Mushy Dreams

I have been skiing all day long and was ready for a quick bite. I opened up my ‘snack sack‘ to see what I had stashed away. I discovered a ‘cookie-dough’ flavored protein bar that looked mighty tasty and I suddenly got very excited for the decadently described treat …. But then after unwrapping the bar, I found a melty, mushy, mess that was far from as satisfying as the product was originally intended to be.

I am fed up with destroyed dreams and unmet expectations after opening up foods that did not survive the journey in my pack. Wheather it is a crushed granola bar, or a smashed energy bar, finding a ruined wreck is always depressing.

We human beings have done some amazing things: we can make cheese that never goes bad and melts perfectly, we have created a low fat powdered peanut butter that tastes amazing, and we invented advance technology that allows for espresso machines to be available ANYWHERE!…so why can’t we create some indestructible packaging to protect our precious grub?!?

20121231-182535.jpg

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Grub on the Go, Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Mushy Dreams”

  1. December 31, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Because, someone has decided travel food is not a priority unless it is useful for the military. Hence the unbelievable things they can do with peanut butter and the importance of super strong coffee.

    • January 2, 2013 at 11:21 am #

      You are right! Military rations get all the ‘advance technology and ‘long-lasting’ abilities….but none of the taste (at least according to my friends who have spent time in the military)

      • January 2, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

        Some is better, some is worse, from what I hear. Some old stuff was pretty good and I know people who miss some of it.

      • January 3, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

        Really? Wow! It is funny because sometimes we all just get used to stuff and begin really liking it even if there are better tasting alternatives…While trekking in Indonesia I was stuck with some really nasty energy bars…but by the end of the two weeks I really enjoyed the damn things and now I sort of do miss them. haha…oh. and these bars actually did manage to survive being hauled around in my pack. They were as tough as rocks!

      • January 4, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

        Appartently, some of the items in the old sets of military rations were highly valued by people in the military of other countries. So items Americans didn’t like could be traded for really good items in the French kits. There was some items that you could put your peanut butter or your chocolate over, then rig up a way to heat it up over the steno can, and turn them into really yummy deserts. The new ones are not that versitile from what I hear.

        Now I had some rock hard, high protean, granola bars that were a year past their expiration date. But dip them in a mug of coco, like a biscotti, they were fantastic.

      • January 4, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

        Anything dipped in hot chocolate is tasty though…haha.

  2. January 8, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    I agree wholeheartedly, they need some indestructible packaging!! I get so mad when i open a chocolate bar, and find it in ruins! it breaks my heart *( well not really, but you get the picture)

    • January 9, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

      YES. it is always so disappointing!

      • January 16, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

        and also, havent you noticed how some of the cereal bars filled with fruit puree, their wrappers are impossible to open, and then yet, they get destroyed on the inside? INSANITY!

      • January 21, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

        Yep…It does not make sense!

Leave a Reply

