Burned Out

20121026-153258.jpg

It really sucks getting burned when all you wanted was a cold drink…

I am working in Hong Kong this week and had to spend the day in mainland China. I am tired from jet lag, I am overheated from a lack of sufficient AC, and I am dehydrated from no H2O all day.

Our business contacts decide to treat us to lunch, and we were all ready to just rest our weary selves and refuel.

ALL I wanted was a glass of cold water. I asked the Chinese waitress in my most polite manner, if I could have some water… A cold glass of water. There was plenty if enthusiastic nodding and smiling, but I could tell she really had no idea what I was saying. After a few more attempts at communication, our local contact ordered my water for me.

I was seriously craving some cold water. I was amazingly thirsty and my throat felt drier than you could imagine.

Finally a tall glass was placed in front of me and I immediately swallowed a mouthful. WTF… It was steaming hot water! What the Hell was this nonsense!?! Who serves glasses of boiling water on a sweltering hot day to exhausted travlers!?! That damn drink left my entire mouth scorched and my temper fuming.

The food finally arrived. It was a wide range of local Chinese delicacies: dim sum, some type of fish, some meat, and vegetables. The diners all enjoyed it, but I am always annoyed how the Chinese food I get in China always seems to be slimy and have some sort slippery coating. Even the simple steamed vegetables must have had some residue coating them and causing them to constantly fall from my chopsticks grasp and fall back down on my plate splattering my nice shirt with reminders of the meal. But we were all grateful for our host’s generosity at serving an extravagant assortment of dishes and providing us a very authentic lunch.

Language and cultural barriers can keep a meal interesting… But you sometimes just end up getting burned.

20121026-154414.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Grub on the Go, Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Burned Out”

  1. October 29, 2012 at 5:53 am #

    Oh, that’s terrible. It’s so upsetting to really crave something, convey that to someone and then have them bring you the opposite. 😦

    • October 30, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      Yep…I just don’t understand why ANYONE would want a cup of boiling hot water to drink just like that…

Leave a comment