Fridge Freak Out

Grocery shopping in often an enjoyable activity for me. I love browsing the various aisles and searching out unique foods to stuff my face with.

The problem is that often times I forget about the limitations set forth by my fridge…

A full fridge can both be a thing of beauty and a thing of horror

In the store I suffer from a dangerous combination of extreme-excitement  to be buying my favorite foods (cheese, mushrooms, etc) and dumb-distraction when I come across the stupid stuff that plagues grocery shelves. This results in me slowly losing track of the amount of items in my cart.  Then, suddenly I  am driving back home with a happy grin on my face and a trunk full of the fruits of my ‘labor.’  I get home and eagerly carry all of my bounty to the kitchen…that is when it happens… I begin loading up the fridge and realize…crap. CRAP! I bought too much stuff.

The same symptoms of a stuffed fridge always appear without warning: I can’t find a place for the milk. I start tossing out perfectly good frozen broccoli to replace its prized freezer real-estate with ice cream. And I am left with 2 pounds of turkey cutlets in my arms as I acknowledge that they are not going to fit inside the fridge and that I will now be  eating turkey for dinner tonight.

Unfortunately for the Fed Up team, this fridge-freak-out is a frequent occurrence for me. How often do you go home with more groceries that your fridge can accommodate? I am sure I am not the only one who has attempted to defy the laws of physics by cramming more food into a fridge than the poor appliance is designed for.

Maybe the problem is NOT that I am too careless at paying attention to my refrigerator’s spacial restrictions; Maybe the REAL PROBLEM is that I simply need a bigger fridge.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Fridge Freak Out”

  1. November 27, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    A bigger fridge or an additional fridge may help. My fridge is usually stuffed or on the brink of starvation and hardly in between – ha!

    • November 27, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

      I am trying to get in the habit of fully ’emptying’ out my fridge before I go grocery shopping each week…but some leftovers never seem to find a place in my meals.

  2. November 27, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    First World Problem: My fridge is too small and I can’t fit all of the food I just bought.

    Ha! This was a great post! I can relate, my grandmom always buys us snacks we don’t need so my mom has to cram all of into our fridge. I go in to get a drink and I’m attacked by yogurts and cheese sticks.

    Maybe try stacking things on top of each other, that might help?

    • November 28, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      I love that…’first world problem’ -haha!

      I have tried stacking and EVEN ‘combining’ food (putting turkey in the same tupperwear as carrots)…but my usual go-to solution is simply having a BIG meal that night-haha

      • November 28, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

        I feel like there is a subreddit dedicated to first world problems. It’s hilarious. And wow that’s serious business, but having a big meal is always fun!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Know Your FACTS: Making Crap Tasty | Fed Up Food - April 25, 2013

    […] Foods. Or it could be because we are dumb-asses who forget that those leftovers in the back of the fridge are slowly rotting and that expiration dates DO exist. Or purely because we are stuck in a situation […]

Leave a Reply

