Upgrade Your Food

Everyone loves getting upgraded on long flights…but no matter if you are in first or economy, the food usually sucks.

I have learned to always be prepared and I have manged to take boring meals and turn them into something tasty…

A standard long-haul flight to Europe or Asia usually involves some sort of breakfast meal that is composed of stale cereal and warm milk. Sometimes a pint-sized, mushy banana will make an appearance. In general , the breakfast is bland and uninspiring.

Transforming a bland breakfast into something satisfying is easy…if you are prepared. Here, dried strawberries and some cinnamon added a big boost of flavor.

When I travel, I always have my ‘snack sack‘ at the ready. It is filled with travel-friendly foods, seasonings, and all sorts of items to make meals better. So when a overworked-flight attendant drops a boring breakfast on my tray table, I am prepared to salvage the situation. On my most recent flight back from Asia, I took the airline-provided crummy (NON-USA) Cornflakes and topped my yogurt with them. I then reached into my stash of snacks that I squirrel away and retrieved some dried strawberries, a packet Splenda, and a small shaker of cinnamon. Combining everything lead to me  suddenly having a meal that was truly enjoyable and earned envious looks from my fellow passengers.

So…do not accept the crap that is often served on airplane…instead come prepared with an assortments of creative items that can transform the in-flight-food. You may still be stuck in the back of the plane, but at least you can always upgrade your meal.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Grub on the Go, Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Rants, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Leftover Awesomeness: The best use for eveything you wish you could have eaten on Thanksgiving | Fed Up Food - November 21, 2012

    […] always better, but random bits from previous meals do have their culinary use…With a little creativity and a fridge full of slowly deteriorating pre-cooked dinners, you would be amazed at all the […]

  2. Love the Lounge, Submit to Snobbery | Fed Up Food - January 3, 2013

    […] been reveled to me during the some of my darkest travel hours. I have engineered creative ways to ‘upgrade’ in-flight food using simple ingredients, I have found an airline that actually serves decent snacks, and I have […]

  3. Be a Macgyver | Fed Up Food - February 28, 2013

    […] I then  pulled out my trusty snack-sack that I always travel with. It has helped many many times in the past for scenarios just like the dreaded one I faced […]

  4. Japan: Land of Food Perfection | Fed Up Food - April 11, 2013

    […] Of COURSE there was sushi being served in the airport lounge…what better than raw fish to fill you up and keep your breath smelling fresh for the 14 hour flight back home?! […]

Leave a Reply

