Food Fight

I am fed up with how so many people take extreme positions on what to eat. Food fanatics cover the whole spectrum from gluten-free followers to Atkins allocates, and even those ‘juicers’ who drink kale for dinner. For every cultist-like vegan there is, there is also a crazed-cow chomping carnivore. Both sides constantly try to gain new recruits for their cause. But often they don’t just kindly ask you to try and eat a dish that follows their dietary guidelines; instead they aggressively push their food philosophy down your throat until you either choke or give-in to their demands. I have run into way too many evangelical ‘foodies’ who relentlessly insist that I practice what they preach.

Fed Up Food toys

This is the world we seem to live in

I too am a food fanatic and take an ‘extreme’ stance in what food philosophy I follow. But while I  take a very health conscious approach (more like FREAKING HEALTHY approach) to anything I fill my plate with, I do not pressure my friends, or family or random strangers into eating like me.  I let people do what they want and I expect the same courtesy. If someone wants to go to McDonald’s 4 times a week and feast on fries, then that is fine by me…Just don’t expect me dine with you under the Golden Arches anytime soon.

Too many people who obsess over organics give their more frugal neighbors a hard time for consuming the cheaper options. Anti-GM food supporters protest hostilely whenever a scientific breakthrough is formed on a farm. And then there is the whole category of determined (or demented) dieters including those people who insist that we all ‘fast’ 6-days a week, and the religious follows of Weight Watcher who constantly attempt to convert their friends and families.

People need to just feed their face and stay shut-up about it. If someone asks why you are an American following the ‘Mediterranean Diet’ or why you avoid foods-with-a-face, then you should share your food philosophy. Otherwise keep your subsistence sermons to yourself and stop looking in disgust at me as I happily much on the random crap I call lunch.

Ok. Done with my rant. Now, vegetarians please befriend your carnivorous counterparts and all go and eat in peace.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Food Fight”

  1. May 5, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    I think you’ve been reading too many comments on Serious Eats there Mr. Fed Up (or maybe some similar website). All the people that like to stand on their soap box (which previously contained hypo-allergenic non-dyed non-scented soap) seem to congregate in the comment sections. I don’t think I would mind the comments from these people as much if they just gave their opinion. Instead they seem to always be trying to tell you you’re going to hell or something for liking meat and eating frozen non-organic veggies.

    • May 7, 2013 at 8:54 am #

      Haha! I do like Serious Eats…but really I have just been running into many fanatics who lecture me about the evils of what I eat (or don’t eat). I have no desire to eat chia seed or wheat grass…I like a bit of bacon occasionally. I find many people from Europe are horrified that I would even consider eating genetically modified food (and I work a lot in Europe and run across anti-GM foodies)

    • May 7, 2013 at 8:55 am #

      Oh…and frozen non-organic veggies taste damn good! (and are affordable!)

Leave a Reply

