related collections: I have managed to use up half my kitchen cupboard space with various spices and seasonings that I have picked up from my travels.

So I guess I am going to shut up about the stupidity of the idea of a ‘Collector Edition’ cereal…

If you do see a box of 2008 Olympic cereal in mint condition; DON’T OPEN IT! Beside the fact that it is sure to be past its expiration date and probably taste nasty, you might  be able to sell it to some cereal or olympic addict for a bunch of cash.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Collecting Dust”

  1. October 17, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    I was in the drug store department at a large store, Walmart or Super Target, and I saw a lot of Proctor and Gamble products with the Olympic themed packaging. I noticed that the same product in the Olympics marked boxes were nearly a dollar more than one ones in the normal packaging. I did NOT buy any of the specialty packaged items. I wasn’t going to pay more for the same item just to get a box that would most likely end up in the trash anyawy. So No, I do not get taken in by Olympic stamped marketing tricks.

    • October 18, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      Good for YOU! More people need to look past the marketing ‘tricks’… I still am guilty of buying pretty much ANYTHING with the Star Wars brand on it. Especially if Yoda or Chewebacca are involved.

  2. Sylvie
    October 24, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    The question is: Is it as cheap as Halloween candy is November? If yes then it might be worse getting a few boxes! Haha (yes I’m cheap for this kind of stuff…)

    • October 30, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      Haha. I too go for the crazy awesome deals!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fridge Freak Out | Fed Up Food - November 27, 2012

    […] to be buying my favorite foods (cheese, mushrooms, etc) and dumb-distraction when I come across the stupid stuff that plagues grocery shelves. This results in me slowly losing track of the amount of items in my […]

  2. Cereal Supper | Fed Up Food - December 7, 2012

    […] to fit your mood. So you can NEVER get bored with the stuff. And we even worship cereal by creating collector editions, idolizing goofy mascots, and devoutly honoring any prize from found inside a […]

Leave a Reply

