Junk for Food

Who the hell buys this crap!?!

It was Black Friday. I was being a responsible American citizen and dutifully in the midst of my annual holiday shopping spree. Then, while battling my way through hoards of eager shoppers in a local department store, I stumbled upon this nonsense…

Fed Up Food Junk for Food

Are there people who can actually justify the need to have a dedicated meat-ball-maker in their homes? Who needs a pretzel-press?!? And I am pretty sure that you don’t have to have a specialized smores machine to make smores; campers have been making them for years without even electricity!

Now there are PLENTY of stupid kitchen ‘gadgets’ that are designed to make life easier…I am guilty of having purchased more than my fair share of junk. I used to have several  drawers dedicated to items like ‘tomato slicers,’ ‘garlic-presses,’ and those terrible infomercial items like the ‘Slap-Chop‘ (YES, I did buy a ‘Slap-Chop’…those damn infomercials  are so freaking convincing). Only when I made the move into my new home did I finally put all that junk in the trash can. I made a solemn promise that I would never burden the Fed Up HQ with this nonsense again.

So yes, I have seen, purchased, and used many of the most popular kitchen junk. I consider myself quite familiar with the wide range of complete crap that is sold in discount kitchen outlet stores, ‘Sky Mall,’ and places where this sort of stuff is pushed. But during the holiday frenzy, kitchen crap becomes prevalent in main-stream stores. People are really caught up in the energy and excitement; everyone’s rational intelligent decision-making is suddenly over-powered by impulsive actions…and the big  retailers know this. They take advantage of the American consumer in their weakened state and sell us junk that we would otherwise never consider. So the really dumb products get prime ‘end-cap’ locations and are  put high on pedestals for us to eagerly idolize and quickly purchase.

Fed Up Food quesadilla maker

The ‘quesadilla maker’…just like a Gorge Foreman Grill, but with none of the versatility or potential.

Do you really make smores that frequently that you need a dedicated ‘smores maker’? A gadget whose single purpose is to make smores is not likely going to replace your toaster oven or your blender when having to make room for it in your kitchen. And who doesn’t love a good quesadilla? But I have successfully been making them for years without the need of a specialized quesadilla grill…Seriously. These items are stupid.

So I say avoid this junk and spend your money on something a little more useful…that is unless you really are a smores addict or own a quesadilla restaurant or something.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “Junk for Food”

  1. November 30, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    This is quite informative. Thanks for sharing. I recently made a soup shot and would love to know what you think. Please drop by space when you have the time! See ya!

    • November 30, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

      Hey. Thanks for reading. Your soup shot is definitely creative.

  2. November 30, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    I do not buy this crap, but receive it as gifts. People need to refrain from doing that unless you really, really ask for something like this. Otherwise it sits on the back of the shelf and collects dust.

    • November 30, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

      OR…you just wrap it up and give it to someone else! -haha

  3. elangomatt
    November 30, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    It is most definitely not me who buys this stuff. I don’t even have enough space to store the useful kitchen gadgets/appliances (food processor, stand mixer, etc) let alone junk like this. I think the most popular machine like this is the cake pops one. Who the heck actually wants a cake that is only the size of a lollipop?!

    • November 30, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      HAHA. I have seen those stupid cake-pop machines ALL OVER the place. I guess they are just the trendy thing this year. Either way, I agree with you. They just don’t make sense.

  4. December 2, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    It’s kinda crazy what people come up with. I will say tomato slicers and garlic presses do have their uses…in restaurant kitchens

    • December 3, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      True story: I actually had BOTH a separate tomato slicer and a separate mushroom slicer at one time…I am so glad to have finally gotten rid of all that junk in my HQ (my kitchen)

      • December 3, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

        I had no idea that mushroom slicers even exist!

  5. December 14, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    I love meat balls but hate making them. What I really want is a meat ball mold. So I can plop in the meat mix, press down the lid, open it up, take out the meat balls, then gather up the meat that squished out and do it again until I’ve got no meat mix and a lot of round balls. I don’t mind cooking them. I just hate making the balls. Now if they could give me one of those, I would be happy and buy it.

    • December 17, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      I am SURE there has to be something like that on the market. I mean…if there is a doughnut-hole maker, there must be something designed the exact same for meatballs.

Leave a Reply

