MEAT MARKETing

It seems EVERY purveyor of foods (for both gourmet delicacies and cheap takeout) are trying every stupid gimmick to pry open our wallets and separate us from our cash.

The latest nonsense I came home to was a stupid flyer posted on my door courtesy of Papa John’s Pizza. Apparently Papa John has come up with a new trick to try to lure us into phoning his minions at one of his many franchises and placing an order…

The FIVE Sausage pizza...is this a truly tasty combination of flavors or is it just clever marketing leveraging our carnivorous cravings against us?

The FIVE Sausage pizza…is this a truly tasty combination of flavors or is it just clever marketing leveraging our carnivorous cravings against us?

So this flyer boasted their newest pizza offering which  consists of no less that FIVE types of sausage! Seriously?!? I did not even know there was that many types of sausage available! (Do ‘hot dogs’ count? What about ‘breakfast sausage’?) Well apparently there are at least 5 varieties of processed pork products called ‘sausage’, and Papa Johns decided to cram them onto a single pizza.

So if you read the fine print, you can see each of the 5 types of sauage listed. And they also advertising how Pork is uesed in the sausage...which gets me worried what other the other 'meat' toppings at these pizza places are made out of...

So if you read the fine print, you can see each of the 5 types of sausages listed. So they do indeed have 5 separate forms of sausage. They also are advertising how ‘pork’ is used in the sausage…which gets me worried what the other ‘meat’ toppings at these pizza places are made out of…

I highly doubt that you can actually pick out one type from another on this packed pizza. The whole concept is pretty stupid…I am sure the geniuses at the Papa Johns pizza plant could have come up with something a little more interesting than than a 5 sausage pizza. I mean, if they are going to pollute my home with promotions, at least have them be for something cool like a goat cheese-fig-cottage cheese pizza; or maybe a pizza with such pungent toppings that will your entire house is sure to reek. At least those would be memorable and worthy of littering my home with flyers.

I also got a kick out of how they are proudly promoting the fact that this pork-based-pizza is made with REAL pig…It makes you wonder what the hell the rest of the meat pizzas are topped with.

I guess for now I will just have to settle for flyers for stupid 5 sausage pizzas….until Domino’s decides to one-up them with their own 6 sausage pizza.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “MEAT MARKETing”

  1. December 15, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    The other ingredients in the sausages? I don’t think you want to know the answer..

  2. December 16, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    Papa Johns freaks me out, man. I don’t know if there is any other food that makes me feel worse internally just a few hours after eating it. Sick.

    • December 17, 2012 at 9:04 am #

      Ya. I haven’t eaten delivery pizza (or any pizza), since I stated making my own homemade versions using healthy ingredients and over-priced produce from Whole Foods.

      it takes some time to make them…but they are SO MUCH tastier that anything I could get from Papa Johns and I don’t feel like crud afterwards.

  3. December 17, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Ignorance is bliss, all right – If pork sausages are made of pork, it stands to reason that Italian sausages are made of Italians.

Leave a Reply

