Japan: Land of Food Perfection

Japan makes me jealous! After working for several days there I quickly became spoiled with by the pristine perfection of every bite I ate. The quality, the presentation and the attention to every miniscule detail was ridiculously amazing.  After returning back home to the FedUp HQ in good-ole-America, I longed for the tasty treats I savored in Tokyo. One day, I hope that the USA adopts Japan’s high standard for even the most basic of convenience store cuisine.

Check out some of the good grub and awkward foods I stumbled upon in Japan…

Fed Up Food Octopus tentacle

Octopus tentacles. Try finding that in your local Whole Foods pre-made section

Insanely perfect fruit basket...yes that is REAL fruit. Only the best is sold.

Insanely perfect fruit basket…yes that is REAL fruit. Only the best is sold.

Whole baby squid served with some salmon roe, made for an interesting appetizer. This was definitely NOT the same type of 'calamari' you find in a typical American neighborhood restaurant.

Whole baby squid served with some salmon roe, made for an interesting appetizer. This was definitely NOT the same type of ‘calamari’ you find in a typical American neighborhood restaurant.

Tiny fruit cups...Notice how big my hand is in comparison to the cup...I guess it really is true that many Japanese think small things are cute.

Tiny fruit cups…Notice how big my hand is in comparison to the cup…I guess it really is true that many Japanese think small things are cool.

Fed Up Food Sashimi

Beautifully ornate sashimi dish. Yes. I ate the ‘garnishes.’

Fed Up Food White Straberries

White strawberries were an unusual find. BUT I don’t care how delicately packaged these things were, albino strawberries just don’t seem very tasty to me.

Fed Up Food Airport Sushi

Of COURSE there was sushi being served in the airport lounge…what better than raw fish to fill you up and keep your breath smelling fresh for the 14 hour flight back home?!

Fed Up Food Mango

A single mango sold in ‘mint’ condition carefully packaged in its own little box. I am sure it was freaking expensive…the packaging alone probably costs more that the mangos I normally buy.

Fed Up Food Sweet Potatoe

And I thought the mango and fruit was packaged sort of ridiculously….then I saw this sweet potato. The process of purchasing this roasted sweet potato involved me first picking out the exact specimen I wanted, then the store employee hand wrapped it in beautiful paper. This paper wrapped vegetable was then carefully put inside a fancy gift box. Then the box was delicately placed in to an expensive paper shopping bag…all this for a freaking root vegetable which I gobbled down in a few minutes. It was probably one of the best sweet potatoes I have ever had though.

Fed Up Food Japanese Mush

Some sort of fish served with some sort of mush. No further comment.

Fed Up Food takeout

So the Japanese ‘grab-n-go’ section of any shop that sells foods is freaking amazing! Notice the beautiful crab on the bottom shelf. That would be one Hell of an awesome lunch compared to what I usually brown-bag.

Fed Up Food Bento

Japanese bento boxes are pre-packaged meals with a little bit of everything…but just notice the extreme attention to detail for each item incorporate into this ‘takeout’ meal…A garnish carved to look like a flower? Perfectly round spheres of rice? A single beautiful bit of broccoli that is neither mush nor raw?! Try finding that in your standard American lunch box…

Fed up food melon

More perfectly presented fruit. I honestly was more scared walking around the produce section in this Japanse store than when I stumble around in shops selling expensive china and glass.

Fed Up Food Cabbage

With all the beautiful fresh produce lining store shelves, I was surprised to see vacuumed packed cabbage. Even if there was not fresh options around, I would STILL be surprised to see vacuumed sealed cabbage!

Naturally I had to check out a local Subway. They had some unique Japanese specials which included a 'Shrimp and Red Snow Crab' sandwich and an 'Egg' Sandwich.

Naturally I had to check out a local Subway. They had some unique Japanese specials which included a ‘Shrimp and Red Snow Crab’ sandwich and an ‘Egg’ Sandwich.

At the Japanese Subway, I ended up ordering a salad and was amazed at how cheap my bill was...until I saw how pathetically small the salad was. I may be used to 'American' sized protions, but this tiny bowl of salad was just awkard to eat and emabarressing. I could put the enitre meal in my whole paalm. I think I understand how Godzilla must have felt. ...I got a good laugh from the 'Sandwich Artists' as I returned back to the line to order a second salad.

At the Japanese Subway, I ended up ordering a salad and was amazed at how cheap my bill was…until I saw how pathetically small the salad was. I may be used to ‘American‘ sized portions, but this tiny bowl of salad was just awkward to eat and embarrassing. I could put the entire meal in my whole palm. I think I understand how Godzilla must have felt. …I got a good laugh from the ‘Sandwich Artists’ as I returned back to the line to order a second salad.

Fed Up Food Sushi

Obligatory sushi photo. Salmon roe topped rice wrapped in crisp seaweed on the left; and delicate crab layered on top of a bit of wasabi and rice on the right. Nothing fancy. Just quality ingredients masterly combined to create the perfectly simple, tasty meal.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Best Bite, Freaking Healthy, Grub on the Go, Rants, Recommendations, Unexpected Randomness

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Japan: Land of Food Perfection”

  1. April 11, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    I agree that Japanese foods are the best! :9

    • April 12, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

      Yep! I wish we had some of there stuff offered here in the USA.

  2. April 12, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    I want that Bento box meal you pictured. I don’t even care that I can’t tell what is in it. I think I’ll stop at the store for sesame seeds and spinach after work and make Goma Ae for dinner.

    • April 12, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

      Haha. ‘Bento Boxes’ are definitely upgrades to ‘Brown Bags’!

  3. Sarah
    May 7, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    The “some sort of fish served with some sort of mush” looks like sea urchin, or uni.
    The Japanese use crazy amounts of pesticides on their fruit which is why people peel everything they eat, even grapes. The overlarge apples aren’t really that tasty. Japanese sweet potatoes, however, I will agree with you are amazing!

    • May 7, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      Hey Sarah. Uni makes sense! And I had NO idea they peeled the grapes! Wow. Thanks for sharing. I definitely agree that while some of the fruit looked amazing (apples,etc), it really did not taste too special. I am still craving those stupid sweet potatoes though. They were just so amazingly sweet!

Leave a Reply

