Quality Vs. Quantity

I am fed up with people telling me that it is all about ‘quality’…so many people think that a meal will always be better if only the best ingredients are used. I agree overpriced, ‘quality’ ingredients and meals are awesome (except when truffles are involved)…but often with an elaborate-ingredient-based meal where quality is the first priority, your opportunity to savor the flavors is limited to a few quick bites; Big quality usually results in small portions. 

A perfect, luxurious bite composed of priceless ingredients is a great thing, but it can leave you hungry for more…after spoling yourself with such ‘haute-cuisine,’ everything else may seem bland. Suddenly your fridge full of Wal-Mart purchased food will seem inadequate and you will rush to Whole Foods.

Then there is the simple fact that a small gourmet meal, will frequently leave you famished…Dining at the most fancy of restaurants will likely never fill you up like a meal from McDonald’s. And after leaving that Michelin-stared restaurant, not only is there a chance that your belly will still be relatively empty, but so will your wallet.

All you can eat lobster; with a choice to pick claws or tails…and you thought snow crab buffets were impressive…

So…sometiems we need to sacrifice a little quality and embrace quantity. 

A perfect example of quantity conquering quality was the ALL YOU COULD EAT LOBSTER from the dinner buffet at the Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel (in Hong Kong). Yes, the lobster lacked the pristine taste I enjoyed while dining in New England…but it was still freaking tasty and the never-ending supply of claws and tails allowed me to quickly ignore any slight imperfections of this prized crustacean. Not only was there a limitless supply of freshly boiled lobster, but this badass buffet even had separate platters for both claws and tails so you could be picky and stuff yourself with only your favorite lobster portion.  So I loaded up on claws and this was definitely my Best Bite of that week. Besides the lobster, there was a full buffet of amazing items to much on. But I definitely had more than my fair share of the seafood though (moist towelettes were badly needed after that feast)….I am sure the restaurant lost money on me.

I did not eat ONLY lobster. I got to get my grilled squid and vegetable fix too. There was also perfectly cooked shiitake mushrooms…and I love mushrooms.

Don’t get me wrong…I will not be cheap with my cheese, and I will still splurge on expensive spices and gourmet granola

BUT sometimes you just need to tell people to ‘shut up,’ when they claim that buffets are only bad and quality will always be king….especially when limitless lobster is on the menu.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Best Bite, Grub on the Go, Rants, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Quality Vs. Quantity”

  1. October 31, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    OMGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!! Send them here 🙂

  2. October 31, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    I agree completely! And also, I am completely jealous of your feast!

    • November 4, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      But now that I was spoiled with that feast…going to ‘Red Lobster’ will just seem that much worse…

  3. November 1, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    That food looks TOOOO amazing. I hate it when people assume that the higher the price means the higher the quality. That is not at all true. The cost/quality ratio is a balancing act and price is not a true indicator. Cost will also indicate travel time. Poor quality items may travel farther and have a higher price. Restaurants may over price things becaue they know people expect those items to be expensive. A lower quality local variety may turn out much better when preprared because it is fresher and will cost less as well. So I never base my decissions on cost = quality.

    • November 4, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      very true. I do try to eat fresh and local when possible…but sometimes you just get a craving for seafood in the middle of winter and you end up having to deal with the cost.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love the Lounge, Submit to Snobbery | Fed Up Food - January 3, 2013

    […] eater happy. This was definitely a ‘Best Bite.’ While I have enjoyed far more elaborate buffets in various hotels, this was pretty damn impressive for an airport […]

  2. Japan: Land of Food Perfection | Fed Up Food - April 11, 2013

    […] cheap my bill was…until I saw how pathetically small the salad was. I may be used to ‘American‘ sized portions, but this tiny bowl of salad was just awkward to eat and embarrassing. I […]

Leave a Reply

