Everyones A Local?!?

OK. This is BS.

It seems like the cool thing to do now is brag about eating ‘locally produced’ foods. I am fine with that as long as they taste good…but in general, I think the hype about eating locally has gotten a little crazy. It seems like many food manufactures are trying to jump on the ‘local’ trend in any way possible.

These things brag about being locally grown which is a bunch of BS (unless you live in California). Anyway, the peppers taste great regardless if they are ‘locally grown’ or not.

I just bought a jar of roasted red peppers…and the jar proudly promotes how these industrially-produced peppers are ‘locally grown’…WTF!?! How can a product the is sold NATION wide be able to still claim that it is ‘locally produced’….the damn jar of peppers is from CALIFORNIA!!! I live in Louisiana and bought these at my neighborhood’s mega-mart.
I guess you can still call it ‘local’…if by ‘local’ you mean from the same country….but where do you draw the line? Is something still local if produced on the same continent? same hemisphere? Stuff like this is just stupid.

I know many people try to eat healthily by focusing on an organic, natural diet composed of foods grown in their own backyard and fertilized by their dog. And this is fine. Eat what you want…to each their own. But it just gets annoying when manufactures decide to muddy-the-waters with their own marketing that latches on to trendy topics and leverages common ‘buzz-terms’ against us.

Eat the peppers and enjoy them…lets not bring geography into the mix. And lets try and not make every grocery store purchase involve levels of critical thinking that analyze a product’s ethics and whether it was sourced by  socially responsible means. Grocery shopping is complicated enough as it is already.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Everyones A Local?!?”

  1. November 7, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    I would be in the grocery store for hours if I thought about everything or almost everything I purchased. I have to agree with you that it has gotten a litte insane. Here’s to just eating great food that tastes good too!

  2. Ben
    November 8, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    Agreed. I live in Alabama (21-17) but have spent some time living elsewhere. I remember living in Savannah by the coast and working for a chef who had to fight like hell for fresh seafood. Farmers and fishermen are not dumb. The best stuff will last longer so you put it on a truck. Give the dregs to the locals for quick consumption. There are great small farms with no market ambitions beyond their immediate area and I support them because I know them. But that’s about it. To all my friends that insist that local is somehow better, enjoy that muscadine wine and leave me to my Barolo.
    That said, I love the label. Gumption.

    • November 9, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      Haha. I agree! Local is is fine…but I still love my imported European cheese and my ALASKAN snow crab year-round. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

