Set Menu Showdown

Lets all finally say it:

SET MENUS SUCK!

I don't how care how fancy the foods are on the set menu...a unexpected dinner where you don't have any options is rarely a good thing.

I don’t how care how fancy the foods are on the set menu…a unexpected dinner where you don’t have any options is rarely a good thing.

I hate showing up for dinner at a nice place and then suddenly having a pre-selected meal forced upon me. This happens all the time during the holidays. I understand that a set menu may allow restaurant’s guests to have a multi course dinner at an affordable price by leveraging economies-of-scale in the kitchen. And it makes sense that professionally trained chefs may have created the perfect combination of gourmet courses to provide your palate with a 5-star experience…

BUT I NEVER like food being push upon me. If I am in the mood for some damn chicken, then I simply want some damn chicken and will not settle…I don’t care how exquisite the truffle topped appetizer is, or how luxurious the freaking filet mignon entrée is, or how amazing of a deal the stupid set-menu is. I admit, this may be childish of me, but sudden set-menu ambushes are one of the most significant of sins in my personal food world.

I am pretty much always picky, yet in those moments when I am cornered by a set menu, I rise to a whole new level of food snobbery and stubborn pickyness. I aggressively fight back and challenge the toughest looking waiters and chefs to try to get me to eat their pre planned (and often pre-cooked) dinner. I say, stand up for your right to stuff your face with the food you crave. Don’t settle for the set menu.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Set Menu Showdown”

  1. January 24, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    I hate it too! I am very picky, and hate certain types of vegetables, so It is awkward when they are served at a friends house.

    • January 25, 2013 at 8:15 am #

      Yep…and then you feel bad when you leave a full plate untouched…

  2. January 26, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Heh, I’m also quite picky. I get where you’re coming from!

    • January 31, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

      It’s funny… I typically hate fancy set menus, but I often love simple buffets. Choice is always good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Going To The Dogs | Fed Up Food - March 18, 2013

    […] I am always amazed at the vast assortment of dog food offered…I guess canine’s can be picky […]

  2. Messed-Up Multitasking | Fed Up Food - April 23, 2013

    […] like a range of options when it comes to ordering food on a menu. Choice is a GOOD thing. However places like The […]

Leave a Reply

