Corn Cornfusion

I was running through a mall in India a few weeks ago and came across this craziness…A stand selling ‘Steamed American Corn’.

Fed Up Food Corn StandLast time I checked, my passport has me identified as an American, yet I have never heard of ‘American’ corn before. I have seen plenty of stalls selling popcorn and I have enjoyed quite  a few grilled corn-on-the-cobs from outdoor vendors hawking the stuff; BUT I have never seen anyone offering ‘Steamed American Corn’ before.

Naturally I checked it out. The little stall consisted of nothing more than a giant vat of corn kernels and a small (and filthy) flavor mixing station; People have the option to mix the corn with a selection of ‘exciting’ flavors. So basically what you could order was nothing more than a cup full of steamed, insanely large kernels of corn.

It was a healthy snack option in a food court filled with the typical greasy options, and I like corn, so I pulled out a few Indian rupees and decided to buy some. I tried my cup-o-corn and was impressed. For something so simple, it tasted pretty damn good. I wonder why the Hell we don’t have something like this offered in America?!?…it is steamed ‘AMERICAN’ corn after all.

But I guess, like ‘Italian’ salad dressing and ‘Swiss’ tea, some things just get branded with a nation’s identity regardless of if there is any actual connection…Annoying…right?

Fed Up Food Corn Cup

If mall vendors ever started selling cups filled with corn kernels in America, will we call it ‘Steamed Indian Corn’?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Freaking Healthy, Grub on the Go, Rants, Recommendations

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Corn Cornfusion”

  1. April 17, 2013 at 3:17 am #

    A pretty strange offering if you ask me, though I would actually enjoy this as a snack given the option since I love sweet corn. Even more so if you toss some butter on it! I doubt a stand selling only cups of corn would survive though. The “American” designation is actually pretty accurate seeing as how maize/corn originated in the Americas. Is margarine a common “American” ingredient there? I’d definitely rather go all out and have real butter on my corn.

    The most annoying thing to me is the poor proofreading on the sign though. Chilly Powder? Is it cold? Maybe they should keep the chilli powder at room temperature so it doesn’t get too chilly. They are also using capitalization and commas inconsistently. I can probably find at least half a dozen errors on there.

    • April 17, 2013 at 11:46 am #

      Haha…You are right! There definitely is some grammar/spelling mistakes. But I usually don’t notice these due to my personal lack of good English grammar(I blame my Parents and them speaking English as a second language-haha)
      And although corn is a traditional American crop, I had NEVER seen such huge kernels of corn before in America.

      • April 17, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

        Huh, I didn’t really pay attention to the size of the corn kernels that they are serving the first time I read the article. I’ve had locally grown corn during the summer with that have had much larger than the average kernels that you might get in a bag of frozen corn, but not as big as what they’re serving there. I can only assume that they buy a strain of corn bred for big kernels since maybe they think it is easier to eat than a bunch of little kernels.

      • April 17, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

        Yep…probably some crazy genetically modified hybrid or something…but no complaints here. The large kernals provided a nice ‘bite-able’ piece of corn that ‘snapped’ when bitten in to.

  2. April 17, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    I totally agree! The food naming system has its own history, I guess. I used to think that french fries originated from France but does it?

    • April 17, 2013 at 11:48 am #

      It is so weird…I read a book, ‘How the Hotdog Got Its Bun’; which provided a bunch of cool stories about where the food we eat today came from…

      FYI, the word ‘French’ in french fries, refers to the frying technique of cooking that originated in France (I think…)

      • April 18, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

        Interesting! I shall find the book haha. Thank you for your information 🙂

Leave a Reply

