Be a Macgyver

The situation: It’s zero-three-hours since our plane was supposed to depart. We are now officially stuck in transport-limbo. We were all herded off the plane and  imprisoned  in the Paris airport lounge.  We are all anxiously waiting for our flight to be ‘green-lighted.’ My fellow would-be-passengers are getting combative, as the clock slowly passes lunch time and still no rations are in sight.

Save the day by combining a few simple ingredients from your ‘snack-sack’…You did remember to bring your ‘snack sack’…right?!?

The collective voice from a jumbo-jet’s worth of passenger’s grumblings stomachs is finally answered as we see staff bringing trays of food from backrooms.

I eagerly approached the spread to see how I could satisfy my malnourished self. Although the lounge was ‘freshly’ stocked to provide us stranded travelers lunch, the food looked far from fresh. I was sadly let down when I realized that for all the fame the French get for gourmet food, the French obviously do not apply their foodie-standards to anything served in Charles De Gaul Airport.

Nothing looked appetizing. But I noticed some limp pieces of chicken on a tray that was garnished with wilted lettuce and cucumbers and my mind began to get creative.

I remembered my training and realized I could be a food Macgyver. I first grabbed a bunch of the dull-looking chicken and as many of the garnishes as I could with out look too suspicious.  I then  pulled out my trusty snack-sack that I always travel with. It has helped many many times in the past for scenarios just like the dreaded one I faced now.

Not the tastiest or pretties lunch ever, but this yogurt-topped-salad, was just perfect for this particular crisis.

Not the tastiest or prettiest lunch ever, but this yogurt-topped-salad, was just perfect for this particular crisis.

In my stash , I realized I had an unopened Greek yogurt cup left over from breakfast, a lemon juice packet, a Tabasco hot sauce packet, and some of my homemade garlic seasoning. I mixed these all together to form a sort of Greek inspired, ‘yogurt sauce’. I then used it to top a bowl full of the chicken and the cucumber and various other ‘garnishes’…

Lunch was saved. I enjoyed my ‘Greek’ salad and happily chowed down while my fellow passengers looked on with envious eyes.

Ok. I admit. It was nothing compared to some of my favorite lunches. But under the circumstances, it was damn tasty.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Grub on the Go, Mr. Fed Up Dishes, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Be a Macgyver”

  1. February 28, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    Now that was some handy innovation.

  2. March 1, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    I always have a piece of fruit and some nuts and crackers – never know what will happen while traveling. Happy Friday:)

    • March 1, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

      Glad to hear I am not the only one who is always prepared!
      So I want to share some random useful info…if you have the option to bring one piece of fruit on a plane; a banana or an apple…which do you choose? Assuming they are equal sizes/portions, you want to pick the apple because it will keep you fuller longer which can be a real savior on an extensive flight.

  3. March 2, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    Nice! A snack sack is a great idea too. 😀
    I’m known for food improv when I cook, but I’m definitely not prepared for these type of situations. I should probably change that..

  4. Sylvie
    April 2, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    The “snack sack” is definitely one of the best idea I got from you, mr Fed up!

    And Charles De Gaulle airport is one of the worst airport I have seen ( probably worse when you are stuck there) ,especially food wise.

    • April 8, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

      I am glad you like the ‘Snack Sack’! Yep I try to always come prepared with my own snacks (ESPECIALLY when flying out of CDG). I usually end up getting roasted chestnuts (the kind in the vacuumed sealed bag) from one the grocery stores in Paris. I really wish we could get those here…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Know Your FACTS: Making Crap Tasty | Fed Up Food - April 25, 2013

    […] DO exist. Or purely because we are stuck in a situation where nothing appears to be edible (like in many airports or small backwater towns where the only place to get ‘groceries’ is from a gas […]

  2. Food Flop | Fed Up Food - May 21, 2013

    […] that easily are of more interest to me than this nonsense. Instead it will remain a last-resort, culinary creation. One that purely will be revisited when random bits or relish and processed protein needs to get […]

Leave a Reply

